We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big,clean,good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ascott Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Ascott Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
Ascott Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No 9 Jalan Pinang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Big,clean,good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We were contemplating between Mandarin hotel & Ascott for just a 1 night stay but we chose Ascott. And we didn't regret our decision at all.
I saw the pictures of the place from the web before booking but the actual place is much bigger than I thought. The kitchen is equipped with nespresso coffee maker, toaster & kettle. The bathrooms are also well equipped & I like their little detail though of providing L'occitane shampoo,lotion & shower gel - vs. standard hotel 'brand' ones. Of course the bathrooms are big & comfortable. We got the 2 bedroom apartment so we sleeping space is more than enough for us. I read reviews that their breakfast is very bad.Actually - it wasn't. It was just like a basic breakfast with the standard omelets, sausages, cereals, yogurt, choice of bread, croissants & good coffee (not those stale taste like coffee served in some hotels). So - unless you are looking for a breakfast that's serving like a lunch - the breakfast here is really fine! No complaints from me at all.
Their location is of course very good. Just walking distance from the KLCC. Hunting for food is also easy - if you not up for a walk to explore - take a cab to the BLACKmarket restaurant @ St Mary Place for taste of their bbq ribs or their waghu burger.

My only gripe is we only get to stay one night & kinda rush to get back so we didn't even get to try their pool! But the next time we are going in group of 4 - I will definitely book this place again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munwar_Basha, Manager at Ascott Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Clee10

Thank you for your kind comments, especially for your understanding about the breakfast that our partner restaurant serves. Please come again and make sure you try the swimming pool this time. Looking forwrd to hosting you again at Ascott Kuala Lumpur!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    176
    34
    8
    8
See reviews for
219
40
19
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suzhou, Jiangsu, China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed here for a weekend break from Penang and were thoroughly impressed with the hotel. From the minute we pulled up to when we drove away, the staff couldn't be more helpful or friendly and were happy to answer all questions we had.

We booked a single room exec apartment but we upgraded to a 2 bed apartment. I didn't specify a non smoking room and we were put in a smoking one. A quick phone call to reception and 5 minutes later, we were in our new non smoking room. The guest services then phoned to make sure everything was ok and we were happy. Great service.

We will definitely be staying here again on our next visit to KL.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munwar_Basha, Manager at Ascott Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Iain D

Thank you for yor kind comments. My colleagues and hope to see you again soon as Ascott Kuala Lumpur.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This is our second stay in the Ascott in a few years, we always get a 3 bedroom Premier and we can't fault it, well laid out, great location and friendly helpful staff. Very comfortable rooms and plenty of space to spread out as a family. A must for a holiday or business in KL !

Room Tip: Go as high up the building as possible for the city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munwar_Basha, Manager at Ascott Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Ed M

Thank you for your kind comments. My colleagues and I look forward to hosting your again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

this is our 13 trip to kuala lumpur but our first at the ascott, and i will certainly be considering our next stay there. being a regular to the F1 we loved the location and convenience the ascsott had to offer. only minutes away from the twin towers and the pavillion. we had 2 apartments 6 adults shared between 1 x 2 bedroom and 1 x 1 bedroom both on the 29th floor one overlooking the park behind the petronis twin towers and the other the pool and twin towers (corner) all having ample room . one small complaint was the master bedroom bathroom lacked air flow or air conditioning which became very hot. especially when the door to my bathroom was closed while others using your balcony walked through my bedroom. well equipted kitchen with a nespresso machine you receive 2 free pods per person on arriving, each pod after that is 5 MR per pod and you can not get pods in KL. so if your a coffee drinker and like a bigger variety just bring your own. comfortable couches and large comfortable pillows and bedding certainly was a winner for us. reception staff very friendly and helpful must mention Jeff/jeffery door man. lovely man who bent over backwards to meet our requests. pool was perfect, as i am a swimmer and do laps i had plenty of room to train and not interfere with other patrons. gym well equipted only gripe all equipment was bolted down and some were a bit too close to the mirrors. house keeping was good, we ordered room service one night and it was very good and not too over priced, there is a 5MR service charge and it did take a while to arrive. check in and check out went smoothly. breakfast would have to be my biggest complaint. the selection certainly wasn't geared for westerners. even though they did have hot chocolate available, espresso coffee and a good selection of teas. the fruit was the same daily, and no low fat or healthy options on anything eg yoghurt, milk etc... the fresh croissants and pastrys where a hit though. overall a very delightful experience and will certainly look at staying there again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munwar_Basha, Manager at Ascott Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Jennifer1962_12

Thank you for your kind and constructive comments. We shall look into your feedback about the master bathroom, gym, coffee and we will also feedback to the restaurant operator about the breakfast. In any case, we hope to see you again at Ascott Kuala Lumpur soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment over the F1 weekend.

Wow, can't rate this place highly enough! The location couldn't be better for my needs, a stones through from the Petronas towers and Menara (KL) Tower, literally right at your doorstop!

The room was excellent, well equpped - TV's in all rooms, all en suite, a massive living room / dining area and a decent kitchen.

The pool was good for doing lengths, though a litttle bit cold! The views from the pool on the 22nd floor are brilliant, with a great view of the city.

Spa was OK apparently, not out of this world - though this is coming from other members of the group - I didn't try it myself.

Restaurant on ground floor with complementary breakfast - standard array of buffet foods (no pork) with cold and hot options - nothing special but no complaints for a free brekkie! Also went there for dinner one night (see my review of Tujo) food was lovely but service poor.

Check in was easy as was check out. If you smoke, you need to get a key from check in too for a 30 MYR deposit in case you lose it, this allows you to open up on to the balconies.

Housekeeping did fine, had privacy on the door though for 2 days as one of the group wanted to sleep in. Staff on ground floor were all lovely as well, greeting us with a smile and a bow every time we came in.

Good security also in the fact that you have to swipe your door key to go up from the ground floor in the lift.

Would definitely stay here again, no complaints at all!

Room Tip: Room 1201 had a nice view of KL tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munwar_Basha, Manager at Ascott Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Donny990

Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to hosting you again soon at Ascott Kuala Lumpur and be sure to request for the apartments on the smoking floors.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We visited KL in mar 2014 and booked an serviced apartment at Ascott. The apartament is huge, very clean and nicely furnished. The hotel is placed within a short walk from Petronas towers as well Bukit Bintang so perfectly placed for a shopping visit to KL. The staff is very friendly and helpful. You can book day tours at the desk. The Tujo restaurant at ground level is quite good and you can have an 'average' breakfast there if you are too lazy to go for a better one somewhere else. At night they have live music and a good place to relax.
The pool at level 22 is great to cool off in heat and humidity of KL. All up it's highly recommended option

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munwar_Basha, Manager at Ascott Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear A goat

Thank you for your very kind comments. Such comments motivate us at Ascott Kuala Lumpur to perform even better for our guests. Do come again soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We wanted to find a good two bedroom suite to accommodate our family of four close to KLCC and this certainly fit the bill. Very good location literally a 2 minute walk to KLCC park and mall. Very good rooms, clean and well organized with loads of space for all. Staff was very helpful as well.

My boys also really liked the 22nd floor pool, which has great views of the surrounding downtown and a decent half-view of the twin towers. Pool was huge and cool; desperately needed during the hot days of our visit.

Only drawback was that they are still working on renovations to the 22nd floor and so there is no "in-house" bar/restaurant where you can take in the views. Also, I needed to have an impromptu meeting with some clients and they had no meeting space (again, I understand that will be part of the 22nd floor renovations).

All in all a good hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munwar_Basha, Manager at Ascott Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Ontheblackhill

Thank you very much for your kind review. My colleagues and I are motivated to read such positive reviews.

With regard to the renovation on the 22nd floor, it will be completed by mid-to end April. It will house a private residence lounge for our long staying and corporate guests as well as a multipurpose function room and a boardroom that our guests can reserve too.

We look forward welcoming you again at Ascott Kuala Lumpur soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ascott Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascott Kuala Lumpur

Address: No 9 Jalan Pinang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#11 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#11 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#26 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ascott Kuala Lumpur 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of town and a stroll away from the world famous Petronas Twin Towers, Ascott Kuala Lumpur enjoys a prestigious address. The Suria KLCC Shopping Mall, ritzy restaurants and chic cafes are right at your doorstep. Let us lavish you with impeccable service and a suite of the finest facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ascott Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascott Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ascott Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Ascott Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ascott Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.