We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Dinner” 3 of 5 stars
Review of JP Teres

JP Teres
12 Jalan Pinang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
3 2182 1234
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #174 of 2,319 restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A large terrace surrounded by lush landscaping featuring the best of Malaysian cuisine prepared at our show kitchens.
malaysia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant Dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We visited this restaurant situated inside of Grand Hyatt Kl on a saturday night First impression was very good as we were greeted by a very friendly waitress and were seated immediately. We were shown the menu and took our time to order. Prices are very standard hotel price. To start off we ordered the fruits rojak. It was a generous serving and taste quite good but i normally like fruits rojak to be served with prawn fritters which was missing here.
For mains we ordered Roasted chicken rice, chicken satay to share and Murgh makhani (chicken tandori in curry) with garlic naan.
The chicken rice was a dissapointment as the chicken pieces were dry and rough even though it was the drumstick part. Chicken satay was nice as the chicken pieces were well marinated and tender. HOwever the satay peanut sauce is a letdown as with was too watery and didn't have enough peanuts.
The murgh makhani was tasty and went really well with the garlic naan.
Deco wise i feel that they didnt utilise their ceiling height but rather decorated the whole place with too many hanging structures making the otherwise spacious restaurant seem lower than it is and theres too much going on.
Overall it was a pleasant visit because of the pleasant and friendly service and also the atmosphere was soothing.will be back to try out other dishes but definitely not the chicken rice again.
plenty of room for improvement

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    10
    13
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“pleasant outdoor seating and delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Very comfortable, cool, outdoor seating with a stone fountain in the background.
The menu featured a variety of Malaysian dishes ranging from noodles to satay to lamb curry. I went with 3 people and we were all very pleased and satisfied with our food.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“great local malaysian food at great prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

due to heavy rain we dined here one evening and were pleasantly surprised. the menu offers a wide variety of malaysian cuisine, price point is great and restaurant setting very comfortable and pleasant. would definitely recommend and revisit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Place for Local Malaysian Food in nice ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This restaurant is tucked away in a corner of the Ground Floor new Grand Hyatt Hotel, in the heart of downtown Kuala Lumpur. Walking distance from the busy Bukit Bintang shopping strip and the upmarket Pavilion shopping mall via an elevated walkway.

There is a nice outdoor sitting and full bar area with full selection of drinks.
When you are ready, you can dine at the air-conditioned dining area.

The entire restaurant has two separate viewable kitchen areas where you can view the chefs preparing all the local Malaysian favorite foods such as Hainanese chicken rice, prawn mee noodles, local curry and breads. All of them are prepared in full view of the dining area by the chefs, behind the glass kitchen. A wide menu selection of other local and western foods are available and service staff is prompt and courteous and very willing to accomodate any food requests.

Highly recommended for those visiting and wish to try local Malaysian food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normandy Park, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“spice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Very good lower priced restaurant, with many choices of yummy food. I had a plate with samosas, fried chicken and other tasty treats, I would get that again for sure.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JP Teres also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kuantan, Kuantan District
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to JP Teres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JP Teres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.