We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find, located in shabby alley.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lucky Hiya Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lucky Hiya Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lucky Hiya Hotel
Violet Magu,Male, Maldives, H.Homa , Dhonhuraa Goalhi, Male   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 38 hotels in Male
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Hard to find, located in shabby alley.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

I haven't stayed in any other hotels in Male so I don't know what other hotels in the same price range are offering. It's a simple hotel that's ok for a stopover, but it's good if someone from the hotel can bring you to the hotel from the airport, since it's hard to find and the way there seems a bit scary (shabby alley).

Pros
1. Friendly and knowledgeable 'Guest Relations Officer' who picked us up at the airport (even though I don't remember airport transfers being part of what I booked) with an official-looking sign and our names. He brought us on the ferry and took us back in a cab.
2. 24h restaurant in hotel
3. Rooms are clean.
4. Free (tho intermittent) wifi
5. Very near ferry terminal (5 min cab ride)

Cons
1. Located in quiet alley

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    18
    7
    5
See reviews for
5
23
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Recently I spent four nights in Lucky Hiya hotel in Male, capital of Maldives islands.

That hotel I have chosen by internet and imediatelly at arrival at reception desk I have noticed that hotel is terrible even stuff was quite friendly but that is not any advantage because people there generally are very friendly and kind.

During my stay at hotel (4 nights) towels were not changed and room was not cleaned untill I have leaved hotel!!!!!!

I want to emphasise that while I am traveling I never choose some top hotels(5 stars or more) but Lucky Hiya hotel was by the far the worsest hotel I have ever been and I am traveling since I was student and have visited almost all continets (except Australia and Arctic).

As well it is not cheap hotel because overnight without breakfast costs 85 US$ (even comparing to the other hotels in capital Male it is not too expensive), but recently I stayed in one nice hotel in San Francisco, uncomparable to this hotel, and I payed only 80 US$ per night with breakfast.

So when I read the articles on Your site I could not believe what the other people are writting, because by no criteria it could not be the best hotel in Male.

I am really sorry to write in this way because it is not my pleasure but reading the articles on Your site I think that the travelers deserve to know the truth and correct information.

Room Tip: In order to choose good room it is the best to avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Certainly the best in Male. Much more better service than in other hotels, even 5* hotels. Staff is always available, you will never wait for their coming more than few seconds, the hotel owner will solve all problems, even those not related to accommodation, he will help, advise, suggest, recommend. A lot of additional attractions (trips, picnics, etc.) Mr. Ibrahim takes care of the guests in the best in the world. A great experience from the first moments at the airport until the last minute in Male. I recommend!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Lucky Hiya is well located being a short walk to the ferry over to the airport and near the main street of shops. Room rates have just gone up to around $80 per night (almost doubled) as they have done the rooms up - they used to look very shabby but now the rooms look a lot fresher with new wooden wardrobes, TV , AC, hot water, table and chairs and a comfy bed! Rooms are made up nicely and look lovely now they have a fresh lick of paint and some wall paper! There's a restaurant downstairs ( it also serves food if you find yourself in Male over Ramadan where everywhere else is shut - very handy!). Room service is also available. Friendly staff and the guest relations is lovely!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

The hotel is located in the heart of the capital city of Male. From the ferry connection to the airport is just 5 minutes walk. Walk the main street Violet Magu on the right side in a small street at the end of this street. At the reception at the bottom are working very nice, young, beautiful girls, but very little speak English. You can negotiate the price before you arrive to the hotel with the owner of Mohamed Ali - is worth it. Cheapest room rates do not include breakfast, but the reception is a small restaurant, where for less than $ 5 you can eat both breakfast and lunch. Very tasty and quickly served. There is an elevator, some rooms are very nicely decorated. But I got a single room, where he was the smell of cigarettes, so I asked for a change. In the room with several TV channels, air conditioning works, is clean. The bathroom is small, but with the primary selection. There is no connection to the Internet

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lucky Hiya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucky Hiya Hotel

Address: Violet Magu,Male, Maldives, H.Homa , Dhonhuraa Goalhi, Male
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Male
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 38 hotels in Male
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luckyhiya Hotel is a brand new luxuriously built, 12 storey hotel, standing close to the heart of the capital city of the Maldives. Luckyhiya Hotel is for the travellers who wish to enjoy the comforts of the city at an affordable price.A total of 33 rooms ( Standard, Deluxe and suite ) with Wifi Internet connection every where in the hotel. This hotel is designed to suit a variety of business travellers and also we offer a perfect relaxing holiday packages. That you will last for a very long time.We provide Diving Packages, Surfing Packages, Excursions, Male’ tour, Island hopping and many more at the top rang you may find in Maldives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Lucky Hiya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucky Hiya Hotel Maldives/Male

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucky Hiya Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.