We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strategic Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brisdale

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 10 more sites!
Brisdale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Jalan Haji Hussein | off Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman, Kuala Lumpur 50300, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #205 of 256 hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Kluang, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Strategic Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

1- Near (100-200m) from LRT CHOWKIT to this hotel
2- Cheap foods nearby (Day and Night)
3- Walk within a minute to a branch of Bank Simpanan Nasional (BSN)
4- Night Market in front of the hotel.

5- Near to middle-low cost flat housing (Some people maybe unsuitable to go there)

*Based on my experience, from this start point to any destination within Golden Triangle (KLCC-KL Tower and Bukit Bintang), it was a great experience when walking from one spot to another because we can see a variety of human behaviour, culture and activities.
To those who are first time coming to this city, please look at your watch and public transport, especially LRT during peak-hours (as usual).... hoho~

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    60
    76
    33
    50
See reviews for
29
27
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

It's not clean, found rat dropping in the bedding, the bath look as if it was never been cleaned from the first day it was installed. The room was filthy with dust, the only thing was done in the room while we stayed there was the bed. Its not worth any stars. The area it was in was not a safe or friendly. Not worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed three nights at 3 star Brisdale Hotel in Chow Kit and without breakfast served on the17th floor, the place is probably closer to two stars. It is old and everything is tired. But it could be much better with a bit of extra attention and elbow grease. Scuff marks on room walls would scrub off easy enough. Had to chase staff up to replenish coffee and milk satchels and supply a bathroom mat on arrival. Ran out of toilet paper and water bottles not always replaced (the same bathroom mat stayed for the three nights!) However, staff fixed these minor problems when asked promptly. Phone in room did not work, toilet cistern lid and seat were loose and air con dripped above ceiling. The "drip drip" sound soon disappeared. But still the Hotel is value for money paid and we felt safe - just don't expect more than its rating or more than u pay for.

As for location etc, other reviews cover it nicely, we found no decent eating places close by and traveled by monorail to Bukit Bintang which does not cost much. Market stalls are on streets around and in front of the Hotel and every night even more sprung up. Outside the hotel becomes busy with people, motorbikes and cars squeezing along skinny lanes. It was amazing and we filled in time checking out the stalls.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Exactly like what others said...the hotel was not maintain. The sink was badly clogged and it makes me uncomfortable to bathe. I went there with my family without reading the reviews and i really regret it. I was attracted with the cheap price and the photos which i'm sure has been photoshoped a lot. Anyway...thank god the indoor pool at level 17 is clean but too deep for kids (5ft and 4ft). Outside the hotel is chow kit street wich is really dirty and smelly. Well...i wont go the there anymore.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Generally, the hotel is not as bad as i had expected, despite the low ratings given by many others. Given the price we paid, the hotel was acceptable. Carpeted room, with mini fridge and reasonablly working CRT TV, and responsive staff.

However, a few points i would like to highlight is the following:
Rusty water kettle
Spoilt flushing system
Working air-con system, but do not expect solid cool condition
Window was protruded outward, and as a result, as early as 5am, we could hear the prayers extremely clearly. Be careful of this point if you are light sleeper. In fact, please choose other areas such as Bukit Bintang, Imbi or even Bukit Nanas if you are a light sleeper, coz in Chow Kit, you can almost hear the prayers in almost all the hotels here, unless you stay in Dynasty hotel or Grand Seasons hotel.

No breakfast will be served here, but there is an array of local delights just outside of the hotel.
Transportation wise, this hotel is located extremely near to the Chow Kit monorail station, around 150m away from it only.

Room Tip: Check for the windows, make sure they are all sealed. Get a high floor, if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Old hotel. You get what you pay for.

Hallways are dark. Toilet has not been maintained well. Phone is not working.

Location does not look that safe for a tourist.

Near a monorail station which is only the redeeming factor.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

By far the worst hotel I've ever stayed in.
The rooms and bathrooms were dirty, old and with lots of broken things. The A/C was so noisy to the point that we couldn't sleep with it ON.
The pictures on the website don't represent what the rooms are really like. We booked a non-smoking room and when we got there we were informed that there weren't any no non-smoking rooms in the hotel.
The hotel must have been good 20 years ago but one can see that no maintenance has taken place in this hotel for quite a long time.
Location is terrible with no shops or restaurants in the area.
This hotel is far from being a 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: Don't go this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brisdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisdale

Also Known As:
Brisdale Hotel
Brisdale Kuala Lumpur
Brisdale Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Address: 65 Jalan Haji Hussein | off Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman, Kuala Lumpur 50300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 256 hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brisdale 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Brisdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brisdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Brisdale to your Saves list