We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nova

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nova to your Saves list
Hotel Nova
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16-22 Jalan Alor, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #189 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed in room 302 and had a comfortable room with a comfortable clean bed .The shower had strong hot water ,we had complimentary water and the cleaners kept our room clean . I think this is a good hotel for the money we paid . The breakfast is okay not great but we did have some choices . The travel desk staff and the reception staff were helpful and for the price ,we would stay here again .the room we had was large and our airconditioning worked quickly .

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel as this was where our room was and it was not noisy at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    43
    52
    29
    42
See reviews for
42
52
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I can not sleep well cause of many bugs on the bed and very noisy of crowded people when it late of night..the service room is very very annoying...i tell you the thruth..do not stayed there...i promise not to go there anymore..

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

It was late. The Nova beckoned above the pounding KL streets like a fabled oasis. So when we finally arrived, we didn't care about being given the wrong room.
We dismissed the busted loo. We casually bagged the odd decor. We quietly laughed off the leaking aircon. We rationalized the odd stirrings of sweaty janitors milling around the doorway.
Then, we cringed at the soiled bed sheets. We reeled back from the 11th floor window that opened just that inch too far. We sat in silence as the faint, unmistakable squeakings of muffled sex acts leaked through our walls and into our take-away food containers.
We packed quickly. We left. We didn't say goodbye. We wouldn't recommend you go there.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

If there was a hell on Earth, the Hotel Nova would be it.

I used to travel a lot for work, and I've stayed in a lot of bad hotels - dirty, smelly, rude places. One I even found human excrement in the bed. But none of them came close to being as disgusting as the Hotel Nova.

We arrived late at night, exhausted. We checked in to discover we, as a couple, had been given single beds. The staff quickly rectified this, so that's a positive. Our new queen room, however, was filthy. The sheets were very gross, covered in dirty marks and what looked like cigarette burns. The pillows were yellowed with age and bodily fluids. The room smelled of cigarette smoke. The air conditioner worked, but poured water out onto the bench for your suitcase, leaving a puddle both there and on the floor. The toilet didn't flush, and had a rather unwelcome nugget floating in it. The bathroom was moldy. You get the picture. My partner went to get food and while he was gone someone tried to break into the room not once, but twice. I had to lock myself in the bathroom.

Once he got back we decided to make a break for it and find a decent place to stay. As we left the room we interrupted a gentleman pleasuring himself in the hallway. There was no one at reception so we left without so much as a backward glance and were welcomed by a delightful hotel around the corner.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Hotel Nova is nearby the main attractions of KL and allows easy access - we have used both Family Rooms and Double Rooms, finding both to be of good value. The breakfast is very basic with hardly any choice but overall the hotel has excellent food options nearby, allows finding cabs very easily and has rooms at affordable prices. Rooms are clean although service is just so-so

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Its not a four star hotel but it was excellent as we used this hotel to spend one night in KL and see a few of the sites. Local people very friendly and excellent food stalls on street at night. This is oldish hotel, good sized room with all amenities that we needed. Good central location. ITs not fancy but its cheap and reasonable. Some off the men downstairs in street at night and early morning maybe just a little bit to friendly, but OK if you remember your bounderies of a quick friendly conversation with a stranger, then move on.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We had a night here for a stopover. Our sim was to eat some local food, so this hotel was well located. As it was a Saturday. Night it was noisy even from the 12th floor. It was good to feel the vibe of the street, but not when we were trying to sleep.
Hot water tripped the power so no hot shower prior to leaving for the airport.
Facilities were adequate, nothing more nothing less.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nova

Address: 16-22 Jalan Alor, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Nova 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Nova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nova Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nova, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.