We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view from the window is the main thing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kuala Lumpur City Centre, Kuala Lumpur 50088, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast & WiFi!
Ranked #4 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“The view from the window is the main thing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I generally don't like staying at these huge hotels. But we picked this hotel because of the view - the Petronas Towers View that is. The rooms are nice - but just about what I would expect for a business class hotel.

Even better, the hotel is near Jalan alor and the most fantastic food market! We had amazing food and clearly the locals also approved as their weren't so many tourists in sight..

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of towers on a high-level floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,436
    1,544
    340
    109
    68
See reviews for
982
3,185
457
770
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,640)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of our honeymoon in April 2014. We upgraded to a suite and had a fantastic view of the towers. The club floor lounge was fantastic and we enjoyed it each night. Breakfast has a huge variety. Pool, spa and bar are very good. Close to lots of shopping. The service here was outstanding. So many staff. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a club floor room. Definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Close to Petronas Towers, shopping and restaurants.Walking distance to monorail. Very helpful staff Our room had view of towers and gardens. Room size quite adequate.Bathroom good size and facilities good. Sky Bar a must!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Love the Traders in KL - Have stayed many times and never had a bad experience.
The last time I was there my flights were all messed up and I arrived at around 7am. Obviously I wasn't expecting to check-in that early but since there was nothing open and pouring rain outside, I asked if there was anywhere I could wait. The staff got me a coffee and a newspaper from the restaurant while I sat in the lobby area. Within about 20 mins, they also had organised for me to go and wait in the Business Centre so I could work/email etc!
Another hour or so and they had organised a room for me!
Just a nice experience to see people go beyond the minimum.
Rooms are always nice here - But you have to get a tower view - Thats the whole reason to stay at Traders! Breakfast is awesome, staff are super helpful, and although its extremely well-known and popular now, the Sky Bar is still amazing.

Room Tip: Tower View is a MUST
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

2 weeks away on our way home, last night stayed at Traders Hotel & Loved It.
Room was lovely & quite with the most amazing view of the Towers Room # 2723.
The staff were very professional....Awesome location to the shopping centres.
Will definitly be staying here again.

Room Tip: Room # 2723 Awesome view of the Towers
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed at Traders for two nights in April 2013, at the start of our holiday in Malaysia. We arrived at the hotel at about 9am after our overnight flight, so were very weary. Check in was swift, and we were very lucky to have our room straightaway. We had booked a Deluxe Room and were asked if we would like to upgrade at check in but declined. The room and facilities were fine, comfortable bed, nice bathroom, etc. Breakfast was excellent and well organised, considering the number of people they were catering for. Tea/coffee was provided in a thermal flask as you sat down at your table, and eggs/toast ordered then as well and cooked to order. A first - honey on a honeycomb was on offer at breakfast!

We ate at the hotel on the two nights as well, as the buffet looked so good on the first night but we didn't have the appetite to do justice to it that night.

We had booked a table in the Sky Bar for one evening before we left the UK, and enjoyed the view of the Petronas Towers from there at sunset.. Can't say I was too impressed. Drinks were pricey, service was quite slow, it was hot because there was no air-con, and it was rather strange to be sitting having a drink in going out clothes, with people in swimming attire sitting in the next section and a swimming pool behind me! On the other night we watched the nightly water display at sunset in the mall, which was lovely.

The hotel is in a very good location, with a very pleasant walk through the adjacent park to get to the mall or transport stops. It was quite showery during our visit, and we found we could stay dry by walking from the mall to the hotel via the conference centre corridors next door.

A couple of tips for KL:
1). Petronas Towers is closed on Mondays. We visited Menara KL instead for the views, which is good.
2). There is a free bus called Go KL which is the hop-on hop-off type. It has two routes and stops near to all the sightseeing spots around the city. You can print out the routes from the Internet.
3). We found a lovely shopping mall called the Starhill Gallery, with shops, restaurants and bars over five or six floors. It was wonderful.

Would love to go back to KL again one day, and would definitely stay at Traders again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

My family and I had a delightful vacation at Traders. We loved our room (especially the Suite during the 2nd half of our stay that overlooked the Petronus Towers!). The access to the Club floor is great. We had many evenings enjoying the view. The Sky Bar was fun. Athletic facilities perfect and the people were wonderful and accommodating. If you are headed to downtown KL...STAY HERE!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur

Address: Kuala Lumpur City Centre, Kuala Lumpur 50088, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#2 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#5 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 571
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur is a contemporary city centre hotel that caters to smart business and leisure travellers. This hotel in Kuala Lumpur offers 571 stylishly appointed rooms and suites in the heart of the city, just opposite the Petronas Twin Towers. Guest Rooms: Traders Hotel Kuala Lumpur offers value accommodation with a range of amenities and facilities combined with an exceptional level of service that is distinct from other KL hotels. Traders Club: Traders Club rooms offer an enhanced level of service, comfort, and convenience for busy travellers, including a personal concierge. All rooms on the Traders Club floors are non-smoking and have exclusive access to the Traders Club Lounge on level 32. Suites: Suites at Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur offer spacious and luxurious accommodations. All suites offer a separate sitting area that is perfect for relaxed business meetings, and a choice of dramatic park or city views.All our guests enjoy complimentary WiFi broadband access throughout the hotel premises and in the hotel limousine during airport transfers. It's the freedom smart Travellers know at Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur. Restaurants: Traders Hotel Kuala Lumpur provides a fine selection of restaurants in Kuala Lumpur to satisfy your culinary requirements. Enjoy some of the city’s best steaks in intimate elegance at Gobo Upstairs Lounge & Grill on level 6. For more casual dining and popular entertainment, sample Western and Asian fare under an animated light show at the Gobo Chit Chat on level 5. Lounges & Bars: Enjoy the creative cocktail list at the Gobo Upstairs Lounge. A tourist attraction in its own right the famous SkyBar is a cosmopolitan open-air rooftop cocktail bar and a must for any visit to KL. Happy hour runs from 11am - 9pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Traders Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel Kl
Traders Kl

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.