We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“little for much” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ascott Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Ascott Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
Ascott Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No 9 Jalan Pinang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Makati City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“little for much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

As my title suggests, the Ascott Residences in KL had little to offer for charging too much. We booked a 2 br apartment for 5 people which included a married, pregnant couple. Because my friend was 6 mos pregnant, we were very specific in asking for a non-smoking floor. Upon our arrival at around 12mn, we were led into a suite on the 6th floor, a smoking floor. So, despite being tired from the trip, we still could not relax yet. In fairness to them, they immediately got us the same suite on a different floor (it only took us around 15 minutes). This time, it was non-smoking.

When we got inside, the amenities, like towels, sets of toiletries, water, pillows and blanket were only for 4 people. We had to ask again for another set for the 5th person. i thought that the first time we reminded them that there were 5 people in that apartment (hence the extra bfast, bed, etc.) we no longer needed to remind them to give us everything else again for 5 people. Sadly, we still had to. Every end of the day, one of us had to call the housekeeping again to remind them to give us another set of towels, extra toiletries, etc etc. we did this everyday of our 4 night stay. This was not true for the bedroom slippers though. They only had 2pairs of slippers for us 5. So we had to again ask for the rest of it, and they gave us an additional of ... 2! One of us just settled in walking barefoot.

this is disappointing since we were paying for 5 people our whole stay. it was bad enough that the 5th person had a hospital cot for a bed, it was even worse that he got treated like a non-paying customer. and he paid as much as the next person. it was also not a matter of not being able to get access to these things, because, they immediately gave them anyway. but the hassle of just asking for it over and over again is really exasperating. it came to a point when one of us just had to settle for the unused hand towels since there was no bath towel available for her.

another problem was the internet connection. the reservations said the internet was free (broadband and wi-fi). it was. but, it took us 2 days to sort out our connection to their internet. First we supposedly had two options but since the wi-fi signal was very weak inside our apartment, we had to connect by line. Ascott had a tech support staff that was very friendly but the problem was really the facility itself, it took us 36 hours to figure out why we couldn't connect by broadband. On the day we got it sorted out by phone, the tech guy was apologizing over and over for the inconvenience.

the last problem i had with Ascott is the breakfast. Do not expect a full breakfast spread. I was not expecting a spread as extensive as Cafe Deco's in Venetian Macau but i didnt expect it to be as simple as the spread in Holiday inn Express. It was very basic (4 kinds cereals, 4 kinds of fruits and juices, omelet bar, soup, 4 dishes like beans, noodles, hash browns, bacon, bread and 2 kinds pastries).

On the plus side, the service itself was great, the staff were willing to help all the time (including in the internet episode). The location is just a few meters away from Petronas Towers and the KLCC. Some rooms (not ours) have a great view of the twin towers and one should specifically ask for that (breathtaking at night). However, this also means there is no MRT line near the area so guests have to get taxis, which do not use their meters whenever their customers are tourists (we always got charged 10MYR for a cab ride that cost us 4.20MYR).

Overall, do not expect perfect service for the very expensive price that you pay for. the apartments are very clean but this can also be said about the next 5 star hotel. Ascott has big spacious apartments, fully equipped with household appliances and facilities. This may be perfect for families with kids. But for a group of friends who just want a clean place to stay in and a nice bed to sleep on, this may be too much.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    176
    34
    8
    8
See reviews for
219
40
19
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

We booked their 1-bedroom deluxe apartment for a night and found the checking-in quite fast, considering we arrived early at 10 am. The sheer size of the apartment was quite overwhelming since there were only my wife and I, with our 2 year old toddler in tow. Our earlier requests for a non-smoking high floor with baby cot were catered to upon arrival.

Amenities include a fully-equipped kitchen, dining and living areas, bedroom with study table and book shelves, walk-in wardrobe and a bathroom supplied with L'Occitane toiletries. Televisions provided in the living area and bedroom are the CRT types housed in armoires, not the wall-mounted Plasma or LCD ones. A home theatre system is provided though, to play DVDs, CDs, video and cassette tapes. Needless to say, everything one could need is provided.

The buffet breakfast selection at the 22nd floor Sky Lounge was quite limited but sufficient for us. The main swimming pool and infinity whirpool nearby are nice places to chill with great views of Kuala Lumpur cityscapes, especially at night.

Overall, The Ascott Kuala Lumpur is a great place to stay, preferably more than a night. Most of their staff are welcoming, except for one female staff at the reception who could do with a smile or two.

We will definitely return on future visits to Kuala Lumpur.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

We stayed here for 1 night in April, originally booked for 6 nights. We were upgraded to a 1 Br Executive suite, but I cannot say anything really positive about this place. First, the service was atrocious - we booked 2 baby cots about 3 weeks before coming, but when we arrived there were none available! Service was also bad - when asked about where to get some fresh milk for my kids (at 930pm), I was sent on a wild goose chase around the back of the hotel to a back alley convenience store that did not sell any. UHT Milk (ie. not the fresh stuff) in the hotel was charged at 16 Ringgit for 1 small glass - given that it was late and I had no choice, we had to pay.

Breakfast was atrocious - kept in an enclosed room, with no fresh air while construction goes on the pool deck outside was not my idea of a relaxing first day of my holiday. The food also was nothing to write home about. Needless to say, we zipped out of there once we finished breakfast and booked ourselves into the JW Marriott which was TEN times better on all levels.

All in all, I would NEVER recommend this hotel to anyone I know. Life is too short.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

We stayed at the Ascott over the Good Friday long weekend.
I booked online and got a fantastic rate of just over 500 Ringgit for a 2 bedroom apartment. No difficulty locating the building, smack in the centre of town, opposite the Mandarin Oriental and Twin towers, and just off Jalan P Ramlee, the main clubbing scene.
The rooms were very, very spacious, with lovely high ceilings. Great towels and linens and L'Occitane toiletries.
We arrived late (almost midnight) but check in took less than 2 minutes, and the apartment was ready and waiting.
Breakfast was adequate, if a little overcrowded, but the fantastic view of the Twin towers made up for it.
The pool terrace was under renovation (pool could still be used but the terrace had cement near the lift landing) but i guess that will be done soon so no problems there.

In all it was a wonderful place to stay, not quite the Mandarin Oriental opposite, but definitely the best serviced apartment in KL.

Best bits: Room size, separate bathrooms for each room, great view, superb location.

Not so good bits: Breakfast selection limited and crowded. ever so slightly tired furniture, club downstairs (7atenine) could be a little noisy on weekends.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

We (2A, 2C aged 9 and 10) stayed at The Ascott for just 2 nights on 14 and 15 March 2009 in a 2-bedroom apartment under a credit-card discounted promotional rate (total 1587 RM). We got a room facing the neighboring office block and part of the KLCC park. We couldn't see the Pertonas Twin Towers, I think, cos of the discounted room. There were only 7 units on our 29th floor so there was plenty of privacy.
The airport transfer via Limo was booked prior to our arrival and the driver and the greeter were both very friendly and helpful Taxi touts can be a pest so booking a limo before arrival was a good decision.
The journey from the KLIA to Ascott took slightly under an hour, due to a jam in the city.
The check-in was smooth.
The pool on the 22nd floor was closed for renovation but fromthe Sky Lounge (the hotel's restaurant), we were able to see the Twin Towers very clearly. Do take photos of the Twin Towers from the KLCC park just opposite the hotel if you are staying in a room with no views of it like ours,
The complimentary Continental Breakfast at the Sky Lounge was good. I think they may have improved the food options as on both mornings we were there, we enjoyed 2 hot disheswe tried the congee, mee soto (a noodle dish), all forms of egg done to your liking on the spot, and nasi lemak. There was cereal, milk, toast, breads, cheeses, hams, bacon, beans, fruits, salad too. Good tea and coffee and juices as well. It can get crowded after 8am, so go early. Fewer than 20 tables, sit at the window facing the Twin Towers.
Our apartment was spacious and the 2 rooms were just lovely, Very comfy soft beds and pillow, adjustable air con. Sadly we spotted left over food on one of the dining chairs and drinks in the fridge from the previous occupants. One of the bedside lamps in one room was spoilt.
The bathrooms were great and amenities luxurious by L'Occitane. Sufficient towels were provided. Bathrobes only in master bedroom, so is the other TV. Only 1 toothbrush was provided, even though they knew there were 4 of us.
Daily newspapers. Only 1 channel for children so bring your own DVDs (they have a dvd and cd player) to entertain the kids.
The kitchen had many plates, but some soup bowls were dirty and stained. Trash bin was very small and could not contain some packaway styrofoam boxes. Use the provided laundry bags to pack away rubbish.
Taxis are available along the road or at hotel lobbies. Ask drivers for quotation to your destination or get them to turn on the meter. Approx 10RM from Ascott to Bt Bintang shopping area.
Kudos to the helpful doorman and bellhop :)

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2009

Stayed at Ascott for the first time. Great apartment. Got the booking thourgh Marimari.com as they gave us the cheapest rates for two bedroom premier apartment (better than the ascott site). The apt. is very spacious with a huge lobby with dining, attached full kitchen with dishwasher. Master bedroom has a king size bed and the other bedroom has twin beds which was geat with two kids. The balcony offers marvelous views of Twin towers. The breakfast was included and I found it decent. There is a grocery store located near hotel lobby where we could buy the essentials. The best part is the location. It is within easy walking distance to both KLCC convention centre and Petronas. Even bukit bintang is a ten minutes walk. The bathroom with master bedroom has both a shower cubicle and a Bath tub with a view of Petronas in full. They have a laundromat which is chargable but big help because of all the heat in KL.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — No washer dryer in the apartment
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

We booked a 3 day stay at the Ascott. My main reason for choosing this serviced apartment was because it offered 2 bedrooms and since i was going with the parents, it provided a lot of privacy. The 2 bedroom was GINORMOUS. The master bath was beautiful. We were just across the street from the Twin Towers. Breakfast was served at the 22nd floor and i thought that it was decent/ pleasant. Service staff was very nice. Especially the gentlemen who would open your cab doors and carry your bags. Very very polite. And they even asked the taxi drivers to switch on the meters (The term "Daylight robbery"was created for KL taxi drivers) If the drivers refused, they asked us if the bargained amount was ok with us. Hotel toiletries provided were L'Occitane.

The only thing is that the Ascott is beginning to show its age. Kitchen floors and bathroom cabinets seems to be really old. But the fact that everything was very clean made up for it. Some of the lamps in our apartment did not work but we had enough light from the big windows.

Would definitely return to the Ascott again. It left a warm and lasting impression.

  • Liked — Service Staff
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ascott Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascott Kuala Lumpur

Address: No 9 Jalan Pinang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#11 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#12 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#26 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ascott Kuala Lumpur 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of town and a stroll away from the world famous Petronas Twin Towers, Ascott Kuala Lumpur enjoys a prestigious address. The Suria KLCC Shopping Mall, ritzy restaurants and chic cafes are right at your doorstep. Let us lavish you with impeccable service and a suite of the finest facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ascott Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascott Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ascott Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Ascott Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ascott Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.