We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suprisingly slick hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jen Male

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jen Male to your Saves list
Hotel Jen Male
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ameer Ahmed Magu, Male 20096 (Formerly Traders Hotel, Male, Maldives)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Male
Certificate of Excellence
redditch
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Suprisingly slick hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here for one night after a liveaboard boat for a week. Very impressed from the moment we were met at the dock. We were allocated our room straight away - 9.30 am. (The airport hotel HIH now seems to have a policy of NOT allocating rooms until 2.00 pm - normal time to be able to get room - with no attempt to see if one may be ready earlier).

Lovely smart air conditioned rooms and public areas. Lovely swimming pool area with wonderful view. Cocktails up on roof lovely if pricey. Good meal also at roof restaurant. Really excellent breakfast - there was nothing not on offer!! Well organised departure with all luggage taken care of. Traders have their own speedy boat to take you back to the airport and our luggage was taken right to the departure desk at the airport.

Booked a pedicure which came with a free head and shoulder massage. Lovely girls in the spa, and a good treatment, followed by complimentary sweet ginger tea. Very enjoyable

Altogether very impressed with hotel.

Stayed one night before week on boat at HIH - well, they do have a pool and beach area if you want to get into the swing of your holiday. But Traders much slicker, smarter operation.

Room Tip: We had basic room - still very nice. Very smart and beautifully furnished. Luxurious toiletries...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    181
    43
    12
    9
See reviews for
49
140
18
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at Traders for one night before heading out to our island. The hotel is in a good position, not the Male is that big, and we found the service and rooms excellent. The roof top pool and restaurant were also really good, with great views. A perfect hotel for a few nights.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed here for one night before transferring to our resort via sea plane. The room we had on the 11th floor was renovated and had a large bathroom and shower with a rainhead. The bed was very comfortable and large. Only problem was there was a gathering of some sort nearby outside with some people yelling on a loudspeaker past 10 PM. Not sure what it was. Breakfast was lovely and had lots of variety and was very tasty. Staff was all very pleasant and helpful. Definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed at the Traders for one night while awaiting our transfer to one of the islands. We were warmly greeted at the airport by one of the staff who quickly took us to the speed boat to transfer us to the hotel.

The hotel is just a short walk from the drop off point, and they deliver the bags for you so no need to cart around your heavy bags. Check-in was quick and efficient and the staff were very friendly and attentive. We were on a "stopover package rate" which included midnight snacks at the hotel (as we arrived late at night around 11pm). We were delighted when reception told us our snacks were waiting for us in the room, but when we got to the room the hot food had gone completely cold so we couldn't eat it. You would think they would have sent food up once we actually checked in, not when we were expected to arrive. So that was a bit of a let down.

The room itself is quite clean and beds were comfortable, but found facilities in the room such as the phones and some of the lights were not working. I also found the shower set up to be a bit strange, it's in a bathtub and because the screen is so small the floor outside gets soaking wet.

It's not all bad though! The hotel runs like a well oiled machine when it comes to transfers to and from the airport, and has all the information your need about your transfer to your resort. It was great chatting to the staff who despite the problems with our room, were very quick to address these issues. I would probably stay here again due to them.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

When we arrived at the airport, we were met immediately by one of the Traders Hotel's reps. We didn't touch our luggage from this point and the rep was very nice. He took us to a motorboat which was ready and waiting for us! After the quick trip from the airport we took a somewhat unnecessary taxi from the motor boat to the hotel. The service was impeccable.
Once we arrived, check in was fairly awkward. We had booked an Ocean View room, however we hadn't been allocated one at the hotel. We had to argue for a while with the receptionist who eventually gave us the room we had booked, but only after we had offered to forward the email of our reservation! So that was quite frustrating.
The room we had was lovely. The bathroom was large and the bed was very comfortable. We had a balcony too. We used the in-room dining which was amazing. The food was brilliant. We also went up onto the roof to use the infinity pool. The service at the bar was slow and there wasn't anyone to assist with the sun-loungers or towels.
We had a second drink later on that evening, and again the service was incredibly slow. Room service, however, was very good.
The breakfast buffet was a little unusual. It had all the standard food laid out beautifully, but there was a load of extra hot plates where the lunch was being kept warm. It was 6am and I'm sure there's a food hygiene issue with keeping lunch items warm for long periods of time...! When we sat down to eat, no one came over to offer us tea or coffee. The place wasn't busy at all - when we arrived, a couple was just leaving, and shortly after we'd finished, a family also arrived. As we were getting up to leave, we were eventually offered a coffee or tea which we couldn't have as we were leaving for the airport.
Again the connection back to the airport was helpful and very well done.
I don't think I'd stay in the hotel again because even if the room was very good, the poor service really let them down.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xiamen, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

we stay there for 2 night to transfer to the island hotels in maldives, very warm welcome, the staffs are waiting in the airport to pick you to the hotel and you will have warm welcome, they will call you in the morning to make sure you can catch the water plane so don't need to worry anything . the room is clean tidy and nice, food is average but not bad,we don't have time to visit male town centre but when we go up to the swimming pool on the top floor, shock us! too many bikini girls there!:)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I am surprised to find such a modern and chic boutique hotel tucked away in the side street of Male. But it is indeed a perfect accommodation choice because it is so close to Male International Airport (only less than 10 mins by speedboat), The service is exceptionally impressive. I had email communications with them prior to my trip on seaplane transfers to another resort. All was done efficiently and smoothly without a hitch. After a late night arrival and an hour long wait at the immigration queue, a nice hotel room, friendly and efficient staff, happy faces and good services were all I could hope for and thankfully I got them from Traders Hotel in Male.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Jen Male? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Male

Address: Ameer Ahmed Magu, Male 20096 (Formerly Traders Hotel, Male, Maldives)
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Male
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Male
#4 Luxury Hotel in Male
#4 Romantic Hotel in Male
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Male 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's so much to do, see and taste in Male and I've got you covered on everything you need to get started! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Jen Male reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel, Male, Maldives Hotel Male
Hotel Jen Male Maldives

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jen Male, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.