We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay again, lacks security” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Raizzy's Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Raizzy's Guesthouse to your Saves list
Raizzy's Guesthouse
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   165G Jalan Tun H. S. Lee, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 274 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay again, lacks security”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Pros: great location, wifi worked perfectly in all areas, good showers

Cons: dorm room was the size of a shoe box with unstable beds, toilets were never clean when I used them
The biggest con is that the dorm rooms do not lock which is a problem. A random man off the street got in past the code locked front door and I woke up to him leaning over me in bed trying to steal my phone which was charging right next to me! As a solo female traveller this definetly made me feel unsafe and I got out of there as soon as I could. Staff were indifferent.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    61
    27
    10
    6
See reviews for
10
52
43
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Had to recover from a long cycling ride, stayed 3 days in the hostel and had an amaing time. The staff is the nicest staff i've met so far on my trip. you really can have a good laugh with them !!!! And the hostel is nice and clean !! Tv with some movies on hardisk so if you want to relax you can !!!!!! thanks guys !!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Definitely the best part of this guesthouse was the friendly and helpful staff. The rooms (we stayed in two different doubles) were adequate: somewhat worn but reasonably clean with pretty hard beds. The promo shots give a slightly rosy picture. :) Most of the double rooms are located downstairs along a hallway leading off from the common area, so noise can be an issue. Needless to say, sound insulation is non-existent as per the norm. We were able to switch to a quieter room upstairs with no hassle. The cleanliness of the common bathrooms varied but was generally OK. Still wouldn't go without flipflops! :)

The free breakfast was a nice touch, although very basic: white toast, margarine and suspiciously pink strawberry jam which I seriously doubt contained any actual strawberries. Instant coffee, tea and free clean drinking water were available at all times.

The guesthouse is located in Chinatown and there isn't a whole lot to do or see in the immediate vicinity, but the nearest train station (Pasar Seni) is only about a two minute walk away, so transportation isn't a problem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have been in KL a few days before our trip to Sumatra. We were looking for a nice and not too expensive place in chinatown.
The guesthouse is not to expensive for the average price in KL, you have the metro station not far and the main railway station to go to batu caves 10 minutes walking. There are a lot of tourist hot spots in the neighbourhood and around.
The common areas are really nice and the breakfast is included (a simple coffe&toast). The worse was the bedroom, really realy small, with a horrible mattress and really noisy. All the rooms were with sharing bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I had a single room at raizzy's, which was basic but at least had a window and a big bed.

the showers and toilets are cleaned on a regular basis and everything was in good shape.

the staff was really friendly and tried to help whenever they could.
the wi-fi was fast and the computer was free to use at any time if you did'nt bring your own.
good vibes.

the only downside was the wake up call from the temple next door, but that way at least I woke up early every day to go out and do things.

unfortunately I had to move out, which was my fault, because I did'nt tell the I was staying longer than I had paid for, so then I had to move across the street to reggae2 guesthouse, which was a bad experience, so I only stayed there one night, then to another hostel in the same street, which was even worse.
my tip: book in advance and don't bother going somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

My only gripe with this place was that the communal areas didn't have that great an atmosphere. Other than that, it is a great location, free tea, coffee and water, hot showers (and plenty of them), breakfast is included. The 8 bed dorm could have been larger (although that isn't so important) but the beds were comfy, the rooms were clean and the air conditioning did its job. It is also nice and secure with a key code for the front door and lockers in the bedrooms. Wifi was fast and reliable.

Not a lot else I can say.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankston, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This place is great for the price! Rooms are basic. Breakfast is bread, a toaster & instant coffee. You can watch a movie, surf the net, drink or chat with other travellers in the front lounge area. Laundry is cheap & same day. Maher at reception is a top guy. Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Raizzy's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raizzy's Guesthouse

Address: 165G Jalan Tun H. S. Lee, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 274 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Raizzy's Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raizzy’s Guesthouse is a brand new guesthouse in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. We understand the backpacker’s needs. We do our best to serve you well. Affordable Price includes: quality mattress, pillow, blanket, towel, soft quilt cover. Individual electrical sockets, air-condition, security locker, FREE high speed internet, FREE Desktop Computer for use, FREE simple breakfast, a cup of premium coffee or tea FREE, FREE shower foam, Hot & cold shower, FREE hot and cold water refill, FREE use of iron and ironing board, FREE use of hairdryer. Central Location, provides convenience and cost saving to our budget backpackers. We are located next to Sri Maha Mariamman Temple, one of the traveller’s hot spots in Chinatown, Kuala Lumpur.(So you may leave your shoes in the guesthouse and walk into the temple without paying for shoe locker fee ;-) Petaling street, one of the Malaysia’s heritage spots where you will find endless antique stores and delicious local foods, cafes, clothing, souvenirs, cultural performances, temples, hundred year old buildings and so much more all from your doorstep.Our neighborhood’s famous reggae bar recommended by Lonely planet, just a few steps away from guesthouse. Public Transportation. Less than 1 minute walking distance to Pasar Seni LRT Station, where the 1st LRT station in Chinatown right after the KL Sentral Station. Less than 5 minutes walking distance to Masjid Jamek LRT Station, Plaza Rakyat LRT Station & Pudu Sentral Bus Station. Less than 1 min to Klang Bus Station. International bank ATMs, Money Changer and local post office for your convenient mailing services are within our location area.Comfort like a home away from home. You will enjoy our cozy lounge with LCD TV(FULL HD) DVD player, mini library for book exchange, great communal area for backpackers, small yet natural garden with grass and flowers, clean toilet. And most importantly our friendly and helpful staff, who are ever ready to serve you better, with enquiries about travel in Kuala Lumpur, discount ticket for KL Tower, Bird park and more. Security, 24-Hours CCTVs in the building, Door Access with security code only available for guests. No curfews. Clean room, clean toilet. Dayshift housekeeper available to take care of the cleanliness of the guesthouse with our executive monitor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelBookers, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Raizzy's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raizzy's Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.