We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maldives is extraordinary & Centara Proved It” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   North Male Atoll, Male 20225   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Male
Dehradun, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Maldives is extraordinary & Centara Proved It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This review has been long time pending. We stayed at Ras Fushi for 11 days to celebrate our honeymoon in the month of June. After exhausting search of many resorts we homed on to Centara; this being a new property and wonderful reviews on the Trip Advisor.

Now about the resort:

1. The property being new has a gorgeous new speed boat that whisks you away from airport to island in less than 20 mins.

2. You are greeted with pleasing staff who give you all the info you need about the island and the resort. A welcome drink follows of course.

3. You can walk around the island or can choose to use their complimentary buggy service which is very effective. The island is not very big so you can comfortably roam around and enjoy the whole place.

4. We stayed in both Jacuzzi beach villa and Premium sunset spa water villa for good five nights each. So I can say that the rooms are absolutely neat without any problems. They have been well furnished to all the needs and the architecture is also modern. The air-conditioning works like a charm and I believe this is what many other resorts fail to offer.

5. The resort has three restaurants namely ocean front (all time buffet), La Brezza (Italian cuisine) and Suan Bua (Thai). All restaurants provide very good variety and taste of food. The menu in oceans front keeps changing on the daily basis. Being full board also gets you a daily limit of spending 60$ at the Italian or the Thai restaurant (taxes extra though).

6. There are three bars namely viu, pool side and one at the reception. The choice of liquors is good and I would strongly advice being on full board as you get unlimited drinks and and snacks here throughout the day. They have a specific full board menu which I felt is more than good. The viu bar gives an amazing view being ocean top and has excellent decor. The pool bar has its own charm where you can swim in the infinity pool and enjoy in bar stools submerged inside pool water.

7. The resort also has a variety of activities going on in the mornings and evenings the schedule of which one has to check. There is also an activity centre with Playstation and WII, along with a Foosball table (All complementary).

8. Lastly, the snorkelling experience we had was amazing. There is enough coral around the island and with the complementary snorkelling gear that is issued at arrival, it’s a delight to go take a plunge whenever you want. We were lucky to spot Stingray twice and some were even lucky to spot dolphins. You can also get additional snorkelling gear issued from the activity centre which we felt was better than the standard issue.

Hope this review helps other as we were helped by many. This resort is truly wonderful and a lifetime experience. We will return.

Room Tip: Beach Villa: Going for a jacuzzi beach villa is a better option it providing your personal beach spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    107
    30
    15
    7
See reviews for
26
369
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Pros:
- amazing service, very friendly staff ( exception being check in- they never informed us of activities such as yoga on the beach in the morning, nor how our half board package worked so that was a disappointment- more on that later)
- one of the most affordable water villa options for a honeymoon in the Maldives
- decent food
- close to Male so 20 minute boat transfer is easier/cheaper than an expensive sea plane
- new property so rooms/bars are in good condition
- amazing snorkeling off your balcony if you stay in a water villa or from the beach
- free non motorized water sports ( paddleboat/kayaking)
- reasonable prices for drinks/mini bar

Cons:
- very confusing meal plan options. Also, neither our travel agent nor the hotel explained to us that for every meal there was an additional government tax and service charge ( totaling to approx. 20% on each bill) We did the half board so all we knew was that we could do breakfast and dinner or lunch and dinner, but really you don't have unlimited options with this. You can only do breakfast or lunch at Oceans restaurant ( the buffet restaurant and our least favorite--flies everywhere on the food) Then for dinner you get $40 a person in a credit to spend on food and a drink included as well. We actually preferred this $40 a person credit for dinner instead of the all inclusive option because then we could order off the a la carte menu and get what we wanted, whereas if you did the all inclusive package- you had to get the set menu or incur additional charges to get the a la carte menu. Or so this is what we understood but it was all very confusing! In the end our bill was about $350 for 6 nights including dipping into the mini bar a couple times, drinks every night at the Viu bar, and all the service charges/government taxes, as well as eating at the Arabian restaurant one night. Another tip of ours would be to avoid the Arabian restaurant because it was an additional $20 charge per person and the food was lackluster. The Thai restaurant is definitely the best, followed by the Italian restaurant.
- The hotel is close to rubbish island, so you do see it and a big gray smoke cloud when coming to the island from Male and arriving at Centara. However, they cleverly have faced most of the water villas, restaurants and bars on the opposite side of the island so in that sense it is not an issue. However, my husband and I stayed in the premium water villas and when we walked towards the water villas ( room numbers in the 200s), it seemed that they might see the rubbish island when walking to their villas
- Also because the island is close to rubbish island, there is a terrible fly problem. This might be an issue at all islands in the Maldives, but since this was my only trip there I can't say- but it seems that proximity to rubbish island might cause it to be more of an issue at Centara.

Other Info:
This isn't specific to Centara- but with water villas you can slightly feel the villa move when someone walks inside the room or when there is a strong current. Also, the set up of water villas so close to each other means you can see your neighbors on their balconies so it is maybe not a private as you might expect.

Room Tip:
If you can afford it- the premium water villas are definitely worth it. They have much better views than the water villas numbered in the 200s, and water villa 380 is definitely the best because it is at the end of the water villa footpath so you don't have neighbors seeing you on your balcony ( although this means a longer walk back to the island- about 5-7 minute walk) Furthermore, even numbered villas are even better because they have the best sunset views.

Overall:
For the price you pay ( maldives standards that is since everything is expensive) this is what I would expect in terms of quality of service/ rooms and overall experience. It would be nice if there were more food options if you are staying more than a week because we were ready to eat something different after 6 nights there. Still definitely worth the trip- we had an amazing honeymoon there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My Wife & I enjoyed a nice 7 night break at Centara Ras Fushi in July.

Being only a short speed boat ride from Male is the first bonus , and the organising/efficiency of staff was excellent.As is usual for The Maldives there is also a very warm welcome awaiting you when you climb off the boat.
A short rest and a drink in reception and then you are given a brief island update and then driven to your villa in a buggy. No need to worry about your luggage as that will follow you. The staff here were all very helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

The 3 bars offer a good choice of drinks – including good beer & wine , although a word of caution – the All inclusive option does not include all premium brands , which I found disappointing.

The 3 restaurants offer a very good range of food – buffet / Italian / Thai. The service at each is very very good – with staff only too pleased to serve and help you.

For us the service & food at the Italian was our favourite and deserves a special mention with thanks to Oliver , Kathy & the team for their awesome service.

We did experience initial disappointment of our deluxe beach villa (number 121) as the view provided was that of a large bush – blanking out the ocean view we had expected. But a quick conversation with reception resolved this matter with a free upgrade to a water villa – which was much better. This is a good example of the excellent customer service provided. Snorkeling from the villa was great – a short walk down the villa steps and into your own private ocean.

The cocktail evening is a good opportunity to meet staff and fellow guests and we’d certainly recommend it to others.The island is small but quaint and the amenities are more than adequate. The pool side bar is a popular during a hot afternoon, with stools in the water to help cool you down as you sit in the pool.

All in all we enjoyed our break , we would recommend it – mostly for young couples. It was good to see the bars being popular – mainly due to the All inclusive option I suspect. Our previous trips to the Maldives (albeit 5* breaks) have seen the bars empty ... but that’s a story for another day !

Would we return? Probably not – but that’s mainly because the world is a very big place with many many more islands/resorts/locations to visit.

Room Tip: Some of the beach villa's do not have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Last Month i was here in this property and its fantastic i was lucky to be here its new hotel and all the facilities is perfect they had told me they will make to more greenery as plants are just growing Lighting of the pool changes and they have atleast 5 colours for the moods and is very romantic. I happened to stay in Water Villa and found it amazing .Resturant Food is very good.Snorkelling coaches are very helpful to train .Overall you will enjoy it here.Wish to be here again to try snorkelling .After this Went to centara Grand which has better Reef for all snorkelling activities.

Room Tip: Water Villa is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

For those who wish to be in a more holiday resort while while having professional meeting in male, this hotel could be a good choice thanks to its nearby location from male (about 20 min).
The hotel is brand new, the pools and facility are nice. The food in the evening bufet is average for the hotel standard and unfortunately the best restaurant (thai) is easily fully booked if no reservation ahead. The rooms (sea view) are not so spacious and adjacent to other rooms. Some of them even have the beach washed by the tides...
The dive center is operated professionally and the reef nearby are not damaged too much by el nino. Hotel does not accept amex...

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have just returned from two weeks stay at the centara ras fushi and we were so impressed that we have already booked another Two weeks in December.
in giving a fair and clear review I will look at a number of areas; Location, service, amenities, food/beverage options, and overall enjoyment.
The location being just a short speed boat from Male is ideal especially if you have just finished a series of long-haul flights. it is a beautiful island which is continually being improved upon, in the two weeks that we were there it was clear that foliage was being added to, that new art work and installations where being put in place. it is clear that the island is striving to become better all the time.
Service was impeccable, be it from the smiling greeting from every staff member be they cabin cleaners, or wait staff to managers, or the attention to detail that was shown by all. have a drink made a certain way, and without fail the next time you ordered that drink it was prepared just how you wanted. while everyone of the staff was great there were a few stars; Sanu was and ever smiling staff member who was in charge of the mini bars in the room and was quick to provide any addition supplies, be it a bottle of champagne so that you could sit on your deck sipping as you watch the sun fall asleep into the indian ocean.
Oliver and his Team at La Brezza provide service that was simply world class, and the surprise final meal that they set up on the beach for us was the highlight of the trip. The lads at the Viu Bar; Samantha and Indika especially allowed those slow evenings to be superbly relaxing ones as well.
The following can be found on the small island, a fitness centre, a dive centre, a water sports centre, a gift shop, three bars; Girravu reception bar, waves bar and the viu bar with it's unique overwater viewing hole, four restaurants; Oceans, Bedouin, Italian and Thai, a swimming pool, as well as free wifi, villas with direct access to the lagoon, multi-channel TV, a dvd library and superb room service. If your holidays require more then this I have great admiration for your energy levels.
The quality of food I found excellent and a big variety at each of the meals, granted that there were the same staples at each meal, with lots of new and creative options. the open kitchen station where the chefs prepared a dish right in front of you was great.
we had a great time, and while a review is simply a means from which I try and tell you my thoughts on my experience and hope that it in someway helps you make and informed decision, I leave you with one clear indication of how enjoyable the experience was for myself and my wife... we have within three days of our return already booked a return trip for this December.

Room Tip: odd number rooms in the 300 series have better snorkling even numbers rooms in the 300 series get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCR
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Just returned from five nights at the the Centara Ras Fushi and overall found it a most enjoyable and relaxing experience.
After a disappointing start at the airport where we we had to wander round looking for the Centara rep we were then told to wait for two other couples who hadn't even landed. It was an hour and a half before we were picked up by the speedboat which we found unacceptable when it's only 20 minutes away and we were told our transfer would be there at 2.30 when we landed. The representative just ignored us and never came to update us or offer an explanation and was dismissive when we approached her.
Wary after this experience, we were pleasantly surprised on our arrival, the majority of staff were very attentive and friendly, making us feel welcome.
The island is small but very beautiful, white sand, crystal blue sea and great for snorkeling with a variety of fish without having to swim out so far. We also saw a couple of manta rays and baby sharks. It's good that equipment and life jackets are provided for the duration of your stay without having to take back and sign out each day. Rubbish Island is not an issue at all, you don't have to see it after the transfer.
The accommodation is new, clean and beautiful, we stayed in a water bungalow for a couple of nights and was upgraded to a premier sunset bungalow with and can't fault it at all, The staff do a fantastic job of cleaning the rooms and are very thorough.
The food was very good and there is such a huge variety, I think anyone who complains must be quite choosy. I have a nut allergy and in the 'A La Carte' restaurants, the staff were great and offered alternatives. However, it was more difficult to get staff to understand in the buffet restaurant and usually meant getting one or two of the chefs out to inform me what I couldn't eat.
Service in the restaurants and bars was generally very good apart from the one night we wanted it to be perfect for our special anniversary meal which we chose to spend in the Thai restaurant after seeing good reviews-we must have got them on a bad night as the service was very poor, we left without our main meal after being in there an hour and half and only served our starters, also, the wine waiter poured so little in the glass each time, I thought it was for tasting at first! This wasn't the case in the other restaurants. When we complained about the service, the staff appeared indifferent.
We avoided the Thai restaurant after that and I'm glad to say the others were great, especially the Arabian where the staff went to great lengths to continue serving and keep everyone happy during a storm despite them getting dripping wet whilst bringing the food in.
Overall our experience was extremely enjoyable and we left happy and relaxed. With these small niggles (caused by maybe just one or two staff) sorted, the Centara Ras Fushi really could be a true paradise.

Room Tip: The premier water bungalows are the obvious best choice (unless you want to be very close to the res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa

Address: North Male Atoll, Male 20225
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Male
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Male
#2 Romantic Hotel in Male
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Male
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa Maldives/Male

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.