We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and Accurate TA reviews” 4 of 5 stars
Review of PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Special Offers
Ranked #27 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Haikou, China
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Location and Accurate TA reviews”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed at this hotel after checking TA and previous guests reviews. I would say the reviews were very accurate and our experience was good.

The Hotel location is good and easy access to shopping malls, transportation links etc.

We used the Orchid Lounge, which in principal was good, but the food offering was below standards with very little variety and many times even this was empty. Breakfast is very limited.

The bedrooms were of good standards, but we had a room located at the front which is directly over the main road and was very noisy during the night. We left the air con on to hide the noise. This room would not be suitable for a light sleeper and you must request a different room.

The pool area is a let down compared to the rest of the hotel (tired and needs to tidy up).

We used the main restaurant and our initial service received was poor and rude. This was quickly recovered by the Restaurant Manager when he was informed that we were not happy.

Taxis - Be warned even the Orchid Lounge staff booked me a local taxi and did not tell me. They are local taxis that are poor quality and no aircon etc. The Hotel staff should only book Blue Taxis for airport trips etc. When I read this on a previous review and went and questioned the staff and stated that their GM even has mentioend this - They looked very suspicious and quickly changed the taxi ? My advice - just be careful. Make sure you get the taxi what you want, not what they want.

Overall - I was very happy with our choice. Both from previous TA reviews and the hotel actual experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    880
    239
    83
    33
See reviews for
534
727
137
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We have stayed here on several occasions in an Orchid Club Room. The rooms are starting to look a little tired but were still very good. The window in our room did not close properly so the traffic noise was extremely loud which we do not remember noticing on previous visits. Obviously it is a large city and traffic noise is inevitable but due to the fact the window was partially open it made it a little noisy. The facilities in the club lounge seem to have deteriorated in the last 12 months. It is definitely not the same since Dev's departure. The service was a little lacking (at breakfast and evening drinks). I think the club rooms should be located on the higher floors. We first stayed here 20 years ago and were on one of the top floors and the views were great. Would stay here again despite the fact the standard seems to have dropped slightly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

On a previous visit to this hotel we had stayed in a Club room on the 21st floor and really enjoyed the whole experience. Not so on our second visit. The club room has now been relocated to 6th floor, and the club guest rooms relocated to floor 3-5. So now you pay more money for the privilege of club facilities and get a room on a lower floor with no benefit of a decent view or less street noise.
On top of this we booked for two separate stays, a single night and later four nights. On the first visit (we had paid for this all months in advance) we were told there was no club room available and was given a double room elsewhere in the hotel. After assurances that we would be right next time, you can imagine our anger at being told the rooms were again all booked and we were given a room on a club "Smoking floor". We dug our heels in and were finally given what we paid for, a club room on a "non smoking floor".
After waiting 1/2 hour for our luggage to arrive in our room we ended up going down and getting it ourselves.
Compared to other club room facilities we had enjoyed during our trip, we were further disappointed to find that the club room here did not compare well, and was certainly not at the standard we had experienced the first time we stayed here.
All in all it was a great disappointment, and no, we would not stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: The bathrooms are glassed on two sides, and the blinds when lowered do not cover the glass and so th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMoganasundram, Manager at PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor and for choosing to stay at PARKROYAL, Your Trusted Local Companion, during your visit to Kuala Lumpur. Your feedback is of great assistance in the improvement.

Your experience is of great concern to us and we deeply regret that the aspects of our product did not reflect the quality we strive for. We sincerely apologize for all that transpired during the course of your stay especially pertaining to the cleanliness standards and lack of maintenance in our rooms, as well as the inability of not having been able to deliver our promise on your room preferences.

After having read your review, we feel terrible about your experience and we can relate to your disappointment and unpleasant experience. In all honestly, our people are our greatest assets, but this time round, we failed at your expense. The human element of our industry is a very powerful element, and it is sad that all those who came in contact with you failed to see what impact their less than favorable actions, attitude and responses had on you. Most importantly, our “heartware” was unable to make up for the defective “hardware” you received.

Before the Orchid Lounge and rooms were relocated, the space which was part of the President House next door to us, was being used as retail space, and as demand for Hotel rooms was high, the retail space was then converted into 78 rooms and a lounge. As they were obviously new and renovated, we had to rebrand them as our premium category. There was also a need to have an open lounge area, which we were able to do with the space on the 6th floor. This was the reason why teh Orchid Wing rooms were relocated to the lower floors. However, we also have Suites on the Tower Wing which we sell inlcusive of the Orchid Club Benefits catering for guests who prefer to reside on the higher floors.

I hope that we may one day be able to welcome you back to the PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur in an effort to regain our much valued reputation. Please don’t hesitate to let me know if I can assist in any way, or answer any further questions you may have, and I look forward to a response at your earliest convenience.

Thank you

Sharmini Moganasundram - Hotel Manager
sharmini@parkroyalhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Guest Services Managers (Ms Josie Paul + Mr Ashiman), Assistant Front Office Manager (Mr Mike Choo) and Don (Restaurant Manager) were all very responsive (to guests' needs), courteous and responsible (follow-up).

The hotel General Manager (Mr LLoyd Daser) was another good "customer service" example. He called me twice, and also e-mailed me, to follow-up with me after I e-mailed him to compliment his exemplary staff. He even took some time to meet me personally to say "Thank you !".

Parkroyal Kuala Lumpur is my favourite hotel at Kuala Lumpur now ....... with the professional management staff, hotel ambience, relaxing garden-style swimming pool and comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed in the deluxe room and not only was the room spacious, it came with a King size bed. We were given a high floor and was able to have an unobstructed view of the city. Although it wasn't facing any specific landmarks, we appreciated that we were not facing any tall building. The breakfast was the highlight of the stay! It has several local cuisines freshly made on the spot, e.g. roti john, teh tarik etc. The spread was marvelous and one would be satisfied with the selection. The hotel is also located within walking distance of the monorail. Bukit Bintang is also within walking distance (5mins).

Room Tip: Stay in a deluxe room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

This being our first international holiday, we could not be more happier to choosing ParkRoyal as our hotel.
We were given a room in the highest floor possible and very greatful they listened to our requests.
Helpful and friendly staff who were always around to help your when needed.

Located smack middle of two plazas and right next to the Bukit Bintang monorail, you could not ask to stay anywhere else.

Overall a great hotel and will stay again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We recently stayed for 5 days in the ParkRoyal in KL. We chose this hotel based on the location and the reviews on Tripadvisor.

We travelled as a family of 5, with 2 double-double de-luxe rooms with an interconnecting door.
The rooms were practical. large and immaculate. Everything worked as it should, high quality stuff!

With regards to the amenities:
- Travelling with 2 young children, we used the pool area extensively, which is a nice big pool with plenty of seating around.
- The hotel operates a shuttle to KLCC if you don't want to walk/take a taxi.
- The breakfast at the ParkRoyal is epic. There is nothing that isn't there, it is HUGE. I have stayed in many hotels, but this ranks among the best I have seen.

Obviously, the location is the real attraction to this place, it is adjacent to Bukit Bintang Monorail, and accross the road from all malls, Jalan Alor etc.

All in all a brilliant stay. What's more, by booking well in advance we got a room for 230 MYR a night (excl breakfast), which is absolute super value.

Well done to ParkRoyal

Room Tip: deluxe double-doubles are good value for money and sleep 4 comfortably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur

Address: Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#20 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#21 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#23 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#28 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur 4.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star hotel managed by Pan Pacific Hotels Group, is centrally located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's prime business, shopping and entertainment districts. It is only 45 minutes from Kuala Lumpur International Airport and mere minutes from the Kuala Lumpur City Centre (KLCC). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkroyal Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Parkroyal Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Parkroyal Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.