We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location for Business on Male” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Traders Hotel, Male, Maldives

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Traders Hotel, Male, Maldives to your Saves list
Traders Hotel, Male, Maldives
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ameer Ahmed Magu, Male 20096   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Male
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Perfect Location for Business on Male”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

An excellent location for my recent business trip on the island , again the Hotel was the perfect meeting place for our business meetings.
Rooms were well furnished , roof Top pool and sun deck is excellent
While the island is dry ( No Alcohol) there is a free ferry to The Airport Hotel which can provide you with your required drinks and is also very nice

Will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    160
    38
    10
    8
See reviews for
40
126
16
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This was actually my second time to be at this Hotel and if there is one that have stuck in my mind, was the hotel's forever smiling staff. They made me feel very much at home. Evidently, they are well trained in hospitality work. This was especially refreshing for me considering that both my visits in Maldives were for meetings and not for holiday (nobody believes me when I say this) . Special mention goes to the Executive Chef Mr. Edwin Santos who always engaged hotel guest eating at any of the hotel's restaurant in shore conversation and he made sure that were satisfied.

Although the rooms are comfortable enough and equipped with the required amenities, it would have been perfect they been a bit bigger.

Anyway, I hope to be back!

Room Tip: The tenth and eleventh floors are okay as they will give you a good view of the city and the sea, pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
156 hotel reviews
Reviews in 162 cities Reviews in 162 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Convenient free speedboat transfer from the airport to the hotel and back (I let them know in advance).

There are not many hotels located in the small city of Male itself (not much to see in Male and way too many motor bikes!). This is easily the best one, a good 4 star venue. Although more of a business hotel, they made every effort for our 4-year old daughter. They provided a free extra bed for her.

The room was clean and modern and nice with a cute, glass-walled bathroom (with blinds).

Breakfast buffet was elaborate and excellent, a good mix of European-style breads, hot Asian dishes, cheese, eggs and sausages, fruits etc. We also enjoyed nice sandwiches for lunch in the downstairs Deli. For dinner, we tried room service once and the (Italian) food was good. We also ate at the rooftof restaurant the 2nd night and all the food was good too, at reasonable prices. Service was very slow though and it's always warm in the restaurant (even at night, it's open air, no airco).

Rooftop infinity pool is great with excellent views. It's not too big but very nice. Good place to relax.

Check out took a while since I tried to pay cash with the local currency (Maldivian Ruufiyah) and it was difficult to find change. I recommend paying with cash US dollars or credit card!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights and really liked it. I was on 12th floor with view over the rooftops to the sea. Room was smallish but very well equipped. Pool upstairs was more decorative than a good swimming pool for exercise. But I would definitely stay there again and would have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view otherwise you will be looking out over the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We spent half a day in this hotel waiting for our connection flight to Dubai
Can be rated a 5 - star hotel but for
- no air-conditioning in the Pool Bar, it is too hot for lunch
- some amenities like cotton pads, a hair drier are missing
- air conditioning too loud and cannot cope with afternoon heat

However food at the Pool Bar was excellent, though the afternoon heat prevented us from enjoying it to the full
Reception staff is extremely helpful and provide to all your needs
If you are staying for a day or half a day -be prepared to have a speedboat transfer from Hulule airport followed by a short transfer in an air conditioned minivan, it is just 15 min drive from hotel to the airport

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

It 'a quite new and modern with a decent lobby and friendly and helpful staff. A fairly expensive hotel that I think is not worth the price, but it is definitely one of the best in Malé. The breakfast, which does not have a huge choice is expensive, if you take just a coffee, you see un'importo eorbitante charged. Advice to eat a lot, so the price does not change. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with free wi fi, with adjoining shower room with transparent walls of the room, nice. The conditioning is operated, but is not dehumidified and makes it a little annoying. The restaurant is located on the terrace where you can enjoy a beautiful view of the lagoon. The food is decent but the costs are in line with the rest. To try again with the card that was handed to me and that I should save the next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Having travelled extensively it would be very difficult to rate this stay excellent, even though it was only small things that were not quite right.

There were staff waiting form our arrival at 11pm and the transfer from the airport to the island by speedboat took barely 5 minutes; it was then a 1 minute drive to the hotel.

At check-in our confirmed room, high floor with a king bed turned out to be not available, we were first offered room 1111 that met only 1 criteria (high floor), but not the bed configuration.
We were then finally offered, after some negotiation, an upgrade to an Executive room on the 8th floor and are glad we accepted it.

The room was very spacious with one of the largest hotel bathrooms we have experienced; there was a separate rather small washroom with toilet and wash basin.
The balcony was a nice inclusion however with the weather so hot and humid we rarely used it.

The breakfast buffet was certainly more than adequate; I'm not sure why there has been some adverse comment except if one was looking for a 3 course meal for breakfast.

We spoke with Duty Manager, Nasi, about some possible ways the room might be improved and suggested a shower curtain to prevent the water flow onto the bathroom floor, and better sealing around the balcony door to reduce some of the noise.

We suggested how the door might be fixed and that was done the same day, and within 2 days a shower curtain had been installed.
We were very impressed with how she handled these matters.

She met us at least once every day we were there asking of there was anything else that needed to be done, and thanked us for the constructive suggestions.

We were a little disappointed that despite hanging our towels for re-use, in accordance with the card in the room, they were changed every day, until finally Nasi intervened.
This is a typical problem of most hotels; staff simply are not properly trained in this regard, and most probably as only a small number of guests actually want to re-use their towels they become accustomed to simply changing them.

Check out and transfer to the airport was smooth and all staff helpful and courteous.

We felt that this hotel was over-priced for what it is; basically a City Hotel that unfortunately does not even have nice views because they have been built out.
We paid an average of US$400 per night ++, and could certainly have stayed on one of the smaller islands for the same or perhaps less.

In hindsight we should not have stayed so long (5 nights) but instead looked to stay elsewhere for some of the time; we just didn't like the idea of having to pack, unpack and pack during a relatively short stay.

Room Tip: Corner rooms, there is only one on each floor, have a balcony and are large. Higher floors should be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Traders Hotel, Male, Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traders Hotel, Male, Maldives

Address: Ameer Ahmed Magu, Male 20096
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Male
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Male
#4 Romantic Hotel in Male
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Traders Hotel, Male, Maldives 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is just a seven-minute speedboat ride from Ibrahim Nasir International Airport to the 117-room Traders Hotel, Malé, Maldives. Offering quality and value-for-money accommodation, restaurants and services, the hotel is an ideal stop-over to explore the city before heading to your island getaway. Within walking distance, visit the bustling Fish Market, the flower-filled Sultan Park, the national museum and the slender minaret of the Old Friday Mosque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Traders Hotel, Male, Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel, Male, Maldives Hotel Male

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Traders Hotel, Male, Maldives, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.