We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portuguezze Kitchen

Portuguezze Kitchen
Lot 3A, Food Emporium Level 3 (Green Zone) | Sungei Wang Plaza, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
+60 12-696 8441
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 2,502 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Price range: $2 - $5
Cuisines: Malaysian, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
Description: Portuguezze Kitchen is a cozy little diner located within the Food Emporium(a food court) in Sungei Wang Plaza. We serve authentic home-cooked style Malacca-Portuguese dishes such as our signature Claypot Devil Curry, Portuguese Grilled Fish and more!
Mar del Plata, Argentina
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“interesting choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I couldnt make my mind as to what to eat, as usually. So i just got into Tripadvisor to see if anything catched my interest. Thats how i found the portuguese kitchen.

I was pleasantly surprised, the food, the service and the food where good. Try the chicken!

I would go back

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortuguezzeKit_admin, Owner at Portuguezze Kitchen, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hello there!
Thank you so much for choosing to dine at our restaurant. We are delighted that you were happy with your visit and would also come back again. We hope very much to serve you again soon. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    11
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We found this place quite accidently which was situated @ the food emporium sungai wang plaza and enjoyed their mutton curry and clay pot chicken which were full of flavor.Went for a second time also.The staff was very friendly and the restaurant set up was very relaxing .The food court @ Pavilion is better than the Food emporium @ SG .But I urge everyone who visits bukit bintang area to visit this place to enjoy their hospitality and yummy food

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortuguezzeKit_admin, Owner at Portuguezze Kitchen, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Hello there and thank you so much for such a lovely review and the recommendation!
We are truly happy that you were satisfied our food, service and environment - and honored that you had returned for a second visit! We are really glad to have served you and hope to be able to do so again should you ever be around the area again. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great meal worth tracking down...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We read about the Portuguese Kitchen on Tripadvisor and thought it was a good excuse to check out a shopping centre we hadn't been to before. After a fruitful shopping spree we located our destination and sat down to an excellent Devils Chicken curry - very fiery - and a grilled fish. Great service and a quality meal that was worth the effort.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortuguezzeKit_admin, Owner at Portuguezze Kitchen, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Hello there and thank you for taking the time to drop by our restaurant!
We are really happy that you found the trip to be worth the effort and was satisfied with the food and service! Thank you so much once again and we hope to be able to serve you again some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely tasty food, excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We arrived quite late at this restaurant- in fact we were the only people eating in the food court! We think the they were about to shut down for the evening but welcomed us happily, turned the music back on and were excellent hosts. We tried both the claypot chicken, and fish curry which were beautifully cooked and tasted great. The meal was really inexpensive given the quality of food.We look forward to visiting again one day. Highly recommended!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortuguezzeKit_admin, Owner at Portuguezze Kitchen, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Hi Mike!
On behalf of the entire team here at Portuguezze Kitchen, thank you so much for not only taking the time to visit us, but also to write us such a lovely review. We are truly happy that you were satisfied with the food, service and price. Thanks again and hope to be able to serve you again on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Authentic taste”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We found this place by accident after coming across an article in an inflight magazine. The food is prepared fresh, Portugese-Malaysian style curries are HOT but tasty. Small menu, but there seems to be a lot of fresh ingredients. Reasonable prices. Decor is simple as it's located in the 3rd floor food court, but seating is ample, and the place is kept clean.

Spoke to the owner/chef who said that all the recipes are from her aunties and mum. She goes to the local markets herself and sources the freshest ingredients and seafood, with the menu to suit what's available.

If you get an opportunity in this part of KL, don't miss it. Good service and great food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortuguezzeKit_admin, Owner at Portuguezze Kitchen, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Albert,

Thank you so much for dropping by to try our food and for the lovely review! We are really happy that you were satisfied with your visit. Hope to be able to welcome you here again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portuguezze Kitchen also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Portuguezze Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portuguezze Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.