We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and Satisfying” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marie Antoinette

Marie Antoinette
St Louis road towards Beau Vallon, Victoria, Mahe Island, Seychelles
248 26 62 22
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 23 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Vancouver Island, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unique and Satisfying”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This wonderful restaraunt has a relaxed atmosphere and interesting decor. There are pens with Guinea Pigs and rabbits as you enter and a large enclosure with tortoises (some over 100 years old) adjacent to the dining area. They had a set menu when I was there with a large variety of authentic Creole dishes, as well as the option to try a few side dishes, including things like octopus or a local favourite, fruit bat. In addition to the set menu, which was good quality, I tried the fruit bat. It was actually pretty good, but is a bit drier meat than average. While it had quite a few bones, it was overall a tasty dish. I would definitely dine here again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    107
    28
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Must try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Very good place to have a taste of creole food.
They offer a set menu with a nice choice and variety of plates. We tried fruit bat here!
Prices are reasonable and but the place itself is a little bit messy in its style. They also have giant tortoises outside in the courtyard.
Of course it's not a fancy à la carte restaurant so beware what you're looking for!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Digue Island, Seychelles
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“a nice place with alot of secrets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

its all creole food ofcourse and i cannot say that it was not bad but good...but still dont understand the card and papers why they put on their wall...i didnt ask cus im someone quite shy but i would like to know the little secret behind it....but for sure it feels totally at home with alot to offer.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of the top-10 best places Seychelles.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Food is not the strongest side of the Seychelles. Therefore, especially recommend the restaurant Marie Antoinette. You make sure that Creole cuisine exists and it's wonderful.

Before the trip, I wrote top-10 places Seychelles (including Islands and beaches), a must visit. There was included Marie Antoinette restaurant.

Many of the local inhabitants, with whom I spoke strongly advised this restaurant. And they were right. I liked the fact that it is possible to taste about 10 different Creole dishes in small portions. Surprisingly, no one plate I put him aside.

Rates amazingly democratic and free places very much (I was there in the afternoon). A huge well decorated area and quick service.

I think that Marie Antoinette and its set of Creole dishes really worthy of the top-10 best places Seychelles.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“not very good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

went for lunch to this recommended restaurant and had the set menu. Was very disappointing as the dishes were a bit fatty and not with a lot of flavour. Lots of big tour groups which is also a minus. No atmosphere, waitress was very happy and smiley.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marie Antoinette also viewed

Victoria, Mahe Island
Mahe Island, Seychelles
 
Mahe Island, Seychelles
Victoria, Mahe Island
 

Been to Marie Antoinette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marie Antoinette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.