We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose this if you're in a budget!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brisdale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Brisdale to your Saves list
Brisdale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Jalan Haji Hussein | off Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman, Kuala Lumpur 50300, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #230 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Quezon City, Philippines
1 review
“Choose this if you're in a budget!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed there last Jul 21 to 24. We booked 2 family rooms and they complied with our request to have the rooms adjacent and near elevators. Our rooms are on the 14th flr, overlooking petronas and we're happy bec they are connecting roooms. However, the main light in one of our rooms, 1405, is not working. We called maintenance and they promptly went to our room but they said that they can't fix it. :((( So, we just used the bedside lights and the ones on near the restroom. The beds and pillows are comfortable but don't expect that it would be that soft. Aircon is fine.

Make sure to check if the towels they provided are clean because one of the towels they provided us have stains. :(((

Location- near Chow Kit station, about 5-10 mins walk. Lots of local food/cloth stalls.

Bring universal adapter bec they dont provide you one even if you'll use that for your tv. The receptionist during nightime is very accommodating unlike the ones scheduled during morning.

Stay here if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    62
    78
    38
    54
See reviews for
37
29
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Athlone, Ireland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The best thing about this hotel was the wonderful view we had of the Petronas Towers from the large picture window of our bedroom on the 16th floor. We stayed there for two nights to do some sightseeing in Kuala Lumpur before heading off to our beach resort on the Straits of Malacca. The hotel itself looks as if it has seen better days, but our room was clean. The location was conveniently close to the Chow Kit monorail station and the price fell within our budget range, which was why we chose it, but we would not want to stay there for more than a few days. It seemed to be within walking distance of the Petronas Towers, but when we tried to make our way there on foot, we found our route blocked by the motorway that cuts through the city. To our dismay, there were no pedestrian underpasses, so we had to take the underground to get to the towers, even though they were only one stop away. So be warned, the Hotel is in the old part of the city, on the 'wrong' side of the motorway! Another thing that annoyed us was the huge number of souvenir-sellers tents and hawker's stalls set up around the hotel, completely blocking the facade, so that we had great trouble finding it, as we arrived on foot, dragging our luggage from the monorail station & had to ask directions twice, even though the hotel was quite close by. In the end we had to approach it through a narrow alley way, through which motor cyclists raced at breakneck speed, taking our life in our hands. There are several Mosques nearby, so we were awakened each morning by the lengthy call to prayer. But for a short stay, it was worth it for the view!

Room Tip: Ask for one on the 16th floor, looking towards the Petronas Towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The photos of the hotel looked great, room, dinning area etc but getting there it was a surprise. The rooms are not maintained well and the services were not great. The bathroom looked as if it has not been cleaned, with mildew on the chalking. The chest knobs were falling apart, the shades broken. It is close to local food stalls so if you enjoy local food, this is a good spot to stay. Walking distance to banks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kluang, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

1- Near (100-200m) from LRT CHOWKIT to this hotel
2- Cheap foods nearby (Day and Night)
3- Walk within a minute to a branch of Bank Simpanan Nasional (BSN)
4- Night Market in front of the hotel.

5- Near to middle-low cost flat housing (Some people maybe unsuitable to go there)

*Based on my experience, from this start point to any destination within Golden Triangle (KLCC-KL Tower and Bukit Bintang), it was a great experience when walking from one spot to another because we can see a variety of human behaviour, culture and activities.
To those who are first time coming to this city, please look at your watch and public transport, especially LRT during peak-hours (as usual).... hoho~

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

It's not clean, found rat dropping in the bedding, the bath look as if it was never been cleaned from the first day it was installed. The room was filthy with dust, the only thing was done in the room while we stayed there was the bed. Its not worth any stars. The area it was in was not a safe or friendly. Not worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed three nights at 3 star Brisdale Hotel in Chow Kit and without breakfast served on the17th floor, the place is probably closer to two stars. It is old and everything is tired. But it could be much better with a bit of extra attention and elbow grease. Scuff marks on room walls would scrub off easy enough. Had to chase staff up to replenish coffee and milk satchels and supply a bathroom mat on arrival. Ran out of toilet paper and water bottles not always replaced (the same bathroom mat stayed for the three nights!) However, staff fixed these minor problems when asked promptly. Phone in room did not work, toilet cistern lid and seat were loose and air con dripped above ceiling. The "drip drip" sound soon disappeared. But still the Hotel is value for money paid and we felt safe - just don't expect more than its rating or more than u pay for.

As for location etc, other reviews cover it nicely, we found no decent eating places close by and traveled by monorail to Bukit Bintang which does not cost much. Market stalls are on streets around and in front of the Hotel and every night even more sprung up. Outside the hotel becomes busy with people, motorbikes and cars squeezing along skinny lanes. It was amazing and we filled in time checking out the stalls.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Exactly like what others said...the hotel was not maintain. The sink was badly clogged and it makes me uncomfortable to bathe. I went there with my family without reading the reviews and i really regret it. I was attracted with the cheap price and the photos which i'm sure has been photoshoped a lot. Anyway...thank god the indoor pool at level 17 is clean but too deep for kids (5ft and 4ft). Outside the hotel is chow kit street wich is really dirty and smelly. Well...i wont go the there anymore.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brisdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisdale

Address: 65 Jalan Haji Hussein | off Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman, Kuala Lumpur 50300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brisdale 3*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Brisdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisdale Kuala Lumpur
Brisdale Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brisdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.