We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Building getting old and a bit noisy during renovation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ascott Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ascott Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
Ascott Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No 9 Jalan Pinang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Building getting old and a bit noisy during renovation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

It is good location to go to twin towers and take 15 mins walk to go pavilion mall. This is second time we stayed here. This time I found the rooms are a bit older comparing 2 yrs ago. I like the idea have 2 toilets for both rooms and a kitchen. It's great for family as I can heat up baby food easily. They are doing renovation right now and won't be done until end of this yr, so should expect a bit noisy.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    177
    34
    8
    8
See reviews for
220
40
19
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

First of all, we are fans of the Ascott group and generally enjoy our stays in their properties.

We've stayed in Ascott KL a number of times over the past five years. Our stay in a 2BR apartment last weekend was probably the worst we've ever had, mainly because the apartment we had (one floor below the pool) was way past it's prime. We checked in late, around 11pm on a Friday night, so perhaps it was all they had left? The cabinet in the kitchenette had doors falling off its hinges. The dishwasher smelled a little sad. The aircon leaked. The light tube in the master wardrobe blew up the next day...

Yeah, I get that the property is being re-burbed as we speak, but a little more care and maintenance for the older apartments (which are still being let out) surely is in order?

The service was as we remembered it to be though - pretty decent! Breakfast was adequate, the pool still as nice for the kids.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

What a gem this place is with some of the best accommodation I have had in KL. Couple that with great service, a great location and attractive pricing all lead to what I believe is the best value for money in the KLCC area. I had the pleasure of staying in one of the newly refurbished rooms and the quality of the accommodation is top class with everything you would want for a comfortable stay in KL. Why anyone would want to pay twice the price for less in the surrounding hotels is beyond me. I will be making the Ascot my hotel of choice for every visit to KL in the future.

Room Tip: As far as I have seen all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We booked an apartment with 3 bedrooms for our party of six. We found it to be generally spacious, clean and comfortable. We were given a choice of either an apartment on one of the top most floors or one on the 9th floor. We chose the one on the 9th floor as we were informed it had been newly renovated and that it came with free wifi while the upper floors still used cable. Needless to say we chose the one on the 9th floor and it did appear to have new furniture and fittings. We did hear some knocking going on in the day time which we assumed was the renovation works going on.

All rooms had fairly large en suite bathrooms stocked with the amenities one might expect, had their own air conditioning controls and were equipped with a television. Many of those in my party found the pillows to be a bit too flat for comfort. Only the master bedroom was provided with bathrobes and slippers.

The kitchen was also spacious and very well equipped. One could easily cook meals in there although we didn't. We were also given 6 complimentary bottles of water daily.

We also had free wifi in our apartment. There is a self-service laundrette on the 22nd floor.

Breakfast is served at the Sky Lounge on the 22nd floor. You get a great view of the city from the smoking section of the Sky Lounge. Breakfast spread was adequate.

During check-in, we had an issue with the breakfast as they did not seem to have records that our reservations included complimentary breakfast. We produced the reservation confirmation printout for them to check and were promptly informed that we were indeed entitled to complimentary breakfasts. Upon being brought to the apartment, we were given a safety briefing which, although slightly lengthy, is something to be lauded.

Unfortunately, we encountered an issue with the breakfast again during check-out and this was the only blip on our otherwise lovely stay at the Ascott. Our bill indicated two charges for breakfast and upon checking, we found that one of the charges was not even ours. Someone else had signed for it but stated our apartment number. The other charge was ours but was supposed to be complimentary. The check-out staff was very efficient though and upon checking the reservation print out, cancelled the breakfast charges immediately. While I can understand a mistake occurring on matters such as this, I certainly didn't expect to have to deal with it at check-out after having sorted it out when we first arrived.

All the service staff at the Ascott were very friendly and were able to give directions to all the places we wanted to go to.

The location is one of the best points of this accommodation. Suria KLCC is just opposite the road from the Ascott. A couple of minutes walk to the right of the entrance will take you to the air conditioned skywalk which goes all the way to Pavilion.

There are no food stalls very nearby although one can find food in abundance in Suria KLCC. We also had dinner at their Sky Lounge on the 22nd floor (where breakfast is also served in the mornings) which was pretty good.

Room Tip: Request for a room which has undergone renovation and which has free wifi (if you need to use it).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed at the Ascott, KL over CNY (a counter intuitive city break over the holiday period) and it worked well for us as most hotels will not guarantee interconnecting rooms in order to accomodate those travelling with children. We stayed in a 3 BR flat w/ en suites and kitchenette, dining room and lounge. Overall the room was a bit well worn and dated but according to the advertisements in the lobby etc.. they are in the process of upgrading all rooms (probably worth clarifying when booking). The Ascott would also do well during it's upgrade to provide WIFI in all rooms as during our stay it was only available on the lobby and sky lounge floors - an internet cable was provided in the rooms for laptops at a set rate. The TV's in the rooms were also not HD so no way to link via HDMI cable to watch films from tablets etc. Proximity to the Petronas Twin Towers was a 2 minute walk and being in the city centre it was very easy to get taxis from the lobby where 1 or 2 blue cabs were always at hand - the concierge was also very helpful in terms of making restaurant bookings and arranging taxis for day trips. The Sky Lounge does an adequate buffet breakfast for all (fresh coffee, egg station, chocolate croisants and cereals for the little ones). The pool works well for young children and is well shaded for the morning) and the gym is more than adequate. All in definitely well recommended for those planning a stay in KL with young children and seeking a well located base to see all the sights.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nailsworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed at the Ascott in January 2013. Located almost opposite the iconic Kuala Lumpur Twin Towers, its an ideal place to stay. Apartment room was big with fully equipped kitchen area, complete with dish washer, microwave, hob, fridge, toaster etc etc. Large bedroom and en suite bathroom. Big pool with sunbathing area on one of the upper floors. The fitness centre was well equipped. Good selection in the breakfast restaurant - staff were friendly and always smiling. Entrance lobby looks like it has been recently renovated with modern, stylish fittings. Rooms could do to be renovated to reflect the stylish feel of the entrance. I would recommend this as a convenient and good value place to stay in central Kuala Lumpur.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

A nice place to go for a city retreat. Stayed at their younger sister Somerset@Ampang and comparing them, the age has show in the old dame. But what she lacks in fittings make up in location and great layout. Spacious,luxurious and well situated, little fault is found in Ascott KL. And as usual service and cleanliness is faultless.

Pros:
- Huge rooms with nice view of the area.Got the Premier room so it comes with a nice balcony where we spend so much time relaxing and dining.
- Good location. Just a stone throw away form KLCC and Petronas twin towers.
- Good attentive staffs.

Cons:
- Dated fitting and furniture. Reminds me of the time i was there with my parents when i was 12. Nostalgic tho. But in the midst of upgrading.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ascott Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascott Kuala Lumpur

Address: No 9 Jalan Pinang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#10 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#11 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#26 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ascott Kuala Lumpur 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of town and a stroll away from the world famous Petronas Twin Towers, Ascott Kuala Lumpur enjoys a prestigious address. The Suria KLCC Shopping Mall, ritzy restaurants and chic cafes are right at your doorstep. Let us lavish you with impeccable service and a suite of the finest facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Ascott Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascott Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ascott Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Ascott Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ascott Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.