We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shorts Stay. Good Service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Traders Hotel, Male, Maldives

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Traders Hotel, Male, Maldives to your Saves list
Traders Hotel, Male, Maldives
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ameer Ahmed Magu, Male 20096   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Male
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Shorts Stay. Good Service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and I were having Honeymoon in Maldives and we stay overnight there for transit to another resort. We arrived at mid-night due to flight delay but hotel arranged all the transport and picked up us from the airport. The staffs were very nice and taking good care of us during the short boat trip from the airport to hotel. Recommended for shorts stay since the room is pretty small compare to other resorts.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    161
    40
    10
    8
See reviews for
43
127
16
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I was there in a business trip for one day. The hotel is perfect. The swimming pool at the roof is fantastic, you swim there as if you swim in the ocean. Very nice restaurant and food quality. City is very small but with a very good hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

High rise building in Male! I work in Dubai so looking at it from the outside it wasn't "High rise" but yet when the whole city is below its top floor sunset looks wicked.
Food is decent so are the mock-tails. Heard a few airline crew stay in that hotel as well. Very close to the ferry station and the souvenir street.
Sushi was not all that bad, rice could have been the sticky rice but hey! Its an island whatever u get is a luxury....and don't expect a sushi menu just ask them what you want - Salmon, tuna, Shrimps, Eel or crab sticks

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

On arrival at the airport you have to get a boat to this hotel. The boat ride takes 5 minutes. Try and sit at the back as this area bounces up and down the least.
You can walk one block from jetty six, entering reception. The staff at this hotel are probably the friendliest and efficient I have ever come across. Try and get a room as high up as possible. Less traffic noise and also the views get better of the city.
Breakfast has everything that you could possibly want and should try to be enjoyed early as it is quieter. A new pancake/crepe/waffle station has just been added.
The gym is extremely warm so I would recommend going really early in the day or really late, if you are planning on taking time out to use the pool get there early as there are only 6 beds.
The spa is fantastic, the room service a little pricey, there are lots of restaurants near buy so I'd advise you to go out and explore.
Overall this hotel is very good, the rain showers are fantastic and the beds comfortable! A very high 4!

Room Tip: Choose a room from floor 7 upwards and rooms from 4 to 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here after a delay and the service was great. They responded to my booking really fast. Picked us up at the airport transferred really quickly. Arranged departure with resort and brought us here really quickly. So awesome service. Value for money will always be poor as you are in the Maldives. Food was ok. Rooms clean but small and slept poorly. But again great service!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stay in Traders for all my business trips to Maldives. Very well managed with clean decently furnished rooms, good efficient service with reasonable breakfast spread. Letdowns are inadequately equipped gym and miniscule swimming pool

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The gym is so hot it's unbearable. On my last stay I told the staff it was too hot, and when I returned it was still the same. Air conditioners are blowing but they clearly don't work properly. Others were complaining about the heat and in the end I left feeling sick and dizzy. Also the gym is very small so with the heat and a few people it gets very claustrophobic. (As a fitness fanatic I depend on a good gym!)
This shouldn't be a problem at a high end hotel and it wouldn't bother me if there was more to do on this island.
The roof pool is beautiful but there is no shade during the day.
Printing is 50cents a page - the most I've ever paid.
The staff however are lovely and very professional and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Traders Hotel, Male, Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traders Hotel, Male, Maldives

Address: Ameer Ahmed Magu, Male 20096
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Male
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Male
#4 Romantic Hotel in Male
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Traders Hotel, Male, Maldives 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is just a seven-minute speedboat ride from Ibrahim Nasir International Airport to the 117-room Traders Hotel, Malé, Maldives. Offering quality and value-for-money accommodation, restaurants and services, the hotel is an ideal stop-over to explore the city before heading to your island getaway. Within walking distance, visit the bustling Fish Market, the flower-filled Sultan Park, the national museum and the slender minaret of the Old Friday Mosque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Traders Hotel, Male, Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel, Male, Maldives Hotel Male

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Traders Hotel, Male, Maldives, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.