We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel near Petrona Towers as well as Monorail” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maya Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Maya Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
Hotel Maya Kuala Lumpur
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great hotel near Petrona Towers as well as Monorail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Ok let's get this out of the way first - as it took some discussing before deciding to give this a rating of Very Good.

On the evening of our checkout (we had checked out at noon and left our luggage in storage for the day), we walked back to the hotel to pick up our bags and wait for our transfer to the airport. Having been given our bags, and with a fair few people in the process of checking in, my spouse stepped into the lounge with our bags to get out of the way of people whilst I went to use the bathroom. When I came back, she was far from impressed, having been told - and this is not a direct quote as the English of some of the staff was very limited and so I'm paraphrasing - that she had to leave and the room was for paying guests.

Now, whilst I could possibly understand it might not be desirable to have guests waiting for transfers to hang out in the lounge, I believe there would have been better ways of handling the situation and speaking to guests in what was quite a rude manner. Once again, one can perhaps attribute this to a lack of understanding of the English language (and granted, the English of the staff member in question was obviously miles ahead of our Malay, which was non-existent), but with it raining outside and only one single guest in the lounge, one might have expected/hoped for it to be handled differently.

A few more incidents - our coffee making facility wasn't working, nor were the speakers in the bathroom and the shower drain flooded the bathroom floor on our first day.

By the way, I was under the impression the main areas of the hotel was smoke free but this does not seem to be the case as we kept seeing people smoking in common areas of the hotel. Honestly can't say if this was staff turning a blind eye to guests breaking non-smoking rules or if one was allowed to smoke but if the former, it makes the above experience all the more frustrating.

That was a long introduction. You might read the above and think we had a horrid time and that we've made a mistake when rating the hotel but nothing could be further from the truth. We would both happily stay at the Maya again as we found it a lovely hotel and would check for availability next time we go to KL.

The location is superb, only a few minutes walk from the Petrona Towers and perhaps no more than 500m to the monorail - just turn right as you exit the hotel, walk about 400m down the road to an intersection where you cross, on your left, and go up an escalator to the Bukit Nanas station. Public transport is excellent, cheap, clean and not once did we feel unsafe, which goes for our whole trip in Kuala Lumpur.

We arrived very late at night due to a delayed flight but check-in went without a hitch and we were up in the room within a few minutes. The room was of a generous size with a king size bed and an equally generous bathroom - by the way, when the shower drain was blocked and flooded the floor, it was serviced in the same instant that we reported it. With the exception of our experience upon checking out, we found staff to be very curteous, always greeting you with a smile. The hotel had free wifi that worked better than that of many other hotels in Western countries we've stayed at. The room had everything we felt we needed, including a safe, and the free complimentary English newspapers every morning was a great touch.

The hotel breakfast alone is worth coming back for. There is a great selection of food at the breakfast buffet - if you can't find anything to your taste, have a look at the menu and ask to have it cooked for you. As far as we're both concerned, the only problem with the breakfast is the risk of over-indulging on food ranging from fresh fruit, full English breakfast to more traditional Malay food; the selection of pastries is awesome.

The hotel has a spa and a pool that's well worth a trip. We meant to use it on our first morning only but ended up making it a daily routine as the hydro-therapy pool works wonders on a tired body, as does the sauna.

Once again, our rating of this hotel, despite a few incidents, should be seen for what it is. This is a great hotel at a terrific location and to rate it any lower would be unfair.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    385
    173
    61
    40
See reviews for
138
498
78
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed here for one night (8th Jan '13). Excellent hotel, excellent location, great service! Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. We were upgraded to the junior suite and the big room with big bath had our kids delighted. Walking distance to the Twin Towers and Suria KLCC mall. Good spread for breakfast. The free tea/coffee on the 13th level lounge from 9pm-11pm was wonderful.....great night view of the twin towers. Highly recommended :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Maya for six nights including New Year's Eve. We had a few minor problems which were remedied immediately when we contacted the front desk (no robes for pool, flickering florescent light, broken electrical adapter, etc.) No tower view rooms were available when we arrived, but two days later we were given a room on the 20th floor with a great view. We especially enjoyed the late evening complimentary snacks and coffee/tea in the Sky Lounge.
The breakfast was wonderful - great variety of delicious choices. The staff - restaurant, front desk, concierge, service, pool - was friendly and always helpful. The hotel's location is excellent - close to the twin towers, the KL tower, the Malaysian Tourism Center, monorail.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koh Samui
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great hotel , large room and bathroom. Excellent staff. Close to the Twin towers and shopping centre. Free shuttle to China town. A hotel with great standards, good choice for breakfast .
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the twin towers
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for NYE and had a wonderful time. The staff were always very accommodating and helpful we never felt anything was to much. Room was a good size and clean and we had a great view of the towers from our room (as per our booking). Internet speed was good and we could use multiple devices which was really good when planning a holiday.

Sky lounge/cocktail lounge has a great view of the towers and offers petite fours for free most nights so you can enjoy the view

Hotel has shuttle services to china town and the pewter museum (although we figured this out towards the end of our stay) the shuttle to china town is particularly helpful as the taxi prices from china town inflate at closing time and are 3* the price when it is raining

Location was really good, easy walk to the KLCC train station, mega mall (and super market) and walking distance to pubs and eateries

Overall we had nothing negative to say about the hotel. We didn't have any meals here as we found the Nz cafe nearby had hawker food more to our liking.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights over New Years and would gladly come back and stay again if ever in KL.

Great spot just along the road from the Towers and has a monorail stop close by making it easily accessible to the delights of KL.

The room, well, although appearing quite styley and smart at the outset they definitely require touching up and more attention to detail to bring them up to a five star standard. (paint peeling, dirty windows, sliding door not shutting properly, constant gurgling noise from the toilet and so on). Not sure about the bizarre bathroom window / wall idea or the capsule coffeemaker machine which was more hassle than it was worth given the tiny wee cupboard it was in - it needs to be out on a table to make it easier to use, or just give us a coffee plunger! These cosmetic issues aside we had a massive king bed which was super comfortable, the shower was fantastic, air conditioning was easy to modify to an optimum level and there were loads of toiletries supplied.

Also, noise does filter quite easily from the street so I would recommend earplugs if you are a light sleeper.

The room I would say borders on a four star but the everything else was on the money. The breakfast buffet is a treat, you certainly wont go hungry and the overall layout and feel of the lobby and restaurants are very smart (although the lobby toilets were a bit shabby)

The service of the staff was very friendly, attentive and helpful. After checking out (which was 12pm - brilliant touch this!) they gladly stored our bags and also allowed us to shower after getting back from our day before organising our transport to the airport. Incidentally this was in the spa / swimming pool section which is another lovely part of the hotel and we would certainly have loved to have made use of this more.

The sky bar is great (although pricey!) and well worth heading too for a night cap for a great view the Petronas tower and Sky Tower.

Would return here without question.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel Maya. As much as this was a five star hotel, from reception to housekeeping the experience was completely unpleasant! Staff were very unfriendly and unhelpful. We tried to obtain a second room afte finding that a single room was booked for our family of four. They refused to accommodate us. Once placed in the room we found that camp beds were rolled in for my kids with minimum beddings. The were no towels, bathroom accessories or tea/coffee extra placed for a family of four.
Housekeeping was non existent. Their idea of housekeeping was making up the beds. The hotel was not clean or well maintained by any standard. The spa and sky lounge were the only neat areas. bathrooms were untidy. Unpleasant to use.
Having had to cope with the untidiness of the hotel, one had to also put up with the extremely unfriendly staff!
Will definitely not stay there again!!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Maya Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya Kuala Lumpur

Address: 138 Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Maya Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maya Kuala Lumpur is a boutique urban resort hotel, located just an 8 minute walk away from Kuala Lumpur City Centre. This designer hotel has 206 well appointed rooms - 100 studios and 106 suites. Check-in can be as early as 7a.m with prior arrangement, and all rooms enjoy butler services. Highlights of the hotel include the Sky Lounge which offers a stunning view of the city skyline, and our hydrotherapy pool at Anggun Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Maya Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maya Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.