We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BATS anyone?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marie Antoinette

Marie Antoinette
St Louis road towards Beau Vallon, Victoria, Mahe Island, Seychelles
248 26 62 22
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 18 restaurants in Victoria
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
NEW JERSEY
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“BATS anyone?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Never thought I would ever be eating bats for lunch--but go figure. Here in the Seychelles bat curry is on the local menu. It actually doesn't taste like chicken and no there are no claws/wings/heads in the sauce. The entire menu was a "foodies" delight. Local fruits, curries, desserts, coffees and teas punctuated this well-chosen selection. The preparation was delicious and judging from the local clientele it was not just a typical tourist trap.The building itself is a historical landmark/preserved structure that also houses a colony of land tortoises that survived a natural disaster ( landslide) several years ago.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    58
    76
    17
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southport
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We visit Marie Antoinette each time we visit Seychelles and it is always enjoyable. Although the management has changed since our last visit it remains in the same family. It is one of the oldest buildings on Mahé and a great location for photos. They pride themselves on traditional Creole cooking. They serve a 'tasting menu' featuring a variety of dishes (well illustrated in the photos on Trip Advisor), which is good value at Rs 260. Friendly and efficient service too. We were there on Valentine's Day when the restaurant was fairly busy but could not fault the service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Seychelles
1 review
“Pretty good Creole food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Clean restaurant set in a traditional Creole house with a set menu of good creole food. Friendly staff.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Lovely Historic Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This attractive restaurant is steeped in history and is full of memorabilia. We only had a drink there unfortunately but the food being served looked wonderful !

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Upon our arrival in Mahe, this restaurant was recommended by everyone we asked regarding Creole food. Surprisingly, it is recommended by locals who I suspect have not dined there in a long time and just go along with the hype. The building is historic, with a quaint and atmospheric interior, but that is all there is to this over-rated restaurant. I went there last night with my husband and was shocked at the poor quality of the food. As mentioned in other reviews, Marie Antoinette offers a set menu. That means each dish must be exceptional to make up for the lack of menu options. As Madhvani's review mentioned, the fried eggplant and fish was greasy and obviously not freshly fried. The mango and papaya salads were pretty much tasteless and wilted. The rice was stale and hard. I would be ashamed to serve this as leftovers, let alone at a pricey restaurant. The host was hospitable enough, but without great food that means nothing.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marie Antoinette also viewed

Victoria, Mahe Island
Mahe Island, Seychelles
 
Victoria, Mahe Island
Beau Vallon, Mahe Island
 

Been to Marie Antoinette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marie Antoinette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.