We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a bit out of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of U Pac Hotel

Save Saved
You added U Pac Hotel to your Saves list
U Pac Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
U Pac Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   151, Batu 2, Jalan Sungai Besi, Kuala Lumpur 57100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 262 hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Worcester UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“a bit out of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

hotel is tucked back off the main drag and is some way out of town but recption was good and chinese guy very helpful and friendly. found we had inadvertently booked a room without a window and had to pay for and upgrade at about 20 ringits a night.
room was good - clean comfortable slept well. downside was no kettle - had to go down corridor for hot water.
breakfast included was good fair selection of food.
would we use it again - yes

advised against using the local tube station and having tried it can see why - not a plesent walk even in daylight. tried to use local bus just around corner on main road but one never arrived while we were waiting so used taxis. depending on time of travel can cost significant amounts while snarled up in the horrendous traffic which is a KL wide problem. Taxi drivers in KL are a pain in the ar5e after about 7pm - all the meters stop working and they try for 3 or 4 times the correct fare. told several to go stuff themselves but you eventually need to get back. none of this is the hotels fault but its the thing that stands out most from our visit to KL.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YunOn W, Owner at U Pac Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Kuala Lumpur.

Your valuable feedback is appreciated and we will work towards meeting your expectations wherever possible. We also thank you for your kind understanding of KL's traffic and transportation concerns.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards.

Y O Wong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    14
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We came to this hotel around December 23-26 , 2013 , the hotel facilities are okay (a bit noisy), front staff is very nice, but one staff member (a woman with glasses and short hair who's in charge of the kitchen) really Pissed Me Off!!!, so rude and racist! She treated other people okay but if you are Indonesian she shows that she is a racist! She should not be working in hospitality. Racism is always ugly and it makes people ugly. We will never again come to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YunOn W, Owner at U Pac Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback of your experiences during your stay with us.

We have investigated your allegation of our staff being 'racist' however, our findings did not reveal any sign of our staff's conduct as alleged. On the day as mentioned our female staff was performing her normal duties including greeting of guests and replying to their queries. The encounter with your companion at the table was an exchange of greetings while clearing the soiled dishes. We regret that the occasion would turn out to be an issue of 'racism'.

Kindly accept our apologies for the misunderstanding caused.

Once again we thank you for your feedback and will be glad to further clarify the situation with you direct, if necessary.

Best regards,

Y O Wong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsa Alam, Egypt
1 review
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

My wife and I were in KL for only two days and were satisfied with U Pac. We chose this hotel because it's new and has a good price.
We asked to see the different rooms which are all very nice, but we chose the deluxe room in the end. The standard room is really quite small and would not have been big enough for fitting our two suitcases. The room is very clean, the bed comfortable and the bathroom was adequate. Nice detail is that soaps were restocked every morning and toothbrushes were provided.
The room was quiet even though we were on a street side. Breakfast was well stocked with enough choice. Receptionists were very helpful in providing us with sightseeing info and how to get certain places.

I must say that travelling by train at night was not the best choice. Getting to the hotel will lead you through a dark deserted industrial neighbourhood which didn't feel very safe. We came from Chinatown that night and we should have taken a taxi.

Small advice when giving the taxi driver directions: tell him to go to 'Wisma Mah Sing', because nobody knows the hotel.

In general, we had a great stay at the U Pac hotel and would come again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YunOn W, Owner at U Pac Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with U Pac Hotel during your visit to Kuala Lumpur.

We are delighted to note that you had a pleasant stay with us. As per your advice on the mode of transport back to the hotel in the evening we shall include the information for our guests accordingly.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future and with warm regards.

Y O Wong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medan, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Nice Hotel, Near from central of KL and their food so legit...its suitable for family vacation. We stay for 3 nights in two rooms. All staff in hotel very friendly. They given all information about destination of Malaysia must be visited.... Its wonderful for family holiday.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YunOn W, Owner at U Pac Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us when in Kuala Lumpur.

We are glad to note that you and your family had a pleasant stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards.

Y O Wong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights in two adjoining rooms. The cleanliness of the rooms, halls, lobby, linen was impeccable. The best of the hotels we stayed in malaysia and Bali during our journey. Breakfasts were varied and buffet, and had sufficient variety for us vegetarians to be satisfied. Staff were friendly and super helpful in our use of the public transport system. Could see kl tower and petronas towers from our first floor room, but some street noise at night. Short walk to Chan sow Lin train station, even shorter walk to bus stop. Corner stores close by for fruit and grocery items.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YunOn W, Owner at U Pac Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us when in Kuala Lumpur.

We are delighted to know that you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us and would like to express our appreciation for your kind compliments.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kuala Lumpur.

Best regards,

Y O Wong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
1 review
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I like the environment of the hotel, the attitude & service that provided by the counter staff & security guard.

The counter staffs are very friendly & patient to customer. During my check in, I saw one of the elder staff (I think should be manager or supervisor) is quite helpful & do his best to satisfy customer needs. It surprising me as most of the staff will not provide extra service to customer.

And the security guard, he still willing to open the locked door for me at the lobby when I back to the hotel around 4-5 am. Even he know that I have the room card to open it myself. It surpricing me once again.

The promotion price is cheap, so I expect the hotel & room is like normal budget hotel initially. But I'm shocked when I reach the hotel, it is quite new & the room is quite clean & big, And I'm so glad that I can use wifi in my room instead of sitting at the lobby, some of the 3 - 4 star hotel even not provide wifi.

I feel that I spent a budget price but stayed in a non budget hotel. It is really value for money. 7-11 is another add-on benefit for people like me who always feel hungry in the mid of the night & wants to take some food & drink.

The only bad thing is it is a little bit far from the shopping mall but I don't mind to spend about RM10-15 to take a taxi instead of staying near the shopping mall but poor hygiene & service.

For those who spends little money but expect for 5 star service, perhaps you should stay at your home as U pac hotel is really one of the best budget hotel I've ever stayed. Once you experience the worst in Kuala Lumpur, you will know it. Please do understand that what you pay is what you get. I will still consider this hotel for my next visit to Kuala Lumpur & will highly recommend to my friends & family.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YunOn W, Owner at U Pac Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Ken,

On behalf of our Team we would like to thank you for your review. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with U Pac Hotel and will strive to enhance our services as we move forward to our 2nd year of operation.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Happy New Year!

Y O Wong
Executive Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
1 review
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Spacious lobby with comfortable deco. Receptionists were warm, friendly and provided directions on how to go around. On our first trip to the city centre we wanted to try the LRT and were lucky because the hotel just introduced a free shuttle service! The next day the staff helped us get a taxi to KLCC which was a 15 mins ride away.

The room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was sufficient with several varieties of continental and local dishes.
We liked the 7-11 store just next door as well as the several restaurants around.

Checkout was fast with the Manager bidding us goodbye.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YunOn W, Owner at U Pac Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Tingting,

Thank you for taking time in providing us with your feedback. Our Team deeply appreciates your encouraging comments and will work towards further enhancing our services.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.

Best regards and 'Gong Xi Fa Cai'

Y O Wong
Executive Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to U Pac Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Pac Hotel

Address: 151, Batu 2, Jalan Sungai Besi, Kuala Lumpur 57100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 262 hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — U Pac Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your U Pac Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage U Pac Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.