We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and clean hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luckyhiya Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Luckyhiya Hotel to your Saves list
Luckyhiya Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Violet Magu, H.Homa, Dhonhuraa Goalhi, Male   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Male
Cairo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Friendly and clean hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

It was my only one night in Male, we chose quite cheap hotel, and we didn't get disappointed. Though the hotel situated in small street, it is not far away from main jetty. The staff was very friendly and welcoming - even gave us good discount. We didn't expect much and were surprised how clean room was and even nice. It is a perfect place for stop over for 1 night!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarinaCairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I haven't stayed in any other hotels in Male so I don't know what other hotels in the same price range are offering. It's a simple hotel that's ok for a stopover, but it's good if someone from the hotel can bring you to the hotel from the airport, since it's hard to find and the way there seems a bit scary (shabby alley).

Pros
1. Friendly and knowledgeable 'Guest Relations Officer' who picked us up at the airport (even though I don't remember airport transfers being part of what I booked) with an official-looking sign and our names. He brought us on the ferry and took us back in a cab.
2. 24h restaurant in hotel
3. Rooms are clean.
4. Free (tho intermittent) wifi
5. Very near ferry terminal (5 min cab ride)

Cons
1. Located in quiet alley

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pawsielee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Recently I spent four nights in Lucky Hiya hotel in Male, capital of Maldives islands.

That hotel I have chosen by internet and imediatelly at arrival at reception desk I have noticed that hotel is terrible even stuff was quite friendly but that is not any advantage because people there generally are very friendly and kind.

During my stay at hotel (4 nights) towels were not changed and room was not cleaned untill I have leaved hotel!!!!!!

I want to emphasise that while I am traveling I never choose some top hotels(5 stars or more) but Lucky Hiya hotel was by the far the worsest hotel I have ever been and I am traveling since I was student and have visited almost all continets (except Australia and Arctic).

As well it is not cheap hotel because overnight without breakfast costs 85 US$ (even comparing to the other hotels in capital Male it is not too expensive), but recently I stayed in one nice hotel in San Francisco, uncomparable to this hotel, and I payed only 80 US$ per night with breakfast.

So when I read the articles on Your site I could not believe what the other people are writting, because by no criteria it could not be the best hotel in Male.

I am really sorry to write in this way because it is not my pleasure but reading the articles on Your site I think that the travelers deserve to know the truth and correct information.

Room Tip: In order to choose good room it is the best to avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank davor d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Male hotels

Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Certainly the best in Male. Much more better service than in other hotels, even 5* hotels. Staff is always available, you will never wait for their coming more than few seconds, the hotel owner will solve all problems, even those not related to accommodation, he will help, advise, suggest, recommend. A lot of additional attractions (trips, picnics, etc.) Mr. Ibrahim takes care of the guests in the best in the world. A great experience from the first moments at the airport until the last minute in Male. I recommend!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bianca Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Lucky Hiya is well located being a short walk to the ferry over to the airport and near the main street of shops. Room rates have just gone up to around $80 per night (almost doubled) as they have done the rooms up - they used to look very shabby but now the rooms look a lot fresher with new wooden wardrobes, TV , AC, hot water, table and chairs and a comfy bed! Rooms are made up nicely and look lovely now they have a fresh lick of paint and some wall paper! There's a restaurant downstairs ( it also serves food if you find yourself in Male over Ramadan where everywhere else is shut - very handy!). Room service is also available. Friendly staff and the guest relations is lovely!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HopefullyHelfulTips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
199 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

The hotel is located in the heart of the capital city of Male. From the ferry connection to the airport is just 5 minutes walk. Walk the main street Violet Magu on the right side in a small street at the end of this street. At the reception at the bottom are working very nice, young, beautiful girls, but very little speak English. You can negotiate the price before you arrive to the hotel with the owner of Mohamed Ali - is worth it. Cheapest room rates do not include breakfast, but the reception is a small restaurant, where for less than $ 5 you can eat both breakfast and lunch. Very tasty and quickly served. There is an elevator, some rooms are very nicely decorated. But I got a single room, where he was the smell of cigarettes, so I asked for a change. In the room with several TV channels, air conditioning works, is clean. The bathroom is small, but with the primary selection. There is no connection to the Internet

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank poltramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Male
0.5 mi away
Hotel Octave
Hotel Octave
#3 of 35 in Male
4.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Boutique Inn
Central Boutique Inn
#7 of 35 in Male
3.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Skai Lodge
Skai Lodge
#9 of 35 in Male
3.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Fuana Inn
Fuana Inn
#6 of 7 in Hulhumale
3.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Airport Beach Hotel
Airport Beach Hotel
#2 of 7 in Hulhumale
4.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
3.6 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
5.0 of 5 stars 2,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luckyhiya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luckyhiya Hotel

Address: Violet Magu, H.Homa, Dhonhuraa Goalhi, Male
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Male
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Male
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Luckyhiya Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luckyhiya Hotel is a brand new luxuriously built, 12 storey hotel, standing close to the heart of the capital city of the Maldives. Luckyhiya Hotel is for the travellers who wish to enjoy the comforts of the city at an affordable price.A total of 33 rooms ( Standard, Deluxe and suite ) with Wifi Internet connection every where in the hotel. This hotel is designed to suit a variety of business travellers and also we offer a perfect relaxing holiday packages. That you will last for a very long time.We provide Diving Packages, Surfing Packages, Excursions, Male’ tour, Island hopping and many more at the top rang you may find in Maldives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Luckyhiya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luckyhiya Hotel Maldives/Male

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing