We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with a nice view of Petronas Tower” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Kuala Lumpur Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Kuala Lumpur Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Kuala Lumpur Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Jalan Sultan Ismail and Jalan Ampang Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
School Holiday Escape Pkg
Ranked #31 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
singapore
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Hotel with a nice view of Petronas Tower”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I stayed for 2 nights at the East Wing with PETRONAS Tower view. It is very beautiful at night to look at the tower from the room on 20th floor. It is better and more economical to take a taxi from airport (KLIA2) to hotel if you travel with 2 or more people, cost about RM60 (including toll) which takes about 50-60 mins. Location of hotel is near Nanas Station (LRT), which bring you conveniently to the city around Bukit Bintang area. We will walk back to hotel (about 20-30 mins) in the evening as the train at Bukit Bintang is terribly crowded. After all, it is 2 stations away only. Just follow the track, you can't miss it. Hotel is very near to Hard Rock Café, about 8 mins away.
We can also walk to Suria KLCC easily in about 10-15 mins. Hotel surrounding is quiet at night.
Room has wifi which is decent speed and quite many tv channels.

The only one thing I am not too happy is the check out where I asked for a extension to check out at 2 pm but the customer service agent was quite rude in replying. I think they can handle better in that. My check in was very pleasant.

One last thing to note is if you want to take a taxi to airport from hotel, make sure you ask for the normal taxi , not the blue colour type. We just asked for a metered taxi to airport and the hotel called for a blue taxi. The taxi is very new, nice and good service but paying RM136 to airport is more than doubled the price we paid from airport to hotel. It is just not worth it.

overall, a good stay I would say.

Room Tip: choose the East Wing and ask for tower view.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    838
    781
    343
    106
    69
See reviews for
388
754
132
404
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Warragul, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

After visiting KL numerous times over the past ten years and always staying at the Dorsett Regency, we decided to give the Renaissance Hotel a try and we are glad we did it was a delightful stay. Check in was swift on arrival at 6.00pm, we had pre booked a deluxe room in the west wing & on checking in we were offered an upgrade to a deluxe suite for an extra 50RM a night ( we stayed 5 nights ) which we accepted - the room was on the 23rd floor - 1 floor below the Club Suites, the room was large & comfortable and very quiet, King Size bed.
We had breakfast each day which was included in the tariff, the West Wing was much better than the East Wing - EW had more variety of foods but was like a noisy Café the ambience in the WW was much more to our liking. The pool was a good size and very clean and not overcrowded even in the afternoons early evenings needless to say we spent a fair amount of time at the pool.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I stayed here for a conference and found the hotel to be very good value. Service is excellent, the public areas are quite "grand", the conference facilities are good, the conference catering is very good (especially the desserts!), the restaurants are good and good value, the pool is huge, the gym is well stocked and the rooms are large.

If I was being picky (and I am), there is just a hint of tiredness around the place - it's not quite as fresh as it could be. And an odd thing but worth a mention for the fun of it - the music in the public areas is a bit of an unusual choice - lots of obscure 80's songs? - and played just a little bit too loud so that it becomes slightly obtrusive. Wouldn't stop me staying there again though - it's a good hotel...

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Stayed two days at Renaissance, and from the time we were picked up from the airport till we left we were treated royalty or movie stars. Nothing was a problem. All staff were very helpful. Food was good. Breakfast to the room was special coming on a trolley like the movies. Would stay here again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool area. Best view from these rooms but there isn't a lot to se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena, Emilia-Romagna, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Nice place excellent staff. I will recommend this hotel to all my friends.
Good breakfast at the 24th floor with Petronas towers view, didn't try the restaurants.
Well equipped gym.
Close to one station and 5 min walk from the KLCC.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We had a fairly long stay at the hotel in two parts and it was eventful to say the least. There were some problems with the first room allotted to us and so they moved us to a bigger and better room in another wing. Unfortunately the A/C in that room gave up on the first night and so we were pretty upset and considering cancelling our stay and moving elsewhere.

We mentioned our concerns to Mr. Jackson at reception and he made sure we didn't have a chance to leave unhappy. He immediately contacted the duty manager Ms. Florence who showed up at our door within minutes and promised to sort everything out.

Long story short, they moved us to a suite for the remainder of our trip and made sure we had no complaints throughout our stay.

What's most commendable is that all of this happened simply via a simple conversation with the staff, there was no defensiveness or argumentative behavior on their side. They wanted us to be happy with their hotel and they definitely succeeded. Both Jackson and Ms. Florence are great representatives of their service team and I hope the hotel recognizes this.

So why did I still rate it 4 stars? Well on the positive side is their impeccable service, great location (right next to the Twin Towers and opposite the Nanas MRT station), and fantastic breakfast buffet. And lets not forget the pool which is huge and great for kids.

But on the negative side, the hotel is an older property and has its quirks, and some rooms probably need to be renovated sooner rather than later.

All in all a memorable trip to a city I love and if I had to chose a hotel for my next trip, it would still be the Renaissance.

Room Tip: East Wing has great views of the Petronas towers. If travelling alone or as a couple ask for the Lif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Hi,
Just coming back from Kl expecting to be great get away stay in this Marriot chain hotels as usual. To my surprise from the front desk to the room service were very disappointing. The answers to the any quarry from the front was rude and rejected without listening and enquiring the reason for asking. The disappointment was more than once. Later on complaining morning issue was resolved. But later in the evening same approach repeated.The behavior towards others than a special person were not welcoming. Its sad to see and quote all this as it is the first time stay in Renaissance in kl but not a first stay in 5 star Marriot hotel. We can quote the names too but the decency and values we have does not permit us. Hope in future the customers would be dealt with more respect and welcoming approach.

Room Tip: avoid the view to the construction side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance_KL, General Manager at Renaissance Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for your review and feedback concerning your recent stay with us.

First of all, we are truly sorry for having failed to meet the level of service you have expected from our hotel whilst staying with us. Naturally, I read your comments with much concern of the overall unfriendly service you encountered and we certainly do not condone rude behavior towards any of our guests as it is simply unacceptable and is absolutely against the Renaissance's philosophy of "Spirit to Serve". I have shared your feedback with our Director of Human Resources and appropriate training and counseling will be conducted to improve our service delivery towards guests.

Your business is important to us and once again, we are truly sorry for not being able to meet your expectations on this occasion and sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you and make it right for your next stay.

Yours sincerely,
Robert Frager
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Kuala Lumpur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Kuala Lumpur Hotel

Address: Corner of Jalan Sultan Ismail and Jalan Ampang Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#22 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#23 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#26 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#27 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Kuala Lumpur Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 910
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Golden Triangle, a short stroll from Petronas Twin Towers, sits Renaissance Kuala Lumpur Hotel. With easy access via monorail and light rail transit stations, this hotel is a combination of spacious rooms, LifeStyle floors equipped with high speed internet, twenty-six function spaces and the little luxuries that make a guest feel at home. Award winning restaurants like Sagano with Japanese cuisine and Dynasty with exquisite Cantonese dishes enhance the stylish Vogue Café and TEMPTationS with their buffet spreads. Take a dip in the Olympic-size pool or relax with spa treatments at Mandara Spa or take a class at one of the largest hotel Fitness Centers after a busy day in the city.LIVE LIFE TO DISCOVER for every day is a new adventure at Renaissance Hotels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Kuala Lumpur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Kuala Lumpur Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.