We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They mean well” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Boutique Inn at Villa Shabnamee

Save Saved
You added The Boutique Inn at Villa Shabnamee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Boutique Inn at Villa Shabnamee
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   G.Villa Shabnamee,, Handhuvarudhey Goalhi, Male 20101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 38 hotels in Male
Munich
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“They mean well”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Althought the staff were friendly and helpful, I really cannot recommend this hotel for the following reasons:
1) Our airport pick-up did not materialise. We waited 20 minutes and then made our own way to the hotel at our expense, although we had paid Agoda for a transfer.
2) Breakfast was a sad affair served up on a ledge overlooking the reception on a dirty tablecloth, strewn with documents and bits of old breakfast.
3) We were told we could not use the miniscule pool at the moment as it had been booked by a Muslim family.
4) Way overpriced for what you get.

On the more positive side the rooms were OK and the location central.

Room Tip: Go out for breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    10
    7
    1
See reviews for
3
14
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Surat, India
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We are a family of 4 people ( 2 Adults + 2 Child )and were staying for only one night in superior room of this hotel ! The receptionist was co-opearative and very friendly ! Room was good as per the price !Breakfast was normal!This hotel don't have their own restaurant for lunch & Dinner,however they will arrange it within half an hour on your request ! Our booking was including of free return tranfer from Male international airport,which was smooth and quick ! Hotel management has also arrange for a city tour of Male city,which was also enjoyable ! Worth to stay for short visit of Male city !

Room Tip: All rooms are good enough for a night stay but superior room is far better if you are ready to spend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

For th price you pay, you get your money's worth. Very affordable yet very good, I found the rooms were quite clean & had nothing to complain. Had WiFi in the lobby as well. The place was very quite with hardly any disturbance. There were a few good restaurants close to this place which had good food. King's Corner comes to my mind.

Room Tip: Ask for larger rooms close to the windows if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

This is very small hotel, but it's just fine for short modest stay. Complimentary airport transfer works, I was fetched from airport 20 mins after call to hotel (flight was hours late). There is no restaurant, but they make simple breakfast. In room the bed takes most of the space, and the electricity sockets might work or not. There is no warm water. Free WiFi works ok. The swimming pool was out of order.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigtownshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

friendly and very helpfull staff my partner and i stayed a few days in this hotel which is basic but most hotels in male are. my partner was taken ill on our last day and admitted to hospital. the staff went out of their way to help me although i was due to check out in the morning they let me use a room at 7 pm to have a shower at no charge kept my partners luggage for a week ti
ll he was discharged from hospital arranged transport for me to the ferry.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Like everyone else, we needed overnight accomodation before flying out to our resort the next morning. After doing plenty of research on Male accomodation, it seemed pretty clear its overpriced and not of a great standard. So the challenge was to not feel entirely ripped off after checking out of one of these places. Boutique inn did acheive that. It still ended up being $100 US after all the taxes but it was clean enough as our expectations werent high. The bathroom was pretty dirty with half used mini shampoo bottles laying around with the labels peeling off. Having travelled through the sub continent which holds similar accomodation I did just laugh it off though. The room was Tiny! Not much room after the makeshift double bed (two singles pushed together) to get the door open. The service was friendly enough.

In summary, knowing how comparatively cheap this place is compared to other options I think some peoples expectations are unfair. It was a few hours of our life spent mostly sleeping in the airconditioning before heading off to paradise.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

There is nothing ‘boutique’ or ‘villa’ about The Boutique Inn at Villa Shabnamee. There is, however, a whole lot of dirty and unfriendly. We cannot reconcile our extremely negative experience here with some of the more recent comments. We had an online booking (which we re-confirmed via e-mail before our flight) and arrived late at night to a dank lobby staffed by a surly woman and clueless young man. Despite being the only people in the lobby, the woman kept us standing and waiting while making a number of phone calls, the purpose and outcome of which she never shared. Finally the man escorted us up to our room (one floor by lift) and led us into the dirtiest room we’ve ever seen. Trash still in the waste bins and the bathroom looked like it hadn’t been cleaned in quite some time. He hovered waiting for a tip as we gaped at the horror before us. When he finally let himself out, he gave us no key. Needless to say, we didn’t get a good night’s sleep.

Any pros?: The sheets were clean.

Other cons: We left first thing in the morning, too terrified to check out the “free” breakfast or pool.

Verdict: Wouldn’t come back even if it were the last hotel on earth.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boutique Inn at Villa Shabnamee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boutique Inn at Villa Shabnamee

Address: G.Villa Shabnamee,, Handhuvarudhey Goalhi, Male 20101
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Male
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 38 hotels in Male
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boutique Inn at Villa Shabnamee 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the very heart of the city, The Boutique Inn @ Villa Shabnamee Male provides the island's most exotic welcome. Ideal for business people seeking comfortable facilities, as well as for leisure travelers heading to and from the atolls and resorts. Located in such a way that it is away from the city’s vibrant traffic while having direct access to the main business street and is also close to the main transit jetties of the city. The hotel features a roof top infinity pool and exceptional all day dining experiences in Hotels Bistro Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your The Boutique Inn at Villa Shabnamee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boutique Inn At Villa Shabnamee Hotel Male
The Boutique Inn At Villa Shabnamee Maldives/Male

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boutique Inn at Villa Shabnamee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.