We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traders Hotel - Do not trade the stay at this one for another hotel in KL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur

Save Saved
You added Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kuala Lumpur City Centre, Kuala Lumpur 50088, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE WiFi & Breakfast!
Ranked #3 of 261 hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Traders Hotel - Do not trade the stay at this one for another hotel in KL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Excellent
- View of PETRONAS
- In Room Dining
Menu
- Customer Service
- Cleanliness and maintenance
- Roof Top Bar

Hands down one of the best hotels in Malaysia and actually of all the hotel's I have visited worldwide.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Carlos D, General Manager at Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear ArunSingapore

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

I am most honoured to have you rank us as one of the best hotels worldwide. It is the versatility coupled with efficiency and practicality that we strive for and I am proud to say that we have succeeded in doing that for you.

Thank you once again for your feedback and I look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards

Juan Carlos Diago
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,793 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3,963
    1,360
    306
    100
    64
See reviews for
856
2862
396
666
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,418)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed at the Traders Hotel from 13-15 Februay, 2013, on a business trip. This hotel, in my view, would be classified as a 3 out of 5 for convenience, facilities etc. Location is in the centre of the city, with a free shuttle to the Twin Towers which were visible from the hotel. Staff were very polite, helpful and pleasant to deal with.

During my stay, the hotel appeared full of Asian holiday makers. They seemed to be swarming all over the place. Each morning after 8am, the coffee shop was full to overflowing, with long queues. As I had meetings to attend, I resorted to ordering room service - faster!

For the business traveller, Traders Hotel in KL may not be the best choice. Their facilities are too basic. Their offer of free internet is attractive. However, in my 2.5 day stay there, the internet connection hardly ever worked. At nights especially when I had to finalise reports, the conection was extremely poor. I became very frustrated and even called the hotel Service Desk, offering to pay if it led to better internet connection.

There are also no lounge/sitting areas areas anywhere in the hotel where you can meet with colleagues for a quiet talk. The only place we could find to meet was the tiniest lounge/bar on level 6 where the TV was blaring.

Overall, a somewhat disappointing experience for a business stay. For holiday makers, Traders Hotel should be fine as it does offer basic facilities, and free options such as the shuttle etc. However, for business travellers, I found the Traders Hotel not quite adequate.

Room Tip: The rooms at the Traders Hotel in KL are spacious and comfortable. The room also had good lighting f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed here in December 2012 for a 2 night stay as a stopover. Not sure whether it was luck but we got upgraded to a Tower view room. The view was picture postcard, especially at night! The room and bathroom were immaculate and spacious.

Staff were helpful. Breakfast was superb (definitely recommended) and the choice was amongst the best we'd experienced, particularly for me as I have a restricted diet.

Location is ideal, opposite the Petronas Towers. It's also a handy place to catch the Hop-on Hop-off bus (tip: if you fancy doing this, get up early as the bus gets very busy later in the day).

We were sad to leave as it would have been great place to have watched the New Years fireworks!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Carlos D, General Manager at Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Lesley P

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

New Year's Eve in Kuala Lumpur is definitely very special and the hotel takes full advantage of it with the fireworks bursting in front of you with the iconic Petronas Twin Towers behind. Perhaps you can usher in the new year with us this year to experience it for yourself. I am glad to know that our breakfast catered to your dietary requirements and that overall, you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards

Juan Carlos Diago
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

It lives up to all of the rave reviews! We had a club room for 3 days and found it to be excellent value for money. Great breakfast (and wonderful afternoon tea and cocktail hour snacks). Wonderful service. AMAZING VIEWS! We were very happy that we paid the extra for a room with Petronis Towers views.We spend time every day and night just sitting on the window sill and watching the spectacular view. You can even see the towers while lying in bed which fantastic to wake to. In-room supplies were ample and of high quality. Food and beverages were wonderful (even for a vegetarian like myself). You can eat and drink as healthily or as decadently as you like. They have health foods and delicious not so healthy treats to chose from :) They even have a chocolate fountain at breakfast! They have food options to suit many cultures and many dietary requirements. It is a wonderful hotel that is well deserving of the rave reviews that it gets.

Room Tip: It is well worth getting a club room with twin tower views. ...and a small breakfast tip: 9am seems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in a towerview club room.Fabulous view,amazing to look at especially at night.
Room was fine,but cleaning not up to scratch and on one day we actually came back after being out since 9am to find the room not cleaned at 5pm,not good at all for a 5 star hotel,also the furniture in the traders lounge is in need or refurbishment as i noticed lots of the chairs were stained and chipped and the carpet was also badly marked,petty i know but it is supposed to be 5 STAR.
Location was great,easy to get out and about and the concierge was very helpful.
All in all a good hotel but not fantastic.

Room Tip: you must book a tower room view !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Carlos D, General Manager at Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear jemLiverpool

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

I am glad to know that overall, you enjoyed your stay with us. I have noted your comment on our housekeeping efficiency and have brought this up with the team. As for the Traders Club Lounge, I will admit that we are starting to look our age. However, we are currently in a refurbishment stage where you will soon see our Traders Club Lounge sporting a new look and feel.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards

Juan Carlos Diago
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durgapur, West Bengal, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Nice rooms - superb breakfast - superb loacation - great staff - KLCC park - Aquaria - suria - go to passage thru india or bombay palace for indian food - good health club - efficient airport transfer - sky bar - gobo chit chat - gobo lounge and grill - all very good ...

Room Tip: choose twin tower view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Carlos D, General Manager at Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear ASHOKEJIGAL

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is most assuring to receive such endorsement as it proves that we are on the right track.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards

Juan Carlos Diago
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Clean, comfortable, well appointed spacious rooms. We appreciated the free upgrade to the Petronas Towers view room - simply stunning architecture to admire at different times of the day. The complementary shuttle to the Suria KLCC helped make this a really lazy weekend away. Strongly consider the Traders Club option. The breakfasts were satisfying, afternoon teas delicious and the cocktails overlooking KLCC and the towers difficult to miss. Definitely spend some time at the pool and Sky Bar - again those towers are impressive.
The spa however was very average. Looks lovely, but the therapist, i felt was 'half hearted' or distracted while doing her job.

Room Tip: We were on level 31 and the 'doof doof' music from the Sky Bar kept us away awake in the eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur

Address: Kuala Lumpur City Centre, Kuala Lumpur 50088, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#2 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#4 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur is a contemporary city centre hotel that caters to smart business and leisure travellers. This hotel in Kuala Lumpur offers 571 stylishly appointed rooms and suites in the heart of the city, just opposite the Petronas Twin Towers. Guest Rooms: Traders Hotel Kuala Lumpur offers value accommodation with a range of amenities and facilities combined with an exceptional level of service that is distinct from other KL hotels. Traders Club: Traders Club rooms offer an enhanced level of service, comfort, and convenience for busy travellers, including a personal concierge. All rooms on the Traders Club floors are non-smoking and have exclusive access to the Traders Club Lounge on level 32. Suites: Suites at Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur offer spacious and luxurious accommodations. All suites offer a separate sitting area that is perfect for relaxed business meetings, and a choice of dramatic park or city views.All our guests enjoy complimentary WiFi broadband access throughout the hotel premises and in the hotel limousine during airport transfers. It's the freedom smart Travellers know at Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur. Restaurants: Traders Hotel Kuala Lumpur provides a fine selection of restaurants in Kuala Lumpur to satisfy your culinary requirements. Enjoy some of the city’s best steaks in intimate elegance at Gobo Upstairs Lounge & Grill on level 6. For more casual dining and popular entertainment, sample Western and Asian fare under an animated light show at the Gobo Chit Chat on level 5. Lounges & Bars: Enjoy the creative cocktail list at the Gobo Upstairs Lounge. A tourist attraction in its own right the famous SkyBar is a cosmopolitan open-air rooftop cocktail bar and a must for any visit to KL. Happy hour runs from 11am - 9pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda, Jetsetter and getaroom.com so you can book your Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Traders Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel Kl
Traders Kl

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.