We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff, good location, nice room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lok Ann Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lok Ann Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lok Ann Hotel
113A, Jalan Petaling, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 262 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, good location, nice room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We were really happy with our experience at Hotel Lok Ann. We stayed 3 days the first time then 1 night after returning from Melaka to get a flight the next day.

It is a good location for exploring Chinatown and around the main tourist drag in Kuala Lumpur. It is also really close to transport to other parts of KL. There are also an amazing Nonya restaurant just around the corner. The staff will provide you with maps and tell you exactly where to go and how to get there.The room we had the first time we stayed was 80 ringit, and after looking at some dingier places for the same money and some swankier places for slightly less this felt like good value. The room itself had 2 double beds which was nice and a hot shower and a fan. It was also quite big and had all white wooden furniture and some flowers. It got a little hot and was a little noisy is my only complaint but we had a room looking down Jalan Petaling so not all bad and understandably noisy. Overall friendly staff except for one grumpy lady that tried to refuse making us breakfast (it is definitely included).

When we came back they organized a lift to the airport really early in the morning for a reasonable price, they even made sure to ring around to find other guests to make it cheaper. When they found out we were honeymooners they put us in an even bigger room with AC for the same price we had already been paying. Wish I had mentioned it sooner!

Overall the guesthouse had nice communal spaces, good WIFI connection, nice rooms and really lovely staff (except for grumpy morning lady).

Room Tip: rooms away from the main drag are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    14
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
3
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Every trip is more about people then about conditions where you stay. Well, conditions in Lok Ann are quite good - hot shower, simple but big rooms with windows!! and aircon + breakfast for 80 MR. Nothing to complain about, but a bit of ants in the room.

But the main specialty of Lok Ann hotel is really super friendly and helpful staff. They all could provide a lot of information about KL: places which are worth visiting, what is the easiest way to get from one place to another etc. And it definitely raises a value of a stay in a foreign country.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeles City, Philippines
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Lok Ann hotel is located in a good location near china town and heritage walk. More of a guest house than a hotel. Recommended for backpackers and budgeted trip. The hotel is not well maintained especially in the third floor area. There are also hotels near the area to choose from besides Lok Ann Hotel.

Room Tip: see the room first before checking in. the 2nd floor is well maintained than the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Nice to be back after a year of travel. Willi (the owner) meets me at the train station.It's great to see him again. At the hotel I meet his dad, Helen the receptionist, Veronica the houskeeper and everything feels a bit familiar - almost like home. I like the rooms and that you have your own bathroom. It's perfect to settle down and have a bit of privacy. The beds are comfortable and I know I'm going to sleep like a baby tonight.

I can definitely recommend this place!!! Perfect location, easy to get here with public transportation, nice staff and clean & comfortable rooms.

Enjoy (and say hello to Willi from me ;-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

The staff at Lok Ann was very friendly and service minded. We actually went to Birdnest guesthouse first but were offered to stay at lok Ann cause they were full. We decide to stay there cause we wanted out own room with private bathroom because we were sick at the time. The owner (the man) drove us to the hospital without charging us anything and they also helped us with anything else we needed. Rooms are spacious but of basic standard. There are a lot of trouble with bed bugs and cockroaches in china town, the staff were honest about this and asks their guests to not eat in the rooms and so on to prevent them. We didn't have any problems at all though! Saw to ants in 4 days, that's it. This was a perfectly fine place to stay at for a couple of days on a small budget and location is great. But the friendly staff of course made our stay good despite hospital visits and so on... I recommend this place and the Birdnest guesthouse as well even though we didn't actually spend a night there.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Thanks for a lovely stay, very helpful and very good english aswell. We would stay again. Good location, very good WIFI. Helpful staff. We couldn't make the breakfast next morning as we were leaving early and so the owner bought us water and sweets for our onward journey!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

It is more a guesthouse than a hotel. They offer private rooms (very big ones!). The location is very good, just near the LRT station and near Petaling street. The staff is very friendly and they help you to have a good time in KL.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lok Ann Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lok Ann Hotel

Address: 113A, Jalan Petaling, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 262 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Lok Ann Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lok Ann Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;