We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location - Careful with Hotel Car Parking” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Malaya Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Malaya Hotel to your Saves list
Malaya Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Jalan Hang Lekir, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #213 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Location - Careful with Hotel Car Parking”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2008

I stayed at the Malaya on my drive up to Ipoh with my family and parents.
Booked 2 delux Family Rooms. 1 came with window, the other without. Rooms are basic, small and comfortable for the night. Did not deal much with the hotel staff except for check-in and out and yet I have to agree with some of the reviewers that they aren't that service orientated.
Location is good as it is just next to the Petaling Street, Chinatown and the Central market is within walking distance. However, this same location also makes the place hard to find if you drive because you have to navigate towards the bus station and find that small one-way street to the hotel entrance which is also an entrance to the "no-traffic" Petaling Street. if you are driving, take note that the hotel has a stack/pallet parking system located via a small lane infront of the hotel. Be sure to read the "rules" of parking posted in front of this facility... :-)

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Services
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    21
    24
    10
    14
See reviews for
8
14
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bettendorf, Ia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2008

Reasonably priced. Very convenient to MTR. About 5 minutes walk to Pasar Seni station which takes you to KL Sentral and the express train to KL International Airport. Chinatown night market is right next door. Hotel staff friendly and obliging. Dining room breakfast nothing to get excited about but adequate. Dinner time cuisine fairly ordinary. Room small and could use a good cleaning,

  • Liked — A china town experience
  • Disliked — a bit dirty
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2008

Stayed over 3 nights in April and it wasnt that bad for the price. No window in the room but then we only used the room for sleeping in. Central for China town and 2 min walk to the transport system. Food was Ok had worse but then I dont go to Malaysia to eat hotel food when the choice within a minutes walk is amazing. If you do stay here check out the reggae bar round the corner great atmosphere

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penang
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2008

they must go out of there way to employ only the most miserable ,rude people. decided to stay at the malaya due to its location,we had one of the junior suites,and it was dirty .dark and smelly.it was a pleasure to go out each day and not use the room, but the worst experience we had was at reception,these people must have been trained to be as rude as possible, i have never met a more miserable group of people.we will definately never stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2007

A very bad experience. We arrived a the hotel at 10pm. Reservation made with Hotelclub.net and ALREADY PAID! The hotel told us that all rooms were sold out and that was our problem. After 2 hours of talking ( they didn't want to give the money back or to find another place to stay ) a very nice guy, decided to share his room with a friend and so he left his room for us (The hotel staff was very rude and unfriendly). The next day ( The hotel told us that they were all booked until the end of august ) 2 rooms availables...... so we discussed another time! At the end we knew that the hotel assigned the rooms to the first persons who come to the hotel. And if you booked on internet? Well, it's your problem!
BTW, the room was very bad, no windows and not very clean.
Good location but DON'T GO THERE.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of honesty, inhospitable
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2007

Reasonably priced. Very convenient to MTR. About 5 minutes walk to Pasar Seni station which takes you to KL Sentral and the express train to KL International Airport.

Chinatown night market is right next door.

Hotel staff friendly and obliging.

Dining room breakfast nothing to get excited about but adequate. Dinner time cuisine fairly ordinary.

Room small but clean.

Worth considering.

  • Liked — Convenience
  • Disliked — Dining room food
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2006

i regret for making this review this late. i should've shared our experience when we stayed at this terrible, pathetic, cheap hotel earlier. but anyway, this hotel made our trip to kuala lumpur a complete disaster. first off, the location. yeah it's close to chinatown but what the heck, i'd rather run a mile than stay at this place again. the surroundings are dirty, with street vendors all over the place. the lobby is so small and unpleasantly decorated. unattentive staff!! there was an instance where i came to borrow an adaptor for my charger, they couldnt understand what i am saying and they even laughed at me! my goodness. the pathways were horrible. very dark and smelly. when we enterd the room, that was when our biggest nightmare came to reality. it was smelly, the rooms were old and badly needed a renovation, no, a total make over! some of the furnitures were broken. the beds, the sheets, the pillows.. errrrr, terrible. i cannot forget when i was about to take a bath and then i heard someone from the other room vomitting. goodness... during our first night there, we already wanted to go home. so please, enough that we were victimized of this place, don't stay here. unless you want to ruin your trip.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Malaya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malaya Hotel

Address: 16 Jalan Hang Lekir, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Malaya Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Malaya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malaya Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malaya Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.