We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bedbugs, Loud Bass, Worn Out Look.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pondok Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pondok Lodge to your Saves list
Pondok Lodge
20 Jalan Changkat Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bedbugs, Loud Bass, Worn Out Look.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

Having been travelling around for quite a bit, i can now safely say that the worst hostel i've been to is close to home (home being Singapore). Picked this because it's recommended in Lonely Planet but boy am i disappointed. The place is worn and tired out. Bass from the club next door that lasts till the wee hours of the morning, attendants were "busy" fulfuiling their own life (etc watching TV or catching a nap), main gate was never locked...and on top of that, bedbugs (got a few bites myself). Goodness knows how often they manage the place.

A horrid experience in all. The only thing about it that is worth staying is its location, right in the heart of KL and close to the main sights. But then again, there are other hostels in the same area which are probably more well managed than Pondok Lodge. Choose this place at your own peril, especially with the various options around.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    7
    8
    15
See reviews for
1
12
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

A friend and I stayed here in June based on Lonely Planet's recommendation, which was completely wrong! While the location was great, with lots of bars and restaurants on the same street and very close to the KL monorail/metro system, almost everything else was awful.

The rooms were very worn out and in need of a facelift, and the walls were very thin (you could hear conversations in the room next door easily). There was a club across the street that was very noisy, and made sleeping without earplugs difficult.

Security was also so-so- there was gate at the front of the hotel that was supposed to be kept locked at all times (guests were given a key), but which we often found unlocked during the 3 days we stayed there. There were video cameras monitoring the premises; however the front desk attendant who was supposed to be watching the videos was often not at the desk. The rooms themselves did not have any sort of interior deadbolt to stop someone with a key from coming in while one was sleeping.

Finally, as soon as we took our belongings out of our room we saw the front desk attendant go up to our room with an industrial sprayer of the type used to kill bed bugs; when we confronted the attendant about whether there were bed bugs in the rooms, his response was that there had been "no complaints for days", but that they had had them in the past.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

This hostel was a nightmare, after 10 years of backpacking I can honestly say this is THE worst hostel I've ever stayed in.

On the surface it looks wonderful. It's in a great neighbourhood, and your fellow travellers are friendly. This is where the good ends.

The rooms are terrible, the beds are horrible with no sheets or blankets, the building does not stop shaking until 0400 because of the club in the building. The staff are rude, and rather unhelpful. The airconditioner may or may not work, which would have been fine if the room had a window or a fan, and the walls are paper thin.

Plus it's expensive for a KL hostel!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway, Gjøvik
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

Lonley Planet.....god how wrong! The place was terrible, the management was kind of scary. filthy rooms, shower and WC, Smelly too.
Don't stay here if you want a good night sleep. Thats my opinion!


PS: I love Malaysia, and i'll visit a again soon i hope :)
John from Norway

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

We chose this one as it was recommended by the Lonely Planet, however we're now not too trusting of the LP these days! We arrived on NYE, and ok, arrived at about 9pm which in retrospect wasn't too bright, as we were probably the last to check in so we got the room at the front above the bar downstairs and the nightclub in the next building!

So it was REALLY loud until about 4am.

The aircon was shared with the room next door via an enormous hole, and the latch for the door's padlock was holding on by only one screw.

No sheets or towels provided.

The aircon stopped working around 3am and the remote was missing, although when I realised and went out to the front desk, they did find another remote and got it up and running again.

Breakfast was good - strong coffee, banana bread and a few slices of toast.

The bathrooms were clean - the usual shower in the toilet job.

There was only a minimal amount of information about things to do in KL, which was disappointing.

Unfortunately we had prepaid for two nights, but luckily were able to move to a back bedroom (number 18) which had an icy cold aircon and was reasonably quiet.

Their water and beer prices are quite reasonable and about the same as what you'd pay in the 7-11.

The rooftop garden is quite nice and it is probably only for this reason that it made the LP "our pick". Well placed for the NYE fireworks.

So overall, the second night made up for the first, but would really recommend only if you stayed in the back.

  • Liked — Close to transport and other things of interest
  • Disliked — The noisy room
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2008

Terrible place. It is right above a club which has VERY VERY loud music until the early hours of the morning. You literally feel as if you are in the middle of the speakers with the low quality walls vibrating as if they are going to cave in. DO NOT stay here if you book a room to sleep in. It is also not good value and we had many bed bug bites. How on earth lonely planet call it their pick I have no idea, they obviously have not stayed here.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2008

This may be the worst hostel I have ever visited. First of all, their prices are higher than average. As such, you might expect to get a few extras, but this is absolutely not the case. The complaints that other reviewers mention were all things that my boyfriend and I encountered as well...

The management was rude and curt. There were definitely bedbugs in our room. Not only are the walls so thin that the standard noise generated by other guests is deafening, but the bar downstairs is ridiculously noisy late into the night. The doors on the rooms do not lock properly, nor do they have a latch for attaching your own padlock.

No sheets or towels are provided to guests but rather must be rented separately for an additional fee. Internet access also requires an additional fee. There are two desktop computers available right in front of the check-out desk, so there is no privacy. The bathrooms are dirty and shared by too many people. The breakfast wasn't terrible, but hardly good enough to make up for all of the other problems.

There are many other options in Kuala Lumpur - definitely no reason to stay here!

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pondok Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Lodge

Address: 20 Jalan Changkat Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 159 Specialty Lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Pondok Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondok Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pondok Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.