We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in KL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crossroads Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Crossroads Hotel to your Saves list
Crossroads Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 1, Jalan Raja Muda Abdul Aziz, Kuala Lumpur 50300, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 278 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Saint-Étienne, France
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in KL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Our 3 nights there were really nice, and this hotel is definitely a very good deal for the price.

Rooms are comfy and very clean.

Staff is very friendly.

Location is very convenient, even though some people could be afraid by this popular area (but safe)

Very nice stay,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    110
    57
    13
    8
See reviews for
65
106
37
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Quite far from the sights but near MRT station that would take you to them without having to change. Very good value for money. Surrounding area could be intimidating to a sole traveller not used to being out of the way of things but we didn't feel unsafe or see any signs of violence etc.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I choose this hotel because of its good reviews.
Pros:
Strategic location near Monorail Chow Kit station (1 minutes walking distance). Taxi easy to get and bus station all nearby. Near Star LRT Titiwangsa Station (10 minutes walking distance).
Many food stalls just next to the hotel and grocery store easy to reach.

This is the safest hotel at Chow Kit though the rates is a bit higher than other budget hotel. It worth the price as the security is better and safe.

Breakfast is optional and the room is clean. Mineral water is provided.
Quiet and if you want a room with attached windows, need to mention in your bookings. They have luggage for selling too which is a great idea from a hotel.

The room rates is cheaper if you book directly from Crossroads Hotel official website which is RM95 (around $32) for a double bed or twinn bed room.

Cons:
The reception is at first floor and no sign board or notice inform the guests. No hair shampoo is provided. Only body soap and towels.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the beginning of our trip from18th of may 2013. logistics first from KL sentral station take side exit and go down stairs and turn left follow walk way at end take a right across small junction then cross main road to right mono rail station is a bit hidden but there are signs or ask most people speak english. Take mono rail to 10th station chow kit when you get off turn right and go to platform 2 exit hotel is diagonal to left across the road.

The hotel is very clean and the staff are friendly and helpful exchange was 4.60 malaysia to 1 pound food and transport are very cheap from sentral to hotel was 2.50 per person their money. The biggest draw back with this hotel is that the main staff only work from 7am - 7pm so at night there is a security guard on the ground floor, we were on 3rd floor and the noise from other guests continued through the night we were not impressed. There is a laundry service 3 of their monry for 1 kilo and was very quick service.

Although there are positives i would not reccommend this hotel if you like sleep as we struggled to get some. My advice to the hotel would be to put someone on reception at night to stop unruly behaviour most people book a hotel room to sleep.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossroads-Hotel_KL, Manager at Crossroads Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear MNJDIABATE, Thank you for taking the time to post a review and also for the helpful transportation tips you've left for your fellow travelers. As you kindly indicated your date of arrival and duration of stay, it made it easier for us to followup on your feedback and investigate the source of the noise. We found during the days you were in-house, we had a large group of young medical students occupying most of the third floor, creating commotion as they moved between their multiple rooms. As this is not an acceptable excuse for the restless night you experienced, please allow us to extend our most sincere apologies. We will make a note from your feedback to prevent such occurrences from bothering other guest in the future. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope you will reconsider staying with us again when planning your next trip to Kuala Lumpur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Wasn't sure whether to give this a four or three but the price we paid and close location to the monorail tipped it over the edge to a four.

First, it is very easy to get to this hotel by monorail. You just get off at the Chow Kit station and cross the major road using the overpass that the monorail station provides. There is still one more road to cross but we didn't have any difficulty doing this in 2 stages but you have to be patient.

You enter the hotel on ground level and just walk up one flight of stairs to reception. It is quite modern so looks like the hotel has had a makeover recently. We were offered a cup of lychee drink on arrival which was very refreshing and we thought a nice gesture.

As there were three of us (sister and married couple) we had booked two rooms. They thoughtfully gave us adjoining rooms on the second floor. We noticed they had various drinks in a fridge for sale including beer which we knew would be a bonus after hot days exploring.

The two rooms where large and both had windows plus we had a small fridge in our room which was a bonus. We were very happy with our accommodation at that point.

It was a different story by the next morning. The roads are very busy and the noise goes most of the night, plus we had a heard of elephants moving furniture above us at 2am. At this point I remembered I had bought some ear plugs and dug in my bag until I found them. I have to admit, after that I had no trouble sleeping. My sister in the next room had more traffic noise than we did and her air conditioner was not working properly so she had hardly any sleep which makes sightseeing a real chore. She advised reception and they decided to move us all to another adjoining room on the floor above, which must have taken some rearranging of incoming guests.

My sister's new room was smaller but it had a fridge and coffee making facilities of it's own but our adjoining room was smaller and had no window so we opted to stay in the room we were already occupying. We advised reception and they were happy to oblige.

That night we had neighbours who watched loud TV until the early hours. Once again the ear plugs came in handy.

We thought the hotel was very good value but if you are not prepared for traffic noise it could be a sleepless stay. The adjoining rooms we stayed in were 205 and 206 - very roomy and both had windows, but make sure you state you want a room with a window if that is important to you.

The neighbourhood is on the poorer side but we had a couple of really excellent meals at the Tom Yam eatery across the road and about 100 metres down for a few MYR. There are also markets set up on the weekends just outside the hotel door.

We would stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mysore, India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed there for only one night. The hotel itself is very neat and clean and the staff are very friendly. Right from reservation, Mr Balan was very helpful and efficient. He was also kind enough to help us with getting tickets to see Petronas towers and had even arranged a small cake cut celebration as it was our anniversary! Great customer service. We were given a map and some directions abt getting around. Great location - just a minute's walk to the Chow Kit station. It is also very good value for money.
The only disadvantage we faced was that it was hard to find decent vegetarian food anywhere close by and that the hotel does not have a restaurant. The rooms are great, but do not offer great views, which i suppose one cannot expect when one wants to be at a well connected place inside the city.
Overall, I heartily recommend the hotel and Mr Balan and team's service. Will definitely go there if going to KL again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

we stayed here for 4 nights. The 1st room we stayed in on the 1st floor with window ..as soon as we entered had a musty smell but i opened the window for a bit and then it was good. room and bathroom was very clean. 2nd room was a bit larger with no window and had no smell at all. staff was very friendly and helpful with information. Even the night doorman was always smiling. just outside the hotel, there is a night market. loved the hotel and if i do go to KL will def go there again.

Room Tip: the room without the window was better than the one without the window, so if your ok with no natura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crossroads Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossroads Hotel

Address: No. 1, Jalan Raja Muda Abdul Aziz, Kuala Lumpur 50300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 278 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Crossroads Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the vibrant, artistic energy that fuels International travelers, Crossroads has been designed to blend the attributes of modernity with a unique and creative sensibility. Our mission is to provide a great and unique boutique hotel experience, ensuring our fellow travelers have a delightful, safe and the best-valued stay in the heart of Kuala Lumpur. We offer unique presentation, extraordinary experiences with convenience and a clean environment. Through a passion for traveling, we believe in not devaluing the elements of city's experience, friendship, and imagination. We have an ambition to build a fresh, imaginative hotel business exceeding customer's expectation, whilst developing long-term relationships with our guests. We commit to provide outstanding assistance for the world's explorers by our staff professionalism. Strategically located opposite the Chow Kit Monorail station, Crossroads Hotel is the perfect base for business and leisure travelers. Allowing easy access to all the hot spots around the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Crossroads Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crossroads Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.