We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday so far” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   North Male Atoll, Male 20225   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Male
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great holiday so far”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We are into our first week of two at centara and feel we need to make a few points on the recent bad report put on tripadvisor. This is our fourth time in the maldives once on baros and twice at velasura we feel the comments made about this resort were unfair. Firstly we also have a water villa 348 which has the sun on it all day and it's very cool inside with the air conditioning on so not sure about the comment being like a greenhouse came from. The balcony is not the biggest but plenty of space to sunbathe on and is exactly like the photos shown on the internet. The rooms have a massive bed and has plenty of room and the shower room is also large. The room is spotlessly clean and nothing is too much trouble.
The staff since we arrived have been very friendly and are always smiling and saying hello and our cleaner nini is excellent.
The restaurant food is good with plenty of choice and the waiters are all friendly and can't do enough for you especially mama on the omelette station.
The viu bar excels itself for customer service and Sanje and the team do a fantastic job.
The rubbish island doesn't seem to be a problem for us and have never in the stay so far had any problems with smoke and we have had several windy days. Yes you do pass this island on the way from the airport but I wouldn't say it was a problem.
It seems to me that the person posting the poor review had made their minds up as soon as landing on the island and the island management had every right to defend their establishment in their reply.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RasFushi, Manager at Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Terry C,
Greetings from Centara Ras Fushi .
Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your warm impressions about us here on tripadvisor which we all trully apreciate , as well , we are very happy to hear that you have had a great time here and were happy with the facility and the staffs which we have let them know about your kind comments .
Once again , Thank you for selecting Centara Ras Fushi as you vacation destination and we are looking forward welcoming you back here .

Warmest regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    143
    41
    16
    7
See reviews for
32
491
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
england
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Having stayed in a number of Centara hotels around the world I shall start by saying that this one also delivers the class and standard that you would expect from the brand. The staff are all fantastically friendly, helpful and efficient. The resort is beautiful.

Tackling some points from the outset that have been left by other posters on here I shall say the following:
- This resort is accessed by speedboat, not seaplane. It is not only a cheaper method of transport, but quite obviously isn't going to take you as far from the mainland. That will suit some (such as us) who don't want to step from one plane to another, or are making a short trip. But others, looking for real distanced seclusion may not be taken as far into the horizon as they wish. But let me make it clear now (as I will further on) - this island does still deliver Maldivian seclusion, in my opinion.

- En route to the resort island (and it is the only resort on the island) you pass by the 'rubbish island'.
This is as close as you will get to it. It is on the horizon if you sit in the reception area, but it is not visible from the other side of the island, where the deluxe villas, beach, restaurants and bars are.
There is no smell of smoke, no influx of floating rubbish, and no flies descending like an army upon the resort.

- If you want a Maldivian island where there is no one else on your beach or by your pool then you are going to need to get the cheque book out. Perhaps even a lottery win. There will always be more people than yourself staying at a resort, for goodness sake.
Every Maldives resort worth it's billing offers water villas. As with the Ras Fushi these look outward into the sea. Who cares who is staying to the left and the right of you (and your privacy is protected by a fence on your terrace) - lay on your lounger or day bed and look out at the horizon and that beautiful beautiful turquoise sea.

We stayed for Christmas Eve, Christmas Day and Boxing Day.
The villa was perfect. Good size, well decorated and it's a dream to walk straight from your bed, onto the terrace and out into the ocean.

Snorkelling kit is provided. The coral near to the bungalows is limited (as you'd expect) but there's still patches of it and marine life around it. Swim a bit further and you'll see more.
Within proximity of our villa I saw two baby sharks, an octopus and countless tropical fish.
The resort do a snorkelling trip further out, should you want to pay for it.

The main beach has loungers and parasols, near the rather small but lovely swimming pool.
There are other areas of beach around the island, should you want more privacy, and to just to lay a towel down.

Food at the resort is great, both in the buffet and themed restaurants. Service is even better.

The gym was compact but well equipped. I didn't use the spa, but its setting looked lovely.

Perhaps some people on here have been spoilt, and if so I'd like to stay where they've stayed - as this place is fantastic.
As I said earlier - we only spent three days here. It wasn't enough.
Let people whinge, let the price stay the same, in fact let it drop. I'd come back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RasFushi, Manager at Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear sterei,
Greetings from the sunny Maldives.
I would like to take this opportunity to Thank you for selecting our resort as your vacation destination and for your kind review here on tripadvisor .We are delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to thank you for letting me know how impressed you were with the service you received. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise.
Once again , Thank you very much indeed and looking forward to welcoming you back at Centara Ras Fushi , Maldives.

Warmest regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We were recommended this place by our London travel agents. We asked for a lovely Maldivian resort (i.e. quiet, beaches, accommodation over the sea, etc.) that was close to Male, as we preferred the idea of a quick transfer. The Ras Fushi was proposed and the hotel website and reviews on TripAdvisor seemed to suggest this would suitable. A few reviews mentioned "Rubbish Island", but this seemed to be a slight issue, rather than a big one. Wrong!

In fairness, the trip started well. We were off the plane quickly, found the resorts counter in arrivals easily and were on their boat within a few minutes. The staff were very welcoming and professional. The trip takes about 20 minutes and after 15 minutes we were within a few hundred metres of Rubbish Island. This was our first inkling that this island might be a lot closer than the reviews suggested. Sure enough, Ras Fushi was now in view and it was clear that the view from the resort was going to be blighted by this monstrosity. Let's be clear about Rubbish Island. It's a large industrial island, with ugly buildings, cranes, etc. Worst of all is the constant plume of black smoke that pours from it's incinerators. If one of your dreams of the Maldives is a beautiful view, this certainly isn't it. Admittedly, you can only see it from one side of the island, but this is the side with the main restaurant, reception, and a number of rooms. The smoke is however visible from most places. If the wind blows in the wrong direction, it blows the smoke towards the island (and was visible from the terrace in our water villa). I will mention that on the resort we ultimately ended up on you could also see the island, but it was in the distance and looked like any other built up island, i.e. Male.

When we arrived we were greeted and taken to reception - the lady doing our welcome was friendly enough, but she was so scripted and lacking of warmth it was a bit pointless. I'm not going to criticise her English (it is my first language), but she would clearly struggle to actually have a conversation if it hadn't been written for her. Once the briefing was over (which it was rather than a welcome), we were put on a golf buggy to our room, which was one of the Deluxe Water Villas. I don't know why this was really necessary as the place is so tiny you can walk round it in 5 minutes. This site recommends villas in the 300's with an even number as they get the sunset view and don't have a view of rubbish island. True enough.

When we were let in to the room, it was obvious that the word deluxe was an overstatement. The villas look like garden sheds. When we entered ours it smelt of damp. There was sand on the floor, the room looked in shabby condition (which is really poor for such a new resort) but worst of all it was boiling even though the a/c was on full blast. The room was tiny. The main area had room for a bed, a small desk, one chair and some form of armchair. The bathroom was acceptable enough, but if you have more than one large suitcase (as a couple), you're going to struggle to a) put everything away and b) hide your suitcases from view.

The terrace was a huge disappointment. It is also tiny and can just fit two sun-loungers (see photo),and has absolutely no shade. No umbrella, no awning - nothing. So, if you're on your terrace and want to cool down in your room you've got a problem. The room was effectively a greenhouse as the a/c is not nearly strong enough to cope with the heat of the day. As soon as the sun had gone down the room temperature dropped quickly, showing the problem is with the room design and a/c. During the afternoon it was a sweat-box rather than a room to relax in and escape the heat. One of the key reasons for staying in a water villa is to be able to spend the majority of your time relaxing in it. You could not do this in one of these.

There are umbrellas on the beach but if you look to escape there then you have a problem as it is tiny (photo of the beach looks nice but this is it - and it is not big enough for the number of guests the resort accommodates). It has about 4 rows of sun loungers but no chance of any privacy. At 4pm in the afternoon when we arrived the beach and pool area next to it was crammed. The next morning, as we went for an early breakfast, people were already reserving the best loungers. In other words, think Costa Del Sol mentality!

My partner and I decided we wanted to leave. We knew that if we stayed we would be miserable. We phoned our travel agent to ask them to find us alternative accommodation. They advised that we talk to the the management and express our concerns so we met with the Customer Relations Manager, Yi and to be honest I found her attitude patronising and functional at best. One of the first things she did was to make it clear that although we had only been on the island for less than a couple of hours there was no chance of a refund for the pre-paid 5 night booking our travel agent had made. They accepted that a change of room was pointless as we were already staying in one of the better rooms and with that gave up on us. They did come to the room to do some extra cleaning, but by this point it really was far too little too late. In the meantime our agent found an alternative resort (Velassaru) and I will be posting a (positive) review of that shortly. Interestingly although this was more expensive, it wasn't significantly more even as a last minute booking (about 20%), but the quality and experience was in a different league.

We left the next morning, but not before sampling both dinner and breakfast in the main restaurant. The quality of the food was in line of our experiences of the resort in general - poor - and had the atmosphere of a staff canteen.

So, in summary Ras Fushi is very poor. The island is tiny and we felt very claustrophobic staying on it. It reminded me of my backpacker days, somewhere to sleep and eat while you explore, problem is you are on an island and there is nowhere to escape to.

This resort is not the Maldivian Dream. It might be cheaper than other resorts in the area, but I would strongly suggest you dig a bit deeper and the quality of your holiday will be so much better. When we walked around the island, I barely saw anyone smiling (including the staff) - when we were at the Velassaru everyone was relaxed and happy.

This review may seem out of sync with others on this site, but I have no grudge to bear. I only feel compelled to warn other visitors to not make the expensive mistake we made. We hated this place. It was so far removed from the reviews on this site and the image on the resorts own website, it is astonishing. I am not normally negative in my reviews, as you can see from my history, but this place deserves it.

If you have any questions you'd like to ask, please do PM me and I'd be happy to answer them.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RasFushi, The Management at Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear RobertF 1972,

Greetings from Centara Ras Fushi Resort &Spa , Maldives.

We have read with great disappointment your negative comment just posted on Tripadvisor and we feel that is unfair and does not reflect the reality therefore we reserve the right to defend our property with actual facts reflected as well from other hundreds of guests who have enjoyed our property and who have helped rank us number 2 on Tripadvisor.

About the Island you mentioned, kindly note the Government of the Maldives is striving to improve this area as soon as possible. Since you have only stayed at our resort for a night and did not have the chance to experience the resort thoroughly, the effect of the other island on our resort is an assumption you unfairly make without knowing for certain. None of the comments on Tripadvisor previously posted by guests mention they have experienced any sort of smoke over the resort during their stay with us. It really is on the distant horizon and barely visible and does not present any disturbance to our resort.

Furthermore to your comments ,it is certain that one of the major reasons our guests are visiting Asia is to experience the natural exotic beauty of this area and , as well, the cultural diversity experienced by being served and pampered by multicultural staff coming from over 17 different countries. As you are a savvy traveler, we are certain that you are well aware that English is not a native Asian language and as such each nationality here has a particular accent which 99.99 % of our guests find actually very charming. Furthermore there are numerous comments about the friendliness and attentiveness of our staff here at Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa, Maldives.

Regarding your accommodation comments, we deeply regret the cleanliness was not up to your standards upon arrival and we have advised our Housekeeping Manager to be more careful with the standard of room preparation. Concerning the so called “overstatement” about the room we are sure prior to your decision of spending your vacation at Centara Ras Fushi you had a chance to go through brochures and websites etc. and see what and how your accommodation will look like, there are over 500 pictures available only on Tripadvisor itself without mentioning other websites and several other sources which clearly states the size of the room including the terrace and amenities. Therefore there is nothing deceiving about it so we are confident that you made your decision to go ahead with your booking at Centara knowing what to expect including the size of our “tiny” island which could become “claustrophobic” as mentioned by you.

To conclude , we , here at Centara Ras Fushi , are confident that we have done everything possible to accommodate you and your partnerand your negative comments are unfair and unfounded and do not reflect the reality. Thank you.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Our wedding anniversary at Maldives was super. Everything is arranged properly and our job was just to take it easy. Viu bar is nice and the sunset spectacular. Only minus is that the trips are quite expensive but luckily you can have the snorkeling equipment for free. The italian restaurant was not our favorite but thai restaurant was really good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with OIT Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RasFushi, Manager at Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Haidi361,
Greetings from CRF.
Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your kind impresions about our resort here on tripadvisor and as well on behalf of the entire team here Centara Ras Fushi for choosing us as your vacation destination , we are all delighted to hear that you had a great time with us.
Once again , Thank you and we are looking forward welcoming you back at any of the Centara hotels and resorts.

Warmest regards

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Our first time staying in a Bungalow, and it happens in Maldives! We enjoyed the sunset over the beautiful ocean, hotel is clean, staffs are friendly. They only have 4 restaurants, so you better reserve tables ahead of time to avoid waiting.

The only complain I have is I have reserved 3 bedrooms on booking.com about 4 months ahead, and a week before we get there, the hotel called and told me that they can only offer us 2 rooms on the very last night of stay because of their over-book issue.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RasFushi, Manager at Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guests,

Greetings from Centara Ras Fushi.

Firstly I would like to Thank you for selecting our resort as your holiday getaway and for taking the time to share with others your experience with us here on Tripadvisor.
We are are delighted indeed to see that you had a fantastic time with us , enjoyed all the facilities and the great staffs and now we are looking forward to welcome you back here or at any other Centara properties in the future .
Once again , Thank you.

Warmest regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed at Centara Ras Fushi for 10 nights in January 2014 for our honeymoon. We were incredibly well looked after right from the moment we stepped off the plane. The hotel staff were very easy to find in the airport and they were ready and waiting to take us on the speed boat (a very quick trip!) Check in was easy and our room was large, comfortable and clean. We stayed in an ocean front room on the beach #117. This was a great spot as it was close to the restaurants, water sports, lobby and bars. Walking straight out the double doors onto the beach was a real highlight. We spent a lot of time relaxing on our sun loungers with a book - paradise! We were on an all inclusive package - definitely recommend as it means you don't have to worry about how much you drink or eat. You also get free acc

Food : We ate at Oceans (buffet restaurant) for all breakfasts and lunches and most dinners. They have a great selection of food and a different theme each night for dinner. We highly recommend the omelette station at breakfast. The chef - Mama - is super friendly and he makes an awesome omelette! We also ate at the Italian restaurant for dinner - the food was superb and the all inclusive menu was quite extensive.

Bars: Viu bar is a fantastic spot to spend your afternoons and evenings (we went every day!). There is an afternoon tea service each day and fantastic live music each afternoon and evening. The bar staff are excellent and looked after us very well - we were never without a drink. The swim up bar is also great for an afternoon drink.

Activities: We did a day trip to Male and the snorkelling extravaganza trip. In Male you are greeted by your own personal tour guide who shows you the sights and also takes you shopping etc. Our guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. These trips are extra on top of the all inclusive but well worth it.

Every staff member at Centara Ras Fushi was friendly, always with a hello and ready to help if needed. Each Wednesday night there is a cocktail party on the beach and a meet and greet with the executive staff. Ning (General Manager), Jerome (Chief Engineer) and the team are all lovely people and eager to make sure you enjoy your stay. We felt right at home the entire time and were very sad to leave! We hope to make it back soon!

Highly recommend this resort as a honeymoon destination or for couples wanting to get away without the kids! The weather was perfect every day :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RasFushi, Manager at Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Sammy158,
Greetings from CRF.
I would like to take this opportunity to firstly Thank you for selecting our resort as your honeymoon destination and secondly for taking the time to write about the fantastic time you had with us here during your honeymoon , we are all very happy that we have exceeded your expectation and we are looking forward to welcome you back for your anniversaries celebrations.

Warmest regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Spent 7 nights at this lively resort and I'm so glad I went along with my decision despite reading dome negative comments from seasoned travellers. I ended up picking CRS as it fits my budget (all inclusive water villa below USD500) and I'm already ready to compromise quite a fair bit on the food/service level/sight of thilafushi. Nonetheless Im so amazed at everything CRS has to offer. This is my second trip to Maldives, first one being former thw Hilton's Iru fushi and I can say my experience at CRF win hands down. Do note if you're someone who wants complete privacy this is not be your choiced resort as the water villas are located very closely to each other. Other than that, food is good, service is top notch, snorkelling is great and the sunset villa is fantastic! Highly recommended for travellers on a budget!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RasFushi, Manager at Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Centara Ras Fushi.

Firstly I would like to Thank you for selecting our resort as your holiday getaway and for taking the time to share with others your experience with us here on Tripadvisor.
We are are delighted indeed to see that you had a fantastic time with us , enjoyed all the facilities and the great staffs and now we are looking forward to welcome you back here or at any other Centara properties in the future .
Once again , Thank you.

Warmest regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa

Address: North Male Atoll, Male 20225
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Male
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Male
#2 Romantic Hotel in Male
#2 Luxury Hotel in Male
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa Maldives/Male

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.