We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really friendly staff and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amigos KL Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Amigos KL Guest House to your Saves list
Amigos KL Guest House
No.70, Jalan Kampung Dollah, Lorong 1/77A | Behind Times Square Mall, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 267 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Really friendly staff and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Really friendly and helpful staff, addressed us by name every day :) breakfast available every morning, house cleaning, great location 5 mins from monorail. Basic room with bathroom but that's what we paid for. One member of staff gave us a lift to the bus station :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    26
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
22
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Karlsruhe, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed in the 4 bed dorm at amigos in august 2014 for several nights.
I thought the staff of this hostel are REALLY great. The main person at reception actually remembered my name, and always helped me out with any kind of info I needed. If he did not know, he would look it up. Truly helpful! Halfway through my stay I had to go to the hospital and the next day (when it turned out that I had to stay there for several days) he took my backpack to the hospital, so I had some clothes and stuff. SOOO nice of him!!!! They have maps and info about all the things you might want to see in KL

I thought the rooms were really CLEAN, you get fresh linen and towel, and they smell good and fresh. I personally saw how they changed the sheets after every visit, so no concerns there. Found no stains, hair or anything in my bed.
They have big lockers in the room, so you can lock up all your stuff.

Breakfast is basic, but good. Toast (and also have a toaster!!) butter, jam, fruit, tea and coffe.
However, they have free hot and cold drinking water and tea all day, so that is pretty nice and saves some money :)
Small kitchen that you can use during day with some cutlery, glasses, plates etc (but NO oven or place to cook!!) I put some food in the fridge and was no problem, as long as its really not a lot.

LOCATION is good, right behind times square mall. You can find food, supermarket, money changers and everything you might want in the mall. Train station just 5 to 7 minutes walk away, and train connects with all modes of transport in KL so pretty good! Also easy to find, because you can see the times mall building from lots of places in town, so easy to prient towards it.

WIFI was free and worked well, little but slow in rooms on second floor, but no worries in lounge area.

Only slightly neg point: rooms are a bit small, at least 4 bed dorm, just enough rooms for 4 backpacks.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This place is conveniently located right behind Times Square Mall and therefore right by the Imbi rail stop. We struggled to find it as I think my girlfriend was holding the map upside-down but thats neither here nor there. City maps and brochures are in the foyer once we arrived.

The rooms are average to small size, shared bathrooms, air conditioning and wifi. The breakfast is toast with jam and sometimes there is fruit, with tea and coffee etc. The bathrooms and bedrooms could use some hooks as hangers are provided but there is nowhere to hang things.

There is a laundry service but we would not recommend this. We found small stains still on our clothes and they did not smell like they had been washed either. Sadly we dropped 30rg ($5/kg) and we found this unsatisfactory but had already left for our next stop.

The bed sheets had some dark black hairs on them but they changed them right away but got a similar result. I think the guests may be overly hairy and the washing machine does not do a good job.

We found this place of acceptable quality and is probably the cheapest option on Jalan 77b. Not to social or anything but a good location for transport and shopping.

Try the indian food hall 100m up the road. 6rg for 2 scoops of mutton curry with rice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The best thing about this hostel are the comfy beds. Towels, sheets and blankets were also smell-free. We stayed on a dorm-type room and the space is just enough for a couple of bags. Be careful when climbing up or down the bunk beds. The ladders are too small and narrow and we got scratches from scraping our legs on sharp edges. Everything seems to be clean, except for the odor wafting from the neighbors. Breakfast is good and basic, don't expect much, just coffee, toast and oatmeal. The staff are generally helpful, except that they don't get up until 8 am. We arrived quite early and we were somewhat embarrassed to have been the ones to wake them up, despite sending them a note in advance that we'll be checking in early. The hostel was full so we weren't able to check in early too. The location is pretty convenient, just a few steps from the Times Square Mall, which has everything. The monorail station is also connected to the mall. In summary: clean, basic, cheap, comfy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The staff here were fantastic and could not have been more helpful, polite or eager to please. The hostel was basic as expected and bar the rooms, appeared clean.

The room I stayed in was dirty. There were toe nails on the carpet and hairs in the bed. A blanket was provided, but it was again covered in hair and smelt musty and I doubt it had been washed between guests.

I stayed here again several weeks later as I already had a booked and paid for it. Again, I couldn't fault the staff, but I found severals hairs in the bed again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at this guest house and we were really pleased with the choice. Beds were super comfy and rooms clean. Shower was nice and air con worked well. Wifi in our room.
Breakfast of toast, coffee, tea, fruit and porridge available and really welcome. The owners/staff were really helpful.
Location is just by the Times Square shopping mall so great for cinema (10 screens and Imax) shopping and sky train to sights. Also the free GoKL bus goes from the bottom of the street so really easy to get everywhere. Great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at amigos when we arrived in kl. The staff is really nice and the rooms are good value for money. Our plane arrived at 5am, so we asked if we could check in early if possible, so that we could have a shower after 14 hours of flight. The guesthouse is also located in a quiet street which is nice to get away from the noise sometimes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amigos KL Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amigos KL Guest House

Address: No.70, Jalan Kampung Dollah, Lorong 1/77A | Behind Times Square Mall, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 267 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring budget rooms with free Wi-Fi, Amigos KL Guest House is a 2-minute walk from IMBI Monorail Station and Times Square Shopping Mall. Jalan Bukit Bintang is just a 5-minute walk away. Air-conditioned and equipped with a clothes rack, all rooms have a desk and include slippers. Select rooms come with shared bathroom access. Amigos KL Guest House is a 10-minute taxi ride from Kuala Lumpur City Centre and KL Tower. Attractions including the Bird Park and Lake Gardens are a 15-minute drive away. It takes approximately 45-minutes by car to reach Kuala Lumpur International Airport. Guests enjoy the convenience of a 24-hour front desk and free private parking. Other guest services include luggage storage and laundry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Amigos KL Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amigos KL Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.