We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great place to stayin Male” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kaani Lodge

Kaani Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kaani Lodge to your Saves list
Kaani Lodge
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Kaani Goalhi, Henveiru, Male 20-05   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 28 Male B&B and Inns
Male
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Always a great place to stayin Male”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I am an expat working near Male and use to spend my free days in the capital. We always love to choose Kaani Lodge, since it has a great location - 5 minutes from the jetty - and you have one of the main roads - Sosun Magu , with supermarkets; small restaurants - around the corner. The rooms are clean & tidy, the service is attentive and welcomes you always back. Only minus: WiFi is only available at the reception area.

Room Tip: Do an advanced booking as the hotel is quite popular, refrain from just walkin- in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    8
    7
    1
See reviews for
5
14
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I needed to arrive at Male one night before boarding a live aboard in case there was a delay of my flight. I was looking for an accommodation that was close to the jetty. As a solo traveler and just for one night, I didn't mind staying in Kaani Lodge. The walk was about 5 minutes depending on how fast your pace was. Locating it was also simple. From the jetty, walked towards to HSBC branch. Made a left right there. You then walked all the way until you could not advance further. You then turned left and, immediately, you should see Kaani Lodge in a very narrow street on your right. A guy was usually standing in front of the door.

The reception area had no air conditioning and the stair was narrow. It was only wide enough for one person. The guy who stood in front of the door would help you carry the luggage. The room was tidy and had a TV. I did find a cockroach in my room, which was not a surprise to me.

Overall, it was an economical layover option.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

so this is a reasonably simple hotel. but it also has a simple price - at under $60, i had my own clean room, aircon, television with a couple of movie chanels, ensuite and breakfast. seriously - why wouldnt you stay?
i met a person who didnt want the hassle of going to the mainland for the night as they were taking a boat the next morning so they stayed at the 'airport hotel' and paid close to $300..
it's a no brainer for me. it was an easy right, left, left, right turn from the ferry and i was at the door in under 6 minutes. of course i did have to pay a whole dollar for the ferry..

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

I could recommend this small lodge for a short stay in Male. It is safe as a staff member is sitting in the entrance area the whole time. The rooms are clean and for a reasonable price and they sell it to a reasonable price. It is a bit hidden and difficult to find.
They also provide basic food and free internet in the lobby area.

Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We were due to stay at this property for an overnight transit from Colombo.

We booked two rooms on the premise that it was within a short walk to/from the airport ferry 'terminal'. It was very difficult to find as most of the 'roads' are little alleys making it difficult to judge which one to turn at. Needless to say we were lost and it was approaching 2330. After a 30 minute detour, and sweating like pigs in the heat, we eventually found the Kaani Lodge only to be told they were overbooked.

After a walk to the main road we were whisked away in a taxi to the Marble Hotel (supposedly a sister hotel - which I doubt) which was probably slightly better accommodations (still basic) than we would have received at the Kanni Lodge and we were able to have them at the same rate as what we would have paid originally.

Overall, this property is very difficult to locate, particularly at night, and due to the overbooking situation, this has been reflected in this rating.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

The hotel has 4 floors and no lift. We were told only the fourth floor has hot water so we took a room on that floor. We like keeping fit so we didn't mind the climb up the stairs. The fan didn't work in our room so we didn't get much sleep. We changed to another room for our second night. It's generally clean and tidy and good value and it's walking distance from the jetty.

Room Tip: No lift, so go for lower floors. Ask if they have hot water in all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kaani Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaani Lodge

Address: Kaani Goalhi, Henveiru, Male 20-05
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Male
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Male
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaani Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kaani Lodge provides accommodation for business travelers and tourists in the capital island Malé conveniently located just 5 minutes walk from the main tourist jetty and offers comfortable rooms with reasonable rates.Kaani Lodge comprises of 12 rooms with modern amenities, a selection of facilities and a variety of offers for its clients to further enjoy their stay in the Maldives.From Airport it takes around 10 minutes by boat to the capital Male’ jetty and further minutes of walk, will drop you in Kaani Lodge.The hotel mostly fits for the business travelers within Male’ or close by islands or for a stop over from and to your dream vacation in the tropical paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Kaani Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaani Lodge Maldives/Male

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaani Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.