We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my kind of hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cititel Express

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cititel Express to your Saves list
Cititel Express
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 449, Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman, Kuala Lumpur 50100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #176 of 278 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not my kind of hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I did not expect that this hotel would limit their clients the way we felt.
First, it is far from the areas of good interest. Second, For a country which boasts of so much development I was expecting that there will be good amenities in the hotel. But to my dismay, there is no free wifi access in the hotel room which I believe is very important! Third, I did not like the breakfast as much as i did with the other hotels that I have been to.
The only saving grace that this hotel has is that it has a good view of the Petronas towers. But don't look down outside your window because it looks so depressing outside!
Over all, if you are in business, don't book in this hotel.

Room Tip: far from places of interest like for shoppers; no wifi inside room;
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEKL, Manager at Cititel Express, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear value customer

thank you for your comment in trip advisor

Firstly for your comment on the free internet the management in the mean of upgrading the system and in future the will be free internet.
Secondly our chef also in the process of coming out new menu for the breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    77
    74
    15
    17
See reviews for
41
35
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I have just composed rather long story about that Hotel.
It was so negative > I deleted it.
I need to think twice before saying bad things about any place.
Therefore NO comments and no recommendations.
Going to think for a while, but basically Cititel Express is not that good.
I rather say nothing than something negative ...
Feel free to contact me for more info.
It is NOT BAD, but I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: I am not sure how it works, but I had to upgrade my room to so called 'Superior'. That too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 4D&3N.

Pros:
-near Chow Kit Station (convenient to go Bukit Bintang, Berjaya Timesquare)
-you can walk to SOGO, MYDIN and other little shops along the road (you can take any bus too, it's just RM1)

Cons:
-the staff at the FRONT DESK/RECEPTION, they are not 'welcoming' at all. Never smile, as if she was forced to work. We, as guests, were the one who had to GREET THEM. Not asking for much, just a simple good morning & smile, but she can't even do that. For all 4 days, no difference. (busy playing with her mobile phone)

Really poor service (surprisingly, the staff at the cafe was more friendly)

-NO FREE WI-FI (charged RM20 or smth like that per day, if you want wifi in your room)

-for a 3 star hotel, i think a 2 star hotel which i ever stayed, has way way way better customer service than CITITEL EXPRESS.

-Leaking pipe, had problem while flushing the toilet bowl.

-breakfast menu was the SAME everyday. On my last day of stay, we had breakfast outside. Sick of the same exact thing. Drinks was not replenished on the dispenser.

-location wise, the hotel is surrounded with the popular chow kit night market, we were very uncomfortable with the surroundings. Ladies, pls travel with a guy at least if you wanna stay at this hotel. (Just saying)

Conclusion?

Will never choose this hotel again (a 2 star hotel has better service, after experience)

Please improve on your customer service, SMILE & greet, very simple right?

Thanks.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEKL, Manager at Cititel Express, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear value customer

We will take note on the services at the front desk .
For the internet we are in the mean of upgrading the system to provide complimentary wi-fi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a quad room.. Room 0714. First impression was good for the price we paid. No complaints. Upon further checking, realised yellow brownish stains in the toilet And remnants ts of brown "things" spotted outsidr the bowl!

Switched on the shower, water leaked everywhere. Toilet bowl, had some minor problem. 24/7 the you can hear those flushing sound.

At night, applied for wifi service for RM25. We stayed at a quad room, therefore we tried to login to wifi, but only ONE device is allower per room.

Checked with counter service, checking if we can have all of our four devices be allowed to login. Nonchalantly, he just brushed off saying just pay for four devices!

Furthermore the speed is sooo damn slow in the room. At the corridor its faster.

So if any of you wants to apply the wifi for good, multiple devices connection, please don't waste your time & money on it..


Some good note is that, its quite near monorail for good access.

I have never had such bad experience staying in a hotel, & this is my very first review. Bad service and bad attitude, & top with bad room..

Bad bad..

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEKL, Manager at Cititel Express, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Value guest

Thank you for taking time in writing your experience in tripadvisor
Management will take your comment seriously. By the way or internet for 24hrs on at RM20.00nett. and we are in process to provide complimentary internet usages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Went for a student conference in UTAR and this was one of the accommodation options mentioned on the conference website. We were on a tight budget and the hotel was within our affordability range. We chose the standard express room (the cheapest). Arriving at 2:30 in the morning check in was hassle free but no one to carry our luggage. Have seen other reviews complaining about the location but being close to the chow kit monorail meant getting around KL was hassle free once we figured out the transport system. Breakfast spread was good and even a veggie like me had enough options. The front desk helped us in the morning by giving us directions and a map of KL to get around. Room had a small TV with 10-12 channels and a good, clean bathroom. Water purifier was there just outside the room. Room did not have a window which was disappointing. Housekeeping was decent. Hotel also had a spa. The restaurant seemed to close early at night as we arrived late on all the days and never found it open.We left around 2am in the morning to catch a flight around 6 and hotel guys did not help us out with our luggage or by hiring a taxi. Overall, an average stay. If on a tight budget, go for it. Dont expect any good service. Expect a minimal room and facilities.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a window. The standard express does not have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEKL, Manager at Cititel Express, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear value customer

Thank you for taking time in tripadvisor .

Firstly we do not have bell boy service for 24 hours.For the breakfast we have add add a vegt counter for year 2013.Lastly we have a varieties of room range from Standard non window to Deluxe Quad that can fit in 4-5pax in the room.As for our coffee house the operation hrs from 07:00hrs till 21:00hrs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We reached hotel by 8 45 pm .location dint seem very good. There was no help to take our luggage and by the time we were done checking in, the restaurant had closed down at 9 pm. So we did not get dinner and finding a vegetarian restaurant nearby was difficult. Room was average but had excellent view of the Petrona towers.Overall an average place.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEKL, Manager at Cititel Express, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Value customer

Thank you for taking time writing your comment in tripadvisor

Firstly we would apologize on the no bell boy service during you arrival.

Due to the low season management have decided to change the coffee house time to 9pm.Management will consider extending the operation hours should there be more respond for late dinner or request for dinner during your reservation made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JB
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Pros: A good hotel, nice location. It has nice and clean room with comfortable toilet. Nice breakfast but the restaurant is too small and overcrowded. Check-in & Check-out was very swift.

Cons: Dirty mugs. Smell from the neighbouring wet market, overcrowded lifts especially in the morning, you have to wait for quite long to use the lift.

Room Tip: Ask for higher level room as the surrounding could be quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEKL, Manager at Cititel Express, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Value guest

Thank you for taking time to comment in tripadvisor.
We value your comment and will find ways to inprove.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cititel Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cititel Express

Address: No. 449, Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman, Kuala Lumpur 50100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 278 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cititel Express 3*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simplicity at its best, Cititel Express Kuala Lumpur is strategically located in the "old-world" charm of Kuala Lumpur along the scenic and quaintessence of Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman. Offering 244 guestrooms with 6 room types to choose; Cititel Express Kuala Lumpur provides all our guestrooms with essential room amenities at a great value. Within the 10-minute radius of the commercial districts, financial institutions, government offices, local eateries, entertainment areas, international exhibition centres, as well as major tourist sites; it is also conveniently located along the ring of public transportation. Our own restaurant (The Terrace) which opens daily serving local varieties as well as western cuisine offers our guests the best view on the daily lives of the people along Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman. Our Nasi Lemak (rice cooked with coconut milk) which served along with hot & spicy sambal plus other condiments is our best local signature dish. Try out our other local dishes such as Nasi Goreng (Fried Rice), Mee Goreng Mamak (Fried Noodles) or any other dishes that are simply mouthwatering. Cititel Express Kuala Lumpur - Smart, Clean, Simple a hotel that promise to deliver our guests a refreshingly simple yet clean and comfortable accommodation which one would agree to say : GREAT VALUE BOOK NOW. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cititel Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cititel Express Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cititel Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.