We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very different and Nice food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jazz Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jazz Cafe
Haveeree Hingun, Male
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 91 Restaurants in Male
Cuisines: Continental
Restaurant details
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very different and Nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My first day dinner at male was from Jaaz cafe and had Falafel wrap. Very nice and tasty one.
Again went with bank team and had juice and veg rice. Good taste and good price.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“best burgers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I have been to Jazz Cafe' manytimes and I bet you won't get any better. Be it Burgers, Lasgna or Coffee! Simlply the best you can get in Male.!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krungthep Mahanakorn
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
611 helpful votes 611 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere, Average Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We went to Jazz Café during the day so couldn't comment on its live music, but the food was only so-so. While the beef burger was excellent, probably the best in town, its tuna and pasta salad and spaghetti with meatball tasted like something out of a can, both forgettable. For dessert, citrus crème brûlée looked tempting but it wasn't available so the Filipina staff suggested the chocolate pudding, served cold. As we preferred something hot, we just ordered a cup of cappuccino and thankfully left with low sugar intake. Overall what I liked most was the friendly, relaxing atmosphere of this air-conditioned café, a perfect spot to chill out or make some Maldivian friends amid the heat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldives
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Different and great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We love this please, it is different and has good food as well. Young and old meets there and it is a great place to hang out.
Watch out, sometimes the have some music sessions there which enriches the experience even more. Young talented Maldivians perform and let you enjoy from rock, soul to jazz!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vence, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best little Cafe in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I have litterally adopted Jazz Cafe. As you walk thru the door, you are welcomed by an amazing smell of fresh coffee beans and by the friendly staff. It feels like you've just entered a European cafe! The menu is quite healthy, fresh and simple. My favorite dish is the Maroccan Couscous although the burgers are to die for, simply the best in town. There are more healthy choices like the Falafel wraps, Hummus platter, soups, etc. And its always a nice finish off with a great fresh coffee in the Jazzy music atmosphere. Occasionally, there's a live music (acoustic) artists playing. A great place to meet for coffee, or a quick bite with friends.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jazz Cafe also viewed

Male, North Male Atoll
Male, North Male Atoll
 
Male, North Male Atoll
 

Been to Jazz Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jazz Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.