We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“KL trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lok Ann Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Lok Ann Hotel to your Saves list
Lok Ann Hotel
113A, Jalan Petaling, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 265 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“KL trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Thanks for a lovely stay, very helpful and very good english aswell. We would stay again. Good location, very good WIFI. Helpful staff. We couldn't make the breakfast next morning as we were leaving early and so the owner bought us water and sweets for our onward journey!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    14
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
3
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

It is more a guesthouse than a hotel. They offer private rooms (very big ones!). The location is very good, just near the LRT station and near Petaling street. The staff is very friendly and they help you to have a good time in KL.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The hotel is easy to find, but the lobby is very small. The staffs are very helpful, give many informations about the room, directions and preferences. The room is quite dark and oldies, but quite big for triple room. The hotel just give towels and soap, the bathroom is oldies and hard to have hot water. Because of right in front of the Chinatown and some buildings construction nearby, so the night in the room is very noisy. But the hotel location is great, just in front of the Chinatown, at night there is a night market there and the hotel is also near Pasar Seni LRT Station (around 15 minutes walk) and around 30 minutes walk to Central Market. The wifi connection in the room is very good. The hotel is quite secure because the door locked at night and can only be opened with password.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights after took a bus from Singapore. The bus came KL too early than expected (abt 4am). Since we dont know where to go, we take a taxi to the guesthouse, and even though our room was only available after 1 pm, the staff let us in and rest in a lounge room. It is nice.
The room is big enough for 4 people, lovely wall deco, free wifi and internet service, friendly staff and nice view.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

This is a good stay for backpackers that want to be in the heart of Chinatown. Free Wifi and big clean rooms, a bit noisy in the night. Friendly stuff. Very close to the LRT and bus station and the old Central market.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

In this hotel I experienced a lot of friendly people. The manager took care of us very well. The rooms are average but there is everything you need. A good bed to sleep in and a shower with warm water. Internet and wifi is also avalaible.The hotel is located in the centre of china town so you can easily go out to explore kuala lumpur. If you need something don't hesitate to ask the host at the reception. They are more then happy to help you out. The prices they charge for the rooms are very cheap. I had a great time here and felt very welcome. A great place to go when your looking for a cheap, friendly and comfortable backpackers hotel. Succes guarenteed!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed here 1 night after a staff member from our previous guesthouse in Melaka pre-booked a room for us. We got room 24 from the 2nd fl. Rooms are big but ridiculously noisy - there were even moments when normal discussion was impossible. And unfortunately the noise continues throughout the night. The area is very touristy and one should be aware of pickpockets etc. We ended up leaving after the first night and ended up to golden triangle instead.

That being said, Lok Ann staff is extremely friendly and they will help you with any issues. They even wanted to help us find an alternative guesthouse but we had arranged tha aleady ourselves. If you are not a light sleeper, this is definately a good choice from Chinatown.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lok Ann Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lok Ann Hotel

Address: 113A, Jalan Petaling, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 265 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Lok Ann Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lok Ann Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.