We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay but dated fittings.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ascott Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Ascott Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
Ascott Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No 9 Jalan Pinang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good place to stay but dated fittings.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

A nice place to go for a city retreat. Stayed at their younger sister Somerset@Ampang and comparing them, the age has show in the old dame. But what she lacks in fittings make up in location and great layout. Spacious,luxurious and well situated, little fault is found in Ascott KL. And as usual service and cleanliness is faultless.

Pros:
- Huge rooms with nice view of the area.Got the Premier room so it comes with a nice balcony where we spend so much time relaxing and dining.
- Good location. Just a stone throw away form KLCC and Petronas twin towers.
- Good attentive staffs.

Cons:
- Dated fitting and furniture. Reminds me of the time i was there with my parents when i was 12. Nostalgic tho. But in the midst of upgrading.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    177
    34
    8
    8
See reviews for
221
40
19
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed at the Ascott Kuala Lumpur for seven nights and were very impressed with our selection.

The accommodation was spacious with a Master bedroom and second bedroom for our 2 children. The living area was wonderful and the bathrooms spacious. We were also lucky enough to get a room with a balcony overlooking the Kuala Lumpur City Centre (KLCC) park. Our unit was one of the older ones in the building with renovation currently underway to modernise, however we could not fault the appartment we were in.

The breakfasts are fantastic with a good food selection & wonderful friendly staff who make all of your family feel welcome. All off the breakfast crew especially loved getting along with the kids and our children enjoyed seeing the team each morning. The breakfast room sits on the 22nd floor with fantastic views of the KLCC park.
The staff in the foyer were always polite & friendly with all staff always stopping to wish you a good morning, evening etc.
The swimming pool is as good, if not better than the photo on the site and the area is maintained beautifully. Magnificent views of the city can be gained from the pool area.
All ammenities in the room were high class and the beds were fantastic.

The Ascott is well located near the Suria shopping centre (3 minute walk if that) which is at the base of the Petronas towers. The centre has access to everything you could want including groceries, pharmacy, Rail station, clothing stores, clothing stores & more clothing stores.
A covered walkway is also only 3 minutes walk which gives you access to the convention centre or to other shopping areas and Light rail stations in the city.

I would highly recommend the Ascott, especially to those with families who want a little more space while at the same time having privacy as wel as the conviences of home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sverige
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Lovely home away from home in Kuala Lumpur. Conveniently located close to KLCC. Nice pool and restuarant at 20:th (?) floor. Rooms/apartments probably need refurbishment within the next couple of years but are clean and have high standard.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

After reading and hearing recommendations of how Ascott was we decided to stay here for our short family trip. When we arrived here the staff was friendly , very accomadating. So as usual how a hotel works you get your room cleaned and off course you expect it to be nice and tidy and to top it off your things at placed right. little that i realised on that particular day i accidently forgot to wear my watch off course i remember wear i usually put my watch as it was my favorite watch. looked for it high and low in the room.actually unpacked all the things in all of our luggages as we were leaving the next morning and still couldnt find it.

From then on, me and my dad had a gut feeling it was stolen from the house keeper. The reason being to that :-
1.That very morning the house keeper rang our bell and asked if we wanted our room to be cleaned .As we werent ready we said come back in 20-30mins.
2. 2nd time she rang again and asked how long again ( this time we were getting suspicious ) . Why would this house keeper be so eager to know what time we leave the room ?

Not until we all came back from our one day outing i then realised on that very night i realised my watch has beem stolen in a supposedly estemmed apartment hotel.

made a report straight away and yet to hear news from the supervisor of house keeping.

So people, becareful with your belongings.it may be a renowed hotel but you can never trust some house keepers sometimes. And in my case it was an unfortunate because i forgot to wear my watch and accidently left it in the room.being a award winning apartment hotel i expected my watch to be placed where it should to be(i remember it very well where i placed it ) but it was gone...

House keepers should be trust worthy people to clean guests rooms not snatching peoples belongings!

I hope the management of the hotel can rectify problem asap.discipline the house keepers more.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

The staff was very hospitable and they made sure all our needs are met. All my room requests were granted. Hotel is also walking distance from Suria KLCC mall and the Convention Center. Near the Hop On Hop Off Bus Station as well. This hotel has very good location. Continental breakfast was also good. I really must commend the hotel's service. Excellent. We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed for second time, 2bedroom unit and 3bedroom unit. Both were spacious with big living room. Hotel located at ideal location, walking distance to Suria KLCC, KLCC train station as well as few minutes walk to Pavilion Mall.

The concierge was helpful, when we ask if there is umbrella to loan.
Breakfast for weekends was the best! They prepared another buffet area near to the swimming pool area, so while mommies & daddies were enjoying their breakfast, the kids can jump into the pool. Overall, we had pleasant stay and managed to get the room keys earlier than expected.

Room Tip: Get units that face the KLCC twin tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed in a 2br apartment with 2 other guys. There was a master br with 1 king size bed and another br with 2 single beds. Living room, dining area and kitchen was spacious and clean. TV, hifi stereo and dvd player was available, though it was old. Beds were comfortable.
Wifi was only available at the pool deck and reception area, but we heard they were renovating the floors to make wifi available at all floors by end of the year.
Location is excellent, just across the road from KLCC.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AscottKL, Assistant Residence Manager at Ascott Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Glimbs,

Thank you for your posting

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and at the same time noted that there are areas of improvement in the apartment.

You may wish know that 2 phases consisting 07 floors of fully refurbished apartments are now ready for reservations. These new apartments are given a new facelift which includes the changing of the furniture, more bedroom and living room lightings, LED TVs, new bedroom carpets, parquet floored living room, extra plug point at strategic location for our Residents’ convenience and new electrical appliances which also comes equip with high speed wireless internet access.

We are also working closely with the contractors to fasten the pace of the refurbishment so that all our future Residents will be able to enjoy the new features in the apartment.

Thank you for your continued support. We hope to be able to welcome you again soon, and have another opportunity to serve you better.

Sincerely
Vincent Wong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ascott Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascott Kuala Lumpur

Address: No 9 Jalan Pinang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#10 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#11 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#26 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ascott Kuala Lumpur 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of town and a stroll away from the world famous Petronas Twin Towers, Ascott Kuala Lumpur enjoys a prestigious address. The Suria KLCC Shopping Mall, ritzy restaurants and chic cafes are right at your doorstep. Let us lavish you with impeccable service and a suite of the finest facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ascott Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascott Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ascott Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Ascott Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ascott Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.