We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot to like!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral

Save Saved
You added Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No 5, Jalan Stesen Sentral | Kuala Lumpur Sentral, Kuala Lumpur 50470, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 268 hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A lot to like!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

There is a lot to like about this hotel. It is fresh, new and staffed by eager young teams who aim to please. Nice unusual touches abound:- Black blackboards to chalk up your thought, bright colour schemes, creative layouts and seating arrangements in the restaurant etc.
Thankfully the bedrooms have roof lights which make the rooms feel nice and airy at night. ( I am fed up of hotels who don't have ceiling lights.....if I'm working in my room its dingy and depressing).
There are a few form over function issues which prevents me giving a 5 star rating. For instance the only way to watch the 46" flat screen TV in the bedroom is by lying on the bed. The TV mounting is not flexible and the colourful couch is directly under the TV facing away, with no way to change it so you can use the couch to relax in front of the TV!
There is a new shopping mall next door, which will be very handy when all the staores have opened and the hotel is next to the KL Sentral station so very easy to catch KLIA express to get to airport or the monorail to get into the city CBD.
Overall a nice place

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftKL, General Manager at Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
HI Bernard A,

Thanks for your “A lot to like!”review of aloft kuala lumpur sentral.

Aloft is different by design and its great to see that you like our bright & bold modern style.

Even better to read that the hotel talent were able to delight & deliver.

I have read your comments about the room layout, you might want to try out Urban room visit. Sorry we missed the mark on this one.

Give us a-buzz on your next trip so that we can continue to a-muse you.

Live.Life.Aloft,

Paolo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    548
    312
    62
    12
    6
See reviews for
171
211
102
261
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Stayed at the Aloft for a week. It's a very new hotel located at KL Sentral which is not in the hub of the Golden Triangle but it's right near the monorail which is very easy to hop on and off to bukit bintang in the golden triangle. It's also right at the central train station and trains run regularly to the airport. It's very modern and quite industrial in its design and very functional. Very helpful young staff. Beds are awesomely comfortable. Excellent infinity roof pool. Breakfasts are ok- Though I have had better at other hotels in KL. The fresh orange juicer is good. Very close to little India (brickfeilds) where you can get good Indian meals with drinks on banana leaves for A$10 for a family of 3. Delicious!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftKL, General Manager at Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Hi Sue C,

Thanks for your “Great new good value hotel in KL” review of aloft kuala lumpur sentral.

Aloft is different by design and I am happy that you liked our jet set style.

The hotel talent work hard to delight & deliver and its great to see that they have done so.

Good to read that you liked our aloft platform beds, I have read your comments about the breakfast and will share this with the culinary team so that we can do better.

Give us a-buzz on your next KL stay-cation, so that we can continue to a-muse you.

Live.Life.Aloft,

Paolo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was cheap and one of the only ones we found with two queen beds. This was imperative as we are travelling with two small kids. The rate included breakfast and free wifi making it an overall great deal. Location provides a view of the KL and Petronas towers via the rooms and pool. The pool is outstanding with a great view. Staff or talent as they like to call it was good as well. Rooms are a bit small compared to US or AUS standards but workable. The train station allowed easy access around town. If I had to do this again, I would have taken a train to and from the hotel vice a prearranged transfer from the airport. The train station is literally across the street.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftKL, General Manager at Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Hi Jay S,

Thanks for your “One of the few with 2x queen beds” review of aloft kuala lumpur sentral.

Glad to read that you like our loft twin rooms. Good to read that you liked the location of the hotel in the heart of KL's transport hub. Even better to read that the hotel talent were able to delight & deliver.

Give us a-buzz on your next KL stay-cation so that we can continue to a-muse you.

Live.Life.Aloft,

Paolo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Just spent 2 nights in the new Aloft KL. Would recommend it over pricier Hilton other side of KL Sentral. Trendy decor, comfortable, well equipped room, fresh and informal public areas, excellent service, good gym, great view from rooftop bar and swimming pool and, unusually for Malaysia, reasonably priced wine! Gripes? Not enough electrical sockets in bed room. Quirks? Opportunity to squeeze your own orange juice at breakfast and I've never had four people open the door for me before!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftKL, General Manager at Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Hi Ian A,

Thanks for your “A welcome addition to KL Sentral” review of aloft kuala lumpur sentral.

aloft is different by design and I am happy to see that you like our bright & bold modern style.

Great to read that you liked our tiki theme Mai Bar and Splash pool with its panoramic views of the KL skyline and that the hotel talent were able to delight & deliver.

Give us a-buzz on your next visit to the heart of KL sentral so that we can continue to a-muse you.

Live.Life.Aloft,

Paolo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Very very convenient, excellent location for getting around KL. Here the staff are genuinely helpful, e.g. wanted some milk from the "re fuel" but they didn't have any available, so when I asked for some milk that was reserved for the coffee maker the young man said "that's a good idea sir" and and gave me half a cup in a coffee cup (no charge I may add). Most experienced travelers will tell you this is very unusual.... beds were great, rooms and bathrooms excellent, nice pool and the Nook cafe/restaurant does a nice buffet without being over the top. The Wi-Fi really works anywhere in the hotel.
My daughter loved the hotel and I was genuinely surprised how everything worked in a "no fuss" way. Happily recommend Aloft to all.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftKL, General Manager at Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Hi Kalbo96,

Thanks for your "Top Spot" review of aloft kuala lumpur sentral.

Aloft is different by design and I was glad to read that your daughter and you liked our easy-breezy style.

Great to see that the hotel talent were A+ and that you liked our fast & free internet.

Give us a-buzz on your next visit to that we can continue to a-muse you.

Live.Life.Aloft,

Paolo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks in March and was pleasantly surprised by the young and friendly hotel staff. New, clean and spacious room. The hotel buffet dinner was good and reasonably priced. Strategic location with ease of transportation. I have booked to stay in this hotel again next month so I guess this would be my preferred hotel in KL.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftKL, General Manager at Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Hi Kalabatu,

Thanks for your “KL New and Good Hotel” review of aloft kuala lumpur sentral.

I am happy to read that the hotel talent were able to delight & deliver.

Great to hear to hear that you will be back at aloft next month!

Give us a-buzz if there is anything we can do to a-maze you.

Live.Life.Aloft,

Paolo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I checked in for a night in Aloft during a business trip. At the reception, I was greeted with a welcome drink - nice and thoughtful after a long day's work. The staff were wearing nice bright green shirt - a striking difference from the black coat & tie.

My room was clean and complete. The setting is different from other hotels I stayed at different parts of the world - colorful, vibrant, relaxing. Air conditioning setting was perfect. Slept through the night like baby.

At breakfast, I was greeted with more young people in colorful shirt- courteous & friendly.

Check out was equally pleasant. No queue in waiting.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftKL, General Manager at Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Hi JoeFam,

Thanks for your “Nice, Clean, Friendly, Different” review of aloft kuala lumpur sentral.

Aloft is different by design and its great to see that you like our bright & bold modern style.

Good to read that you experienced and easy breezy check in and easy out.

Give us a-buzz on your next KL stay-cation so that we can continue to a-muse you.

Live.Life.Aloft,

Paolo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral

Address: No 5, Jalan Stesen Sentral | Kuala Lumpur Sentral, Kuala Lumpur 50470, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 268 hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new destination sensation in travel arrives in KL Sentral with an urban-influenced design concept. Aloft KL Sentral is a refreshing alternative on the KL hotel scene offering spacious, loft-like rooms with high ceilings and a savvy environment. The perfect getaway to the city, Aloft KL Sentral is only 28 minutes away from the KL International Airport and connected to the main KL transportation hub such as the KLIA Express, KL Monorail, KL North – South Commuter and the Light Rail Transit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.