We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and OK rooms for the price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lok Ann Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lok Ann Hotel to your Saves list
Lok Ann Hotel
113A, Jalan Petaling, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 284 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and OK rooms for the price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

The staff at Lok Ann was very friendly and service minded. We actually went to Birdnest guesthouse first but were offered to stay at lok Ann cause they were full. We decide to stay there cause we wanted out own room with private bathroom because we were sick at the time. The owner (the man) drove us to the hospital without charging us anything and they also helped us with anything else we needed. Rooms are spacious but of basic standard. There are a lot of trouble with bed bugs and cockroaches in china town, the staff were honest about this and asks their guests to not eat in the rooms and so on to prevent them. We didn't have any problems at all though! Saw to ants in 4 days, that's it. This was a perfectly fine place to stay at for a couple of days on a small budget and location is great. But the friendly staff of course made our stay good despite hospital visits and so on... I recommend this place and the Birdnest guesthouse as well even though we didn't actually spend a night there.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    14
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
3
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Thanks for a lovely stay, very helpful and very good english aswell. We would stay again. Good location, very good WIFI. Helpful staff. We couldn't make the breakfast next morning as we were leaving early and so the owner bought us water and sweets for our onward journey!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

It is more a guesthouse than a hotel. They offer private rooms (very big ones!). The location is very good, just near the LRT station and near Petaling street. The staff is very friendly and they help you to have a good time in KL.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The hotel is easy to find, but the lobby is very small. The staffs are very helpful, give many informations about the room, directions and preferences. The room is quite dark and oldies, but quite big for triple room. The hotel just give towels and soap, the bathroom is oldies and hard to have hot water. Because of right in front of the Chinatown and some buildings construction nearby, so the night in the room is very noisy. But the hotel location is great, just in front of the Chinatown, at night there is a night market there and the hotel is also near Pasar Seni LRT Station (around 15 minutes walk) and around 30 minutes walk to Central Market. The wifi connection in the room is very good. The hotel is quite secure because the door locked at night and can only be opened with password.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights after took a bus from Singapore. The bus came KL too early than expected (abt 4am). Since we dont know where to go, we take a taxi to the guesthouse, and even though our room was only available after 1 pm, the staff let us in and rest in a lounge room. It is nice.
The room is big enough for 4 people, lovely wall deco, free wifi and internet service, friendly staff and nice view.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is a good stay for backpackers that want to be in the heart of Chinatown. Free Wifi and big clean rooms, a bit noisy in the night. Friendly stuff. Very close to the LRT and bus station and the old Central market.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

In this hotel I experienced a lot of friendly people. The manager took care of us very well. The rooms are average but there is everything you need. A good bed to sleep in and a shower with warm water. Internet and wifi is also avalaible.The hotel is located in the centre of china town so you can easily go out to explore kuala lumpur. If you need something don't hesitate to ask the host at the reception. They are more then happy to help you out. The prices they charge for the rooms are very cheap. I had a great time here and felt very welcome. A great place to go when your looking for a cheap, friendly and comfortable backpackers hotel. Succes guarenteed!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
The 5 Elements Hotel
The 5 Elements Hotel
#129 of 286 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grid 9 Hotel
Grid 9 Hotel
#45 of 286 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel China Town 2
Hotel China Town 2
#122 of 286 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel 1915
Hotel 1915
#112 of 286 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Explorers Guesthouse
The Explorers Guesthouse
#7 of 167 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
0.4 mi away
BackHome KL
BackHome KL
#1 of 167 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lok Ann Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lok Ann Hotel

Address: 113A, Jalan Petaling, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 284 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Lok Ann Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lok Ann Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.