We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best nightly view bar in KL...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kuala Lumpur City Centre, Kuala Lumpur 50088, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Moscow
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“the best nightly view bar in KL...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

THE BEST indoor pool view , breakfast and night BAR in KL...
comfortable rooms...
direct shuttle services to towers....
little pricey compared to others....
but this is luxury....)))
very very helpful staff...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,450
    1,549
    341
    109
    68
See reviews for
990
3,191
457
772
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,642)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stopped off in KL on our way to Bali and we had a great 3 days staying at the Traders.
The hotel is ideally located - with fabulous views of the Petronas Towers. The hotel is part of the exhibition centre - and does have a big, business feel to it, but there was a mix of families, couples and business people there.

The food is great - huge breakfast buffets, the staff are incredibly helpful and its a good base to get around the city for the Towers, cultural trips, popping out to eat and just exploring.

it also has a fabulous bar / swimming pool on the top of the hotel with views of the Towers whilst you swam / drank cocktails and just relaxed.

it was the perfect base for us.

Room Tip: Make sure you are on the side with the views of the Petronas Towers.. amazing to wake up to, or to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thoona, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

From the moment we were collected from the airport in the hotel car, to the (very sad) moment we left, the experience of staying at this hotel exceeded our expectations. We had a Club Traders room with a tower view, which was well worth the upgrade. The bed was comfortable, cleaning standards very high and room well appointed. However, the staff made the difference - without exception every staff member we encountered in our 6 night stay were polite, helpful, friendly and attentive. There were a few 'lost in translation' issues when requesting out-of-the-ordinary assistance, but nothing that caused any concern. We loved the experience and would recommend Traders KL highly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed for two nights at Traders, and had a room on the 23rd floor with view to the Petronas Towers and park, AMAZING VIEW. The room was amazing, luxury pure after I came back from travelling through Vietnam. The bathroom is modern and clean, and the bed is comfier than my own one.

I went once up to the Skybar which is probably the coolest bar in KL. The view is amazing, the music is cool (different type it depends on the day). The drinks are more in the pricer side, but it's worth it. The stuff is a bit slow (even the bar is not full) but friendly. I realised that in KL you have to wait alot, they are not the most efficient people, which surprised me in such a business city.

I had once the breakfast, was not included in my room booking, but the breakfast offers you everything, its like breakfast, lunch and dinner together. From croissant, omlettes (made to order), cheese, cold meat, Malaysian dishes, hash browns, freshly pressed juices, fried rice, fruits, muesli, cornflakes, different bread....and the list goes on. The coffee is wonderful and the service there is efficient and friendly. I really enjoyed it.

The only two complaints I have is the check-in and check-out, it takes far too long. 3 counters and high tech check in, but it takes them ages to put all the information in. There was a large queue while checking out....it took at least 10 to 15 minutes for each person which is far too long. A check-out should be done in a couple of minutes. The other downside was, that I ordered a hotel taxi to bring me to the airport and I was told that it costs me 130, but in the end I had to pay on meter which was then over 160.......well.....but hey.

Its definately worth and the location is perfect, and if you want the view....go there. Its amazing. The Petronas towers are magical in the night, especially from the room hotel window.

I would definately go back there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We arrived early morning at the hotel and stayed at the Club Lounge while waiting for our rooms. All the staff were attentive, friendly and helpful - excellent service! The rooms were clean and the view was amazing! My kids enjoyed the swimming pool at the Sky Bar. The hotel had a free buggy service going to KLCC, and the drivers were nice and courteous. The location of the hotel was so convenient for shopping and dining. We really enjoyed our 3-day stay. Will definitely check in to this hotel again in the future!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Carlos D, General Manager at Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear BinLim

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Guest loyalty is a key driver of our business and your observations are most encouraging and an endorsement that we are on the right track.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards

Juan Carlos Diago
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

There are a lot of 'faded glory' type 5 star hotels in KL with beautiful lobbies but disappointing rooms, but the Traders is definitely not one of them. This hotel actually earns all of its 5 stars and unlike a lot of the others, it doesn't seem like they just do the minimum to keep that rating.

The rooms are beautiful, squeaky clean and super comfortable, with every amenity you could possibly wish for and more. The bathrooms were particularly gorgeous--this is the first time a hotel bath tub has actually enticed me enough to take a bath in it (bath salts and lollipop included, ha), and the shower was also lovely--but the water gets so hot I almost burned myself a couple times. We had a room facing the Petronas towers and the view was absolutely incredible. Not only the full unobstructed view of the towers, but also the rare peacefulness (in a town dominated by huge roads full of constant noisy traffic) of the park in between the towers/Suria KLCC and the hotel, with its dancing lit up fountains, running tracks, tree-lined paths, etc. This park was also a welcome change to be able to walk out into, again compared to the traffic and chaos one usually experiences the minute they leave a hotel in KL. On the 28th floor it was exquisite silence in our room at night (again, VERY rare here). The service was also very friendly and helpful.

There is also a raised (covered, and air conditioned!) walkway from the convention center (connected to the hotel) to Bukit Bintang--it's about a 10 minute walk and a great help to not have to battle the huge streets with unreliable crossings or taxi drivers trying to rip you off (with the walkway it's much faster to walk than to get stuck in traffic anyway). Just head through the convention center down to the end by the Aquarium and you can enter the walkway from there--there are several 'exits' to different areas along the way.

We just stayed one night at the Traders as our final splurge at the end of our trip, but wish it were more. It is expensive (for Malaysia) yes, but the deal we got was fairly good, and compared to some of the other '5 star' places we stayed, it was definitely worth the little bit extra. And compared to luxury hotels in Europe, Australia, or the US, it's actually a pretty good deal and a chance for us mere mortals to experience some real luxury without spending our life savings.

Room Tip: The tower view rooms are absolutely worth it, and they also face the park and so are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORWICH
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights. Our room faced the Towers (1311). Check in was a breezer but it took forever for our luggage to arrive to our room. If we stay there again we will take up out own luggage.

Room was nice and spacious - although we felt sime of the furnishings were a little tired. There was a small tear in the wallpaper near the sofa and the surfaces were badly scratched.

One bug bear for the ladies I think - hair dryer in drawer and no mirror!!!! Why do they design rooms like this???

Bathroom decent size also - but again little TLC needed in here I feel

Breakfast - well what a feast. There were so many options to chose from. Well impressive we felt.

There was free WI FI however other half was continualy moaning it was not that good.

Location is good - Pavilion Shopping Centre/Bukit Bintang area through the aircon walkway, and a buggy service to and from KLCC.

Very nice view from the rooftop bar - although we did not drink in there as the racket from the building works was to noisy..

Would recommend Traders to others, but I am sure there are cheaper options our there offering similar services but without the stunning viiew..

Staff we felt were very helpful on front desk.

Also we had a couple of maintenance issure which were sorted very quickly. 1) blown light 2) TV remote not working.

We personaly felt the hotel was VFM compared to the room prices at the Mandarin (athough I am sure this was a lovely hotel). Would we stay there again - yes.

Room Tip: Drinks rather pricey in the Sky Bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur

Address: Kuala Lumpur City Centre, Kuala Lumpur 50088, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#2 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#5 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 571
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur is a contemporary city centre hotel that caters to smart business and leisure travellers. This hotel in Kuala Lumpur offers 571 stylishly appointed rooms and suites in the heart of the city, just opposite the Petronas Twin Towers. Guest Rooms: Traders Hotel Kuala Lumpur offers value accommodation with a range of amenities and facilities combined with an exceptional level of service that is distinct from other KL hotels. Traders Club: Traders Club rooms offer an enhanced level of service, comfort, and convenience for busy travellers, including a personal concierge. All rooms on the Traders Club floors are non-smoking and have exclusive access to the Traders Club Lounge on level 32. Suites: Suites at Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur offer spacious and luxurious accommodations. All suites offer a separate sitting area that is perfect for relaxed business meetings, and a choice of dramatic park or city views.All our guests enjoy complimentary WiFi broadband access throughout the hotel premises and in the hotel limousine during airport transfers. It's the freedom smart Travellers know at Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur. Restaurants: Traders Hotel Kuala Lumpur provides a fine selection of restaurants in Kuala Lumpur to satisfy your culinary requirements. Enjoy some of the city’s best steaks in intimate elegance at Gobo Upstairs Lounge & Grill on level 6. For more casual dining and popular entertainment, sample Western and Asian fare under an animated light show at the Gobo Chit Chat on level 5. Lounges & Bars: Enjoy the creative cocktail list at the Gobo Upstairs Lounge. A tourist attraction in its own right the famous SkyBar is a cosmopolitan open-air rooftop cocktail bar and a must for any visit to KL. Happy hour runs from 11am - 9pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Traders Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel Kl
Traders Kl

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.