We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Sans Souci Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Victoria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Sans Souci Guesthouse
Mountain road of Sans Soucis | PO Box 1234, Victoria, Mahe Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Victoria B&B and Inns
Argentina
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great views and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We had one spare night to spend on our trip, before taking our cruise, and we chose Sans Souci because they offered free pick up from and to airport and harbor. It proved to be the right choice. Their premises are great! If you prefer breathtaking views over seaside, this is THE place to stay. Way up on the Sans Souci road, the premises include a beautiful pool, a HUGE two-storey apartment. We chose the half board, so we had the chance to share dinner with the hosts and other guests. Sword fish, wine, an incredible atmosphere… all in all a memorable night under the stars in great company. They offered us one of their cars to use (which we didn´t). Great breakfast! Highly recommendable for people who want to forget about city life for a while. Walking distance to nowhere, but who cares, when you are atop Mahe island, with Victoria, the harbor, the jungle at your very feet?

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
33
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We wanted to experience a stay with locals in Seychelles and were very happy with the Sans Souci guesthouse: the owners are exceptionally friendly and they do everything to make your stay comfortable and easy - pick you up and bring you back to airport/jetty, prepare excellent food when you stay in at night, provide you with a car to tour the island, give you advice on places to see... Sure, it feels like a remote location, but it's only a 10 min drive to downtown Victoria, and within the National Park with fantastic views. We will return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We definitely got very lucky when we found this place online. After reviewing some of the hotels on Trip Advisor we decided against checking into a hotel and went after private accommodations in Victoria.

Even though at first one might not find the location most convenient and the road a bit surprising, this is definitely the place you want to check into on Seychelles if you want to have a memorable vacation.

The hosts make you feel at home and make your vacation a memorable one. Host have three wonderful dogs that quickly become your friends.
There are several great things about staying at Sans Souci:
-you will only meet few other people
-great breakfast
-great dinner if you are up for some home cooking
-great view of the city
-rental car included in the price which you will need to find some of the empty beaches recommended by your host

Rooms don't have TV or radio, but this is exactly what we wanted on our holidays when we wanted to have some time to ourselves and enjoy time away from our regular lives.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

It is a bit out of the way but worth the effort if you value peace, quiet, great food and a superb setting.

Here you really do feel like part of a family rather than a guest in a hotel, with everyone sitting round one table for dinner - which will probably include avocados and other fruit from the garden. The rooms are delightful with a terrace looking out over the ocean towards Praslin and watch the blue pigeons and fruit bats flying. They (the owners not the fruit bats) rent out their own cars, which is very convenient, and they will collect you from and return you to the airport or ferry.

It's just great.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

Le Sans Souci Guesthouse has already been discreetly offering exceptional accomodation for around 15 years. Anyone who has previously found it is is only likely to have done so through Seychelles Secrets. We found this such a hidden gem, we think the secret deserves to get out. We stayed at two other Tripadvisor No.1 rated establishments in the Seychelles on this holiday and we think Le Sans Souci guesthouse easily topped them both. If you thought a holiday in the Seychelles has to be by the seaside I hope we can persuade you to think again!

Le Sans Souci Guesthouse only has three guest rooms and is set up the mountainside overlooking Victoria, the bay and islands out as far as Praslin and La Digue. It's a pleasant drive from the airport but the road up to Sans Souci lets you know you are going to get a bit of extra Seychelles experience on the way. The guesthouse is set down off a steep little track from the main road through lush, dense vegetation full of colourful tropical plants and birds. Arriving at the guesthouse you know you have discovered a hidden gem. From our balcony we had a 180 degree view that was breathtaking. Apart from the beauty there was considerable interest watching the activity in the city and harbour below, and fruit bats and exotically coloured birds fly close by. After 11 hours flying I just spent my first afternoon sat on the balcony drinking in the view: our Seychelles holiday was already exceeding expectations. Le Sans Souci is run by husband and wife team, Jeanine and Hugo, with a couple of additional domestic staff, even though there are only three rooms. That's a measure of the service that is provided. We had arrived on the early Emirates flight at 7.00 am. Hugo was there to meet us (in the same way he met another couple who were arriving at 2.00 am in the morning). Immigration is a little slow at Mahe but by 9.00 am we were delighted to be checked into Le Sans Souci so early. Jeanine met us and showed us into our rooms which were simply immaculate. The sheets on the bed were so white and cool my wife just wanted to dive in (good air conditioning too). We had already arranged to have dinner at Le Sans Souci the first night as we preferred to not go hunting for a restaurant. But we found dinner was with Jeanine and Hugo who were hugely entertaining and friendly. Jeanine had cooked us an absolutely delicious 3 course meal which we ate outdoors on the verandah overlooking the lights of Victoria and the harbour below. It really did feel magical especially with the hosts who were more like friends. Having finished after-dinner coffee we asked Jeanine if we could immediately switch onto a half board basis as the evening meal was that good. Hugo has a car hire business and we took the half-board with car hire option for the remaining days. Unless you intend to spend all your time at the guesthouse (and you could just stay by the pool looking at that view) you will need to hire a car to go anywhere. If you are of the view you must go to a beach you can easily pop over to Beau Vallon to go diving, snorkelling or fishing for the day, or take the car and discover your own beaches around the island. You don't have to sleep by the beach! But Le Sans Souci guesthouse is a wonderful base because it is 'quality' as a package, and very reasonably priced for what you get (wifi too). This was our second time in the Seychelles and we've pretty well covered all of Mahe island. From what we've seen, and the accomodation we've sampled, we can't imagine you will find anywhere that beats Le Sans Souci for the mix of qualities it has. It was simply perfect for us

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Sans Souci Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Sans Souci Guesthouse

Also Known As:
Le Sans Souci Guesthouse Seychelles/Mahe Island
Address: Mountain road of Sans Soucis | PO Box 1234, Victoria, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sans Souci Guest House is an essential step for a successful holiday in the Seychelles. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Sans Souci Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Le Sans Souci Guesthouse to your Saves list