We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ascott Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Ascott Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
Ascott Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No 9 Jalan Pinang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

It is at the heart of the KL. Nice view to Petronas. Even 1 bedroom apartments are really huge about 75 sq.mt. Also, breakfast is served. I strongly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    176
    34
    8
    8
See reviews for
219
40
19
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

The Ascott KL more than met our expectations for our recent family vacation. The staff made every effort to help us feel welcomed & showed thoughtful attention to fine detail. Pampering their guests with L'Occitane toiletries was the icing on the cake. The park is across the road-with a playground and water area for kids & a 1.8km jogging track. KLCC is within a 1km walk while Pavillion perhaps less than 2km. Walkable even with children & shopping. Would certainly highly commend the staff and management & recommend this place highly.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hout Bay, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

I feel like I hit the jackpot with this one. Having two children aged 14 and 11, we almost always have to book two rooms when staying in a hotel - this can workout very expensive. With the Ramadan special at the Ascott, I managed to book a two-bedroom executive apartment at a third of the price that I would have paid to stay in a hotel in the same location. As luck would have it, we were upgraded to a two-bedroom premier apartment at no extra cost and had the most spectacular view of the Petronas Towers. I cannot say enough good things about the Ascott - the staff are friendly and very helpful, the apartment was huge and the furnishings tasteful and comfortable. We had dinner in the Sky Lounge on 3 nights and we thoroughly enjoyed it - all the staff are pleasant and eager to please. Breakfast is also served in the Sky Lounge and was more than adequate. The location of the Ascott is also just perfect - within walking distance of the Petronas Towers, and KLCC park. If I had a choice - I wouldn't stay anywhere else in KL!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

Very professional hotel serviced by well-trained personnel. Nice place to have a drink and watch the KL skyline. Although we did not use it, the rooms come with well equipped kitchen.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyderabad
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

when booking make sure u select citibank world privilege offer from ascott website - it is usually the lowest available rate or their holiday promotion rates - i have stayed many times and even if u take up citibank or kris flyer offer they dont ask u anything connected with the cards. better than the normal rooms at pnb darby park apartments. however do not take any rooms underneath or directly above the swimming pool as it is noisy. amenities are good and so are the views. definitely excellent if you want to cook on your own and also get 4.5 star facilities. breakfast is average - organisation not so lavish but adequate. pool is small but spa is good. interiors of the apartment are quite good and comfortable. plus internet access is free.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

The ascott is a service apt hotel and lives up to that reputation.It is well located in KL & getting around is easy.The rooms are well appointed.We ( self+ spouse+ 2 kids under 10 yrs) stayed a 1 bed room apt.They cuurently have their anniversary celebrations on & therefore we could get a good deal from their website.The pool is on the 22nd floor and a relaxing environment.The resturant/lounge is on the 22nd floor as well but could be better organised to cater to families as well.
The bell captains are very helpful in helping you get around the city.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

As my title suggests, the Ascott Residences in KL had little to offer for charging too much. We booked a 2 br apartment for 5 people which included a married, pregnant couple. Because my friend was 6 mos pregnant, we were very specific in asking for a non-smoking floor. Upon our arrival at around 12mn, we were led into a suite on the 6th floor, a smoking floor. So, despite being tired from the trip, we still could not relax yet. In fairness to them, they immediately got us the same suite on a different floor (it only took us around 15 minutes). This time, it was non-smoking.

When we got inside, the amenities, like towels, sets of toiletries, water, pillows and blanket were only for 4 people. We had to ask again for another set for the 5th person. i thought that the first time we reminded them that there were 5 people in that apartment (hence the extra bfast, bed, etc.) we no longer needed to remind them to give us everything else again for 5 people. Sadly, we still had to. Every end of the day, one of us had to call the housekeeping again to remind them to give us another set of towels, extra toiletries, etc etc. we did this everyday of our 4 night stay. This was not true for the bedroom slippers though. They only had 2pairs of slippers for us 5. So we had to again ask for the rest of it, and they gave us an additional of ... 2! One of us just settled in walking barefoot.

this is disappointing since we were paying for 5 people our whole stay. it was bad enough that the 5th person had a hospital cot for a bed, it was even worse that he got treated like a non-paying customer. and he paid as much as the next person. it was also not a matter of not being able to get access to these things, because, they immediately gave them anyway. but the hassle of just asking for it over and over again is really exasperating. it came to a point when one of us just had to settle for the unused hand towels since there was no bath towel available for her.

another problem was the internet connection. the reservations said the internet was free (broadband and wi-fi). it was. but, it took us 2 days to sort out our connection to their internet. First we supposedly had two options but since the wi-fi signal was very weak inside our apartment, we had to connect by line. Ascott had a tech support staff that was very friendly but the problem was really the facility itself, it took us 36 hours to figure out why we couldn't connect by broadband. On the day we got it sorted out by phone, the tech guy was apologizing over and over for the inconvenience.

the last problem i had with Ascott is the breakfast. Do not expect a full breakfast spread. I was not expecting a spread as extensive as Cafe Deco's in Venetian Macau but i didnt expect it to be as simple as the spread in Holiday inn Express. It was very basic (4 kinds cereals, 4 kinds of fruits and juices, omelet bar, soup, 4 dishes like beans, noodles, hash browns, bacon, bread and 2 kinds pastries).

On the plus side, the service itself was great, the staff were willing to help all the time (including in the internet episode). The location is just a few meters away from Petronas Towers and the KLCC. Some rooms (not ours) have a great view of the twin towers and one should specifically ask for that (breathtaking at night). However, this also means there is no MRT line near the area so guests have to get taxis, which do not use their meters whenever their customers are tourists (we always got charged 10MYR for a cab ride that cost us 4.20MYR).

Overall, do not expect perfect service for the very expensive price that you pay for. the apartments are very clean but this can also be said about the next 5 star hotel. Ascott has big spacious apartments, fully equipped with household appliances and facilities. This may be perfect for families with kids. But for a group of friends who just want a clean place to stay in and a nice bed to sleep on, this may be too much.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ascott Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascott Kuala Lumpur

Address: No 9 Jalan Pinang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#11 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#12 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#26 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ascott Kuala Lumpur 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of town and a stroll away from the world famous Petronas Twin Towers, Ascott Kuala Lumpur enjoys a prestigious address. The Suria KLCC Shopping Mall, ritzy restaurants and chic cafes are right at your doorstep. Let us lavish you with impeccable service and a suite of the finest facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ascott Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascott Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ascott Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Ascott Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ascott Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.