We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   62 Jalan Sultan | Chinatown, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE WIFI & Cancellation!
Ranked #50 of 278 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Horrible hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

I find it hard to rate the rooms for this hotel as i never got to see one. After an already stressful travel day i arrived at the hotel with my boyfriend and upon check in was told that our room (pre booked months in advance) was no longer available due to renovations. We asked why this information was not told to us upon time of booking to be told that 'we did not know about renovations then' and had no explanation for why they did not let us know as soon as our room became unavailable. We were offered an 'upgrade' to their 'nicer' sister hotel, which we accepted and paid through the swiss in for a room for two nights. Once we arrived at the 'nicer' sister hotel we discovered immediately that this was a lie, room rates were half the price of the swiss inn. The receptionist told us we'd been booked for one night (not two) in a twin room (not a double) and that she would not fix this and we would have to call the swiss in from our room so they could change it.
We arrived at our room to discover a dirty messy bathroom with rubbish in the room and the bed recently slept in and unmade.
This is unnacceptable so we went straight back to the swiss inn and requested a refund only to be told that we were never charged. Despite showing them proof of payment they adamantly denied ever charging us and refused refund even though we stayed in neither hotel.
We found alternate accommodation and tried to follow the refund up with the swiss inn the next day, but to date this issue is still unresolved.
Worst customer service i have ever come across.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissInnKL, General Manager at Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Swiss-Inn Kuala Lumpur as your accommodation of choice during your recent visit to the city and for your comments. We would like to apologise on the above matter and have noted with great concern and we wish to allay any doubts you may have arising from your recent experiences. The inconveniences encountered is regretted and while we do out utmost best to ensure that all our esteemed guests are accorded with premier service standard, we have acknowledged your valuable inputs.

I will contact you, thru your email on the above matter.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    294
    182
    63
    47
See reviews for
110
239
80
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

First impressions do last for me and I'd say this hotel didn't do too great in this aspect. The stay ended well though as there were some great things about this hotel as well.

First the area where the hotel was located was a bit crowded, there were a lot vendors, people walking along and vehicles passing the narrow street. We went to Petaling St which is a 5-min walk from the hotel but didn't get to buy anything. I don't understand why local vendors would charge tourists with exaggeratedly high prices for what their selling. We're really not that rich and haggling is too much of a hassle so why do we have to go through all that stress?

Secondly, the hotel doesn't offer help with baggage so my friends and I had to drag our stuff to the elevator, through the hallways and along a flight of stairs. The walls of our room at the 2F is a tacky color of orange and eventually I figured out that each floor's wall colors correspond to the color of the rainbow. Cool.

Anyway, our stay got better after that. The room and beds were spacious enough and the pillows were really soft and comfortable. There was a hairdryer available which is always a plus. There was only one plug available though so no chance of charging mobile phones, using a laptop and drying my hair at the same time. There was a TV in the room but there were only about 11 channels. Most of the movies/shows were in english though so it was fine. Restroom/ shower room was a bit small though but clean except for the fact that the towel provided had a stain on it. It was replaced the next morning though when our room was cleaned.

Breakfast food was average as well. There's not much tasty food choices but I liked the jam (kaya?) provided during our first morning and they had a fresh-tasting orange juice.

Since we wanted to go shopping it was great that the hotel was near the Central Market (about 15mins walking distance) which had really nice and cheap stuff.
From there we got to walk to the train station then took a bus to the Mid-Valley mall then we rode a train to KLCC so we could visit the Petronas Towers. We took a cab from there, going back to the hotel; travel time took us about 15 mins.

Hence, location of the hotel wasn't so bad; we just prefer not to go out at night.

Check-out was quick as well and the crew were nice and accommodating. Overall, it was an average experience--roughly just the right accommodation and service for the amount we paid for the stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

After booking a superior room close to 3 months before my stay I arrived late at night after an extremely long travel day to be told that due to renovations we would be moved to the sister hotel. After arriving there even later to a very substandard room that would have cost half as much as the room I had already paid for (that also had not been cleaned that day, or bed made) we had to wander around Chinatown at 10pm to find a replacement. Extremely unprofessional as I was still charged even through I did not stay at either hotel. Doesn't deserve the reputation

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have stayed there a couple of time due to its locational advantage. One of its side opens into Petaling night market (not much to shop unless you want cheap replicas). It is walking distance to some malls and mono rail. They have recently renovated the rooms. Clean rooms. Standard rooms are without windows so pl. check with them before you book. The breakfast is good and the best part was when they packed delicious sandwitches for us for our morning flight by themselves!

For Indians you have a seven eleven just opposite to the hotel, subway is round the corner. Good foreign exhange shops cheaper than malls.

We stayed at Swiss Hotel also wchich was definitely much better than this but Swiss Inn is very fairly priced.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband, one year old and I booked in here for 1 night.

positive

- very clean room
-great breakfast buffet
-very fair price for standard and location
-excellent spot 9right in the middle of china town market)- great for late night shopping
-lots of places to buy food outside for a cheaper price than hotel menu

negative
-the only negative i can think of is you have to pull you baggafe 2 flights before reaching the elivator

thats about it in my opinion. would definatly book in here again.good feel to the place :)

Room Tip: take advantage of the location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at a non smoking room, the location is at the China town center of business. A real melting pot of people (Pataling Street) however the housekeeping is slow in cleaning the rooms. Hotel rates are okay and car service is always available and drivers have good comand in English.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed here previously, so knew what I was getting. So I thought. What a pleasant shock. They've since renovated and the whole hotel including hallways, rooms & dining area looks fantastic. You step into Petaling night market but don't hear a sound from the room. The monorail is around the corner 5mins. No pool but my intent is to explore KL.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur

Address: 62 Jalan Sultan | Chinatown, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 278 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe. Our 20sqm Deluxe Room with window. Fitted with a choice of Queen and Twin beds. Connecting rooms upon request. Access to Extra-bed (chargeable). It comfortably accommodates with 2 Adults & 1 Children below age of 12. All rooms are designed and furnished to meet the discerning guests' needs - individual air-conditioning, private bath with shower, hairdryer, iron/ironing board upon request, IDD call and complimentary 2 bottle of mineral water with coffee/tea making facilities. LCD Television with in-house video channel, selected Astro channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, HostelBookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Swiss Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Swiss Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.