We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Faru

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Club Faru to your Saves list
Club Faru
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Faamudheyri Magu, Male   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Male
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is our 7th visit to the Maldives 6th different island and i must say once again we were not disappointed.As stated in other reviews it is run down but value for money this island could not be beaten.
We met some great people and made new friends from all over.
Ying Ying and Candice from China Manu from France not to mention our Welsh and Engish friends but also the Maldivians especially Afuzal brother Salim Pele and Ali who helped us with our transfer to Mali
The highlight for me was the 2 football matches with the waiters which we lost and the tug of war against the Sri lankens which thanks to Tidy Paul we won convincingly
Happy Happy days

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    225
    73
    23
    25
See reviews for
77
544
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Just got back from another Brill holiday at Club Faru.
This is the 2nd time we have been to this Island and were very sad to leave as we will not be able to return again. All the staff were great we had the same room as last time 108, we were remembered by all the staff and were made to feel very special by everyone. Our waiter Akram and our room boy Nihal were 1st class nothing was to much trouble for them and they went above and beyond there duties to make sure we were ok and having a good time. I think it must be really difficult for all the staff at the moment with so much uncertantity about what will happen with the Island and their jobs, but they keep on smiling and providing the service we have come to expect from them. When we were in Faru last December our Rep was Guy, however Gerard was back and he was everything everyone has said about him in other reviews. He is a 1st class rep and First Choice are lucky to have him. (Thanks for all your help Gerard and good luck in the future)
My only negative comment would be the trip we had to make to Gatwick Airport from Yorkshire. First Choice / Thompson no longer have flights from Manchester to the Maldives.
When we go to the Maldives again it wil not be with First Choice unless they have flights going from this side of the country.

Room Tip: If you get chance before it closes go and experience a value for money holiday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This was our second visit to faru and it is great value for money.dont expect 5 star as you will be disappointed its 3 star with great food!the rooms are tired but who cares if you only sleep in them! The east side of the island is less windy and a real sun trap so use plenty of high factor sun cream.cold beer on tap,large measures of spirits,plenty of sunny lazy happy dayz.i would recommend this island for a cheaper Maldives experience but if you want the full monty you will have to pay a lot more for a better island.the two free snorkelling trips are a nice touch,we saw manta rays,turtles and 4ft reef sharks!the sunset dolphin cruise was amazing with the dolphins swimming right besides the boat and doing jumps and twists out of the sea!!! Then out of the blue about 9 or 10 pilot whales surfaced to everyone's disbelief .we met some great people at faru including tim and debs,rob,josh and little emily,Shaun and Kim ,tony,Angela and daisey and last but no means least sharna and Elaine .

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Just got back from an amazing two weeks at Club Faru with my wife and three kids. Highlights were the infinity pool, restaurant, two bars (draught Lion Beer), games room showing Premiership football and the twice daily free snorkelling trips.

If you are looking for great value for money, Club Faru is it.

I was so relaxed that I tripped over a coconut tree during the stay and needed first aid. Manju (First Aider) did a great job of treating and dressing my cuts.

The staff (Saif and Hannan) working around the pool and games room area provided excellent customer service, always on hand to put cushions on the sun loungers and with a smile.

Gerard the First Choice rep also deserves a mention as he frequently appeared - as if by magic - around the resort to say hello and check that everything was OK.

The water sports manager Ali was also great.

All-in-all, a great holiday, and we'd definitely go back...However, the resort may change later this year and no doubt the price will increase so get in while you can!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Value for money that's for sure, yes it's a bit old in the tooth here and there but you can't go wrong

Food is outstanding, beaches,water, weather and views amazing

All staff very friendly and professional.

The hotel benefits from its own dive centre and is a divers paradise, I did the PADI open water diver course and they really put me through it, reassuring that they do it by the book and don't hand out certification unless your up to the grade.

Cost per dive around fifty dollars and the four day course (dives included )came to around 600 dollars

Overall verdict

Brilliant.......get yer bums over there.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I will start this review by saying that I agree with most of the reviews on here for Club Faru. We had a wonderful holiday here, which was very relaxing and good value. Without repeating other reviews too much these are the things that stood out for us:
Things we liked:
The island- small and sweet, beautiful views, clear seas, sunsets to remember forever
The fish! - this was the first time that I had snorkelled- we bought equipment in the UK and took it with us and were very pleased we did. We enjoyed snorkelling in the sea around the island, along the pipe and also on the reef, from the boat trip
The bed- the bed was super comfy and we slept really well
The air con- worked well and kept the room cool
The food- on the whole the buffet was excellent- the Easter buffet was amazing- especially the fish. Each day I enjoyed the salads and fresh breads. Curries and grilled meats were also worth a mention.
Things that were not so good:
We would have preferred to dine on our own, but we only overlapped with our dinner table companions in the evening so it wasn't too bad.
The shower / toilet- not great but usable! Would have preferred a more powerful shower and a bit more hot water.
The desserts- very 'samey' and a bit sweet. Lots of them were based on 'dream topping' and 'angel delight'. I am being a bit picky. I preferred the fresh fruit!
Guests who had ground floor rooms bagging the sunloungers by putting them virtually on their patios with their towels drying overnight. Far too cheeky! We often ended up by the pool instead. (not really a hardship though!)

Overall it was a wonderful relaxing holiday- no decisions to make, glorious weather and beautiful scenery- for a very good price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Have just returned from a 6 day break which we enjoyed but have to point out a few things....Its 3 star but in my opinion it is struggling to hold on to those. All decor is tired, worn and in need of major overhaul. Wood doors split and worn with age, electric shocks from dodgy light fittings and cracked toilet seats that pinch your backside are the charms we encountered in room 133. Food was adequate and as I am a spicy food/curry fan I did ok but my husband is not so keen and said any longer than 6 days and he would have started to loose weight.( Infamous fish curry is served for breakfast, lunch and dinner LOL ). Pleasantly surprised that bottled water IS part of the all inc package, alcohol brands in the package are also good quality. Any "off island" excursions that can be booked through the water sports centre require 8 or more people for the trip to go ahead so be prepared to go nowhere as they usually get cancelled. We spoke to a couple who had booked 5 trips over 10 days and they were all cancelled. Lastly, on arrival they took my credit card to reception/accounts to confirm my booking etc and despite several requests and discussions with the manager they would not confirm what charges had been made or blocked as security or give me a receipt/confirmation of what they had communicated to my booking agent. They said it was only used as a form of ID for the booking confirmation but I would never give ALL my credit card details including the security code to anyone !!! This system is open to abuse and possible credit card fraud, something I will definitely be taking up with the booking agent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Faru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Faru

Address: Faamudheyri Magu, Male
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Male
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Male
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Male
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Faru 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Club Faru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Faru Hotel North Male Atoll
Faru Hotel Male
Faru Resort Male
Faru Club
Club Faru Maldives/Male

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Faru, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.