We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super cool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Batu Caves

Batu Caves
Batu Caves Sri Subramaniam Temple, Kuala Lumpur 68100, Malaysia
60 3 2287 942
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$44*
and up
Private Tour: Batu Caves and Temple Afternoon...
Ranked #19 of 101 Attractions in Kuala Lumpur
Type: Religious Sites, Caverns/ Caves, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: These impressive limestone caves are also used for Hindu festivals and pilgrimages.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Super cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I've been to many Hindu temples but this one offered some breath-taking views. The statues to Hanuman and Murgun were huge and offered some great opportunities for pictures.
The only cost associated with the Batu Caves is getting there. The train from KL Sentral cost 2 RM (less than $1 USD) for a one way ticket.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,553
    2,289
    1,072
    211
    117
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Quatres Bornes
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Short Pilgrimage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Very nice location...the big Muruga statue is beautiful, reminds me of religious sites back in Mauritius. Visited in the morning so not too many people but can get very crowded for festivals. The cave inside is majestic and a wonder. Climbing the steps to the inside of the temple is an exercise in itself and the view form the top is awesome. However, it is highly recommended not to mingle with the monkeys as things can get ugly, as per some reports.

However, I seriously think, as a sacred religious spot, the temple, the inside of the mountain and the surroundings must be cleaned more often. Some structures are in dire need of refurbishment. Once done, the place will shine in its true colours!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Worth being exhausted!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We enjoyed the caves very much. Once we had climbed the 272 stairs, we totally out of breath with sore calves and had outwitted the cheeky monkeys, we appreciated the view from the top and the appearance of the natural caves. Take care if you take a packet along as the monkeys WILL attempt to grab it! They will also take water bottles and peak caps! They are fearless! We caught the monorail from Imbi station to KL Sentral.(we were staying in the BB area) This cost 1.60 RM pax. From KL Sentral, catch the train to Batu Caves (4RM pax) The ride on the train is pleasant as the train is comfortable, airconditioned and it allowed us to restore our energy. Give yourself about 2,5 hours in total for the roundtrip, or thereabouts.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“nice cave”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

its good, but were not able to walk in a high and long stairs because we have only 15 minutes allowed to that place

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Early rise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We took a taxi to batu caves at 7 30am to miss traffic and crowds. As time was an issue to caught a taxi although post experience the train would have been fine and much cheaper. Got there by 8. Only locals there. Few people exercising up the steps. Loads of monkeys. .. had heard they were a nuisance but found them adorable to watch. Lots of deity statues. Beautiful colours. A ceremony going on in cave. Walked down and bought finger bananas and green coconuts for breakfast. Enjoyed the experience. You need no more than an hour in cave. .. but go early and skip crowds.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Batu Caves also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Batu Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Batu Caves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.