We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great local food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madam Kwan's

Madam Kwan's
Lot 420/421 Level 4 Suria, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
03-22842297/8
Improve this listing
Ranked #280 of 2,518 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Malaysian, Family Fare
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Kuala Lumpur
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always great local food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The food here is is always reasonably priced, tasty and served promptly. Great place for local food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    137
    86
    30
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food at reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I've been a patron of MK's since they first opened way back. Regular dishes include the Nasi Bojari - which is a great combination of rice/chicken/beef rendang; and Nasi lemak is famous too. Western fare is nice too, the fish and chips is good, but has a little bit too much batter nowadays. I stick to the local dishes.

Recently tried the Salted fish fried rice - very nice too, with that very slight tinge of burnt-ness in the rice. It was a little bit TOO salty for my personal taste, but then again it IS salted fish.

While I can easily recommend the food, I do find that at various branches - Mid Valley, KLCC, Pavilion, 1Utama - the food tends to get cold quick because the ambient air-con is pretty cold. Maybe it's just me, but its usually pretty cold at every branch! So only way to get around this is to eat fast!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Nasi bojari was as usual very tasty and the portion was as generous as ever. Otak was very good as was the fish noodle soup. A must visit restaurant

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fast tasty Penang local cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We visited the Madam Kwan branch in KLCC Mall..and had the tastiest Prawn Mee (noodle) . THe Chinese Rojak was average only because there weren't enough crispy crunchy stuff in it.
the food came in 5 mins so we gobbled it happily. Price was reasonable for a KLCC mall offering .

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fast and Fabulous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Madam Kwans is in the Suria Shopping Complex under the Petronas Towers. Although it was extremely busy the night we went we only had to wait for 10 mins. for a table. The service was good and the food excellant. Seemed to be very popular with the locals so the food must be good.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madam Kwan's also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Madam Kwan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madam Kwan's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.