We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb dessert” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moussandra

Moussandra
A1-1-8 Solaris Dutamas | 1 Jalan Dutamas, Kuala Lumpur 50480, Malaysia
3-6206-4999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #426 of 2,517 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb dessert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was my first time to Moussandra, and I must say, me and my boyfriend made the right choice to celebrate our anniversary here.

Service was excellent. The waitress especially was very helpful. She asked if we were first timers here, and helped to explain how we could place our order. Try the tapas, which were very savoury and much to our liking. We've never tried it before but it sure brought us to seconds.

Try also the mix souvlaka (I think this is how it's spelled). Yumm. I tried the fillet fist, which I think is mediocre. But the highlight of the dinner was the dessert. I came to know that all the other reviewers here also commended on the creme brulee, and yes! It was excellent. The best I've tasted so far! We will definitely come back for the creme brulee.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    13
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great service and delicious moussaka!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Good place to go for a quiet ambience (the old location was more special, the publika one is okay) and some really good Mediterranean food! Love their moussaka, which is enough to feed two. The souvlaki is also delicious. As a lover of greek cuisine, i'm impressed! Surprised that every time I dine there it is pretty much empty.. I'm a bit at odds writing this, it feels like sharing a really good secret!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Now in Publika, not KL Plaza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I've been to the outlet in KL Plaza various times and visited their newly opened outlet in Publika last week. The KL Plaza outlet has closed.

Food is still as tasty as it was. There were 7 adults so portions of tapas had to be doubled. Moussaka and creme brulee are a must!

All in all, with 4 mains (moussaka, sovlaki, paella, pizza) and about 5-6 tapas, creme brulee, 4 beers, 1 glass of sangria, the bill came up to RM400++

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Worth the jam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I really really hate the jam in Jalan Bukit Bintang but for the food served here, i don't mind going through it.

The place is not that easy to look for from inside Fahrenheit 88 mall (former KL Plaza), it'll be a lot easier to find from the outside for it's located on a sub-lot. Just go to the side (in between Lot 10 mall) and you'll see the restaurant's signage, though at night the signage doesn't seem to be lit up.

Had their meat tapas, Moussaka and seafood marinara which was superb. I particularly LOVE the garlic shrimp tapas.
Ordered the ravioli & Paella but didn't quite like it. The pasta was overcooked and not sure if Paella's meant to be soggy like that but it was. And their chocolate cake Torta de-chocolate was a bit sweet and dry.
Their creme brulee & tiramisu on the other hand is so creamy and delicious. Didn't feel pasty or sandy like some other places. Overall the food is worth going through the Bukit Bintang jam.

Note:
i was told that they're moving to Solaris Mont Kiara, i think somewhere around late March.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh food and kind staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

It wasn't busy this evening, which surprised me at christmas. The menu offered many choices of Greeq, Italian, Spanish and some other Mediterranean dishes. We had some tapas for starter. The olives were very fresh and well marinated, tzaziki and fried mushrooms were also excellent. The pasta had a good amount of sauce on it and the pizza was also nice. Only the lime juice I didn't really like, as it tasted a little to sweet for me as well as a bit salty (?)
But overall excellent, very fresh food and very nice staff! So, get in de street between Lot10 and Fahrenheit (between the parking decks) and look up.. Location is a little bit hard to notice but it's well worth going off the busy street for this nice restaurant!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moussandra also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Moussandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moussandra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.