We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is so much on offer within the hotel and beyond.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Save Saved
You added The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.5, Jalan Sultan Hishamuddin, Kuala Lumpur 50000 , Malaysia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 268 hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Darwin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“There is so much on offer within the hotel and beyond.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Tonight is our sixth night in this wonderful hotel and unfortunately tomorrow it is time to go home. We have absolutely loved our stay. Other reviewers have written about the luxurious colonial surroundings, plush rooms, delightful high tea, and fabulous staff. So let's talk about location.

One review I read talked about the hotel being in the middle of no where. If you want to spend your holiday spending hours in an anaesthetic shopping mall that you can find anywhere throughout the world, the location perhaps is not ideal , but let's talk about what is within walking distance:

1) The old Kuala Lumpur train station is just across the road, accessible by a pedestrian tunnel under the busy road. This is one stop from Sentral.
2) The National Mosque, the incredible Museum of Islamic Arts, the KL Bird Park, and everything the Lake Gardens has to offer is close by. To get to the mosque just turn left when you walk out of the hotel and it is only 5 minutes away.
3) China town
4) Brickfields. Our most favourite restaurant is there - Vishalatchi, 18 Jln Scott. This is an amazing Indian restaurant. From the street it is quite unassuming. In fact inside it is still quite basic, but the staff put banana leaves in front of us and just kept putting amazing tasting food on the leaves for only 31 RM - for a meal for two.
5) you can walk to Sentral via Brickfields, but the hotel shuttle bus is better.
6) the National Museum is just a 5 minute walk to the right of the hotel.
7) In fact we walked much further than these places. Apart from getting to Sentral, walking during the day is relatively easy in KL. At night due to uneven paths, and busy roads, walking gets a bit harder. The staff at reception can provide a map. When walking be prepared to follow the path less traveled, but that is half the pleasure. And in peak hour when the traffic is at standstill, walking or public transport is the way to go.

We loved this place, and we are sure you will too.

Make sure you check out the screening room where we stumbled on a showing of the Invisible Man. A complete step back in time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    181
    80
    30
    10
    8
See reviews for
59
116
22
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Why this hotel is not in top 5 hotel in Kuala Lumpur?
A class in its own, feel right back transported back to colonial times.
Genuine friendly and helpful service, and attentiveness to customers makes us feel special, especially when we stayed with an active toddler.

Room
We stayed in deluxe room.
Large room, ceiling tall glass length of amazing KL view (its like seeing KL evolved overtime back from colonial times up to modern), four poster bed with lots of pillows, large bathroom with dual vanity, stand alone bathtub with tv, separate toilet and shower room inside bathroom itself, and crabtree and evelyn toiletries.
Toilet room is glass sliding door that comes with curtain for privacy.

Services
We had buffet breakfast - nice selection,
We had tea time at the tea lounge - delicious with perfect setting (only wish we could book orchid conservatory room)
We went for a spa
We took complimentary shuttle service to Starhill Gallery - it was raining and person in charge hold umbrella all the way from hotel - bus - starhill.

Could improve on:
- room dine in menu is quite expensive
- Maybe if there is extra toilet amenities like other 5 star hotel - toothbrush, toothpaste, etc, this hotel would be perfect

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Stayed at this hotel in November and have rebooked to come back this November for my birthday.
Have stayed at the Renaissance x 3 times and the Westin but this hotel wins hands down. The staff are super friendly, the rooms are well appointed and the service is very efficient. We travel a lot and a club lounge would be the Olympic thing this hotel lacks and maybe if the pool was a little warmer.

I know other travellers would not be disappointed if they picked this hotel, it's 5 star and 4.5 star price. Note you are 10 to 15 minutes from the shopping area but there is an 1 hr shuttle service from the hotel that helps, catch a cab home it's easier.

Room Tip: The junior suite is worth every cent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Stayed at the Majestic for 2 nights at the beginning of May, service outstanding and typical of this type of Asian hotel. The friendliness of the staff and their genuine willingness to make you feel welcome was wonderful, the attention to detail was on par with The Mandarin Oriental in Hong King, clearly training and staff choice is of a very high calibre here. We stayed before flying to Kuala Terrenganu to celebrate our 25th anniversary, the hotel went out of their way to make the start of our holiday special, complimentary upgrade to junior suite, welcome gifts, wonderfully prepared room etc. Yes the location of the hotel is not perfect but this is largely irrelevant, the staff and service more than make up for this and I highly recommend The Majestic as an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Try everything!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Have absolutely no complaints about the hotel. Majestic, as the name goes. We booked a weekend stay to celebrate our anniversary and had called up the hotel before we made the booking to confirm parking charges. It is RM15 a night, but Sue was an absolute help and waived off the fee for us. As she noted it was our anniversary, when we arrived, there were rose petals and a bouquet of flowers waiting for us on the bed. Absolutely lovely! We also got our room upgraded to a Junior Suite for free! Very spacious and comfortable with loungechairs to watch telly after a tiring day of shopping. The bed is also extremely comfortable! The bathroom was beautiful with a nice bathtub to soak in.

When we asked for late check in, we were expecting latest 1PM. But we got a late check out of 4PM, which is very rare nowadays. Couldn't have found a better place with better service. Highly recommended and will return!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

A romantic getaway…….

We stayed for 2nights at the deluxe room king (room no. 1002) on the 10th floor a quiet corner room with an amazing view of Kuala Lumpur skyline and the old train station. We booked it thru the hotel website requesting for high floor and corner room with a good view as suggested by other TripAdvisor user. We also request for a surprised setup as we are celebrating our anniversary. We get exactly what we request for. Well done team….!!

Check in done less than 10 minutes. The reception staffs are very friendly and helpful people.

The deluxe room is huge, spacious and most importantly superbly clean and tidy. The toilet is well equipped with the lovely Evelyn & Crabtree amenities. We love the bathtub with a television build-in in front of it....awesome!!

The breakfast was wonderful....good spread of yummylicious food. Very friendly and helpful staff....a very clean and comfortable restaurant.....

There is a shuttle bus that brings us to KL Sentral every half an hour. Every 1 hour shuttle bus to KLCC and The Star Hill. Very good additional service from the hotel as theirs is no nearest rail station around the hotel area.

Overall, we had a more than we asked for. It’s a very pleasant 2 night stay in The Majestic Hotel, Kuala Lumpur. It is a definitely our choice of hotel for a romantic weekend getaway…..

Room Tip: asked for a corner room facing the Petronas Tower, The Menara Kuala Lumpur and the old train station...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

stayed for a night at the tower wing. i like the fact the are using crabtree and evelyn product, la source to be exact instead of the usual generic hotel toiletries. wide selection of breakfast though i have had better at other five-star hotel. only a slight hitch, apparently there is no complimentary return KL Express ticket from KLIA with the room as stated by agoda though the hotel has been kind enough to provide us one ticket. other that that overall it is a nice stay!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Address: No.5, Jalan Sultan Hishamuddin, Kuala Lumpur 50000 , Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 268 hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur was built in the 1930s and was ranked as one of Southeast Asia's grandest hotels. Re-opening in December 2012, the hotel is poised to reclaim this former glory; its piece-de-resistance will be The Majestic Wing, whose Neo-Classical details have been meticulously restored. An annexe, housing the majority of the plush rooms, was designed to complement the historic building. A spa has been designed in art-deco fashion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelsClick and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.