We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur to your Saves list
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Walter Grenier, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia (Formerly Coronade Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 278 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Minehead, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Arrived after a very long flight. At reception, we were asked if we wanted twin or double/king bed. Prior to arrival I'd emailed to ask for a high room with views and was assured that it would be no problem. The receptionist tried to give us either a low floor with twin beds (?) or a king bedroom with no view. We stayed at reception declining these rooms and eventually was given a room on the 12th floor with a view of both the Petronas Towers and the Menara tower which looked amazing at night although the room was noisy due to the traffic. Quite large room, but in need of refurbishment although it was clean, large bathroom and great views...thanks guys!

It's in a great location for the shopping Malls if that's what you're into. The breakfast is buffet type with plenty of variety both for continental tastes and Asian.

On the first day(after our first sleep) we'd been out till around 5pm, the cleaner (I'd usually say maid but it was a young man who didn't speak any English, only Bengali), arrived to clean the room. We told him we were ok as we didn't need anyone in but he insisted. So we thought whatever and left him to it but he hung around, brought us more slippers, soap & shower caps which we neither wanted or used, looking for a tip. Eventually, he took the hint but left our door open on the off chance. Don't mind tipping but you have to do something to get tipped for don't you?

Room Tip: As for a high room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalKL, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
19 February 2014

Dear Elsa P
YOUR STAY AT HOTEL ROYAL KUALA LUMPUR
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur during your recent trip to the city!
As much as we value your patronage, we appreciate your observation and concern, be it on our facilities, location or service level. We have taken note of your views and we will seriously look into the matter and moving forward, take corrective steps to put things in order and better perspective.
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur is currently undergoing renovation affecting all rooms and facilities. The works are carried out in a few stages and scheduled to be completed in 2014. We have to date renovated our Executive deluxe rooms located on 19th and 20th floor and upgraded upgrading our function rooms on level 1. In the meantime we are working on other areas including our swimming pool, coffeehouse, the main lobby with the lobby lounge following suit. We therefore apologize for any inconvenience you have had to endure.
We sincerely apologize for the disappointments you faced during your stay. We have spoken to the respective departments to look seriously into those matters and to ensure that they are not occurring again.
In the meantime we assure you that your comments will be an encouraging factor that will drive us further to continue working towards a higher and impeccable standard.
Should you have any future plans to travel back to Kuala Lumpur. We will be delighted to be of better service to you then.
Yours sincerely

THE MANAGEMENT
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    174
    130
    63
    35
See reviews for
65
69
35
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

This is the second time we stayed in this hotel. They do not have the record of our room booking but luckily there's still room available for us. Disappointed that we were given an old room instead of the newly renovated room. And the room was much more smaller than the room we stayed first time.

We requested for late check out as our flight were 9pm and the receptionist let us check out at 2pm. I informed that I saw in some website that late check out can be up to 3pm, can we check out at 3pm, they refused and said that 2pm is the standard time. During our check out day, the receptionist called us at almost 1pm and asked when will we check out.... I told them we have already requested for late check out at 2pm, no apologize but just ok and hung up the phone. I don't know what's their system for. Housekeeping staffs are helpful.

Hotel near to food court, shopping centers, public transport and a 24hr self service laundry shop, very convenience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalKL, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
14 February 2014

Dear ATTLWSE

YOUR STAY AT HOTEL ROYAL KUALA LUMPUR
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur during your recent trip to the city!
As much as we value your patronage, we appreciate your observation and concern, be it on our facilities or service level. We have taken note of your views and we will seriously look into the matter and moving forward, take corrective steps to put things in order and better perspective.
We sincerely apologize for the disappointments you faced during your stay. We have spoken to the respective departments to look seriously into those matters and to ensure that they are not occurring again.
In the meantime we assure you that your comments will be an encouraging factor that will drive us further to continue working towards a higher and impeccable standard.
Should you have any future plans to travel back to Kuala Lumpur, We will be delighted to be of better service to you then.
Yours sincerely

THE MANAGEMENT
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Stayed in this hotel many times over the years while travelling to Kuala Lumpur, especially if wishing to hang around Bukit Bintang area. Location wise, it is great. It’s just next to the monorail, Lot 10 shopping mall and across the street, Bukit Bintang mall. Pavillon is only a 5-7 minutes walk. Eating places are everywhere here, so I do not eat in the hotel.

Agreed with many comments here that the front counter staff could be better trained or courteous. The rooms have been upgraded with nice and clean design, although the lift and lift lobby remain the same.

For those who use the back lane walking back to the hotel from Pavillon, please beware of strangers. We were walking back to hotel around 9pm and notice someone following us. We quickly went into a 7 Eleven store to escape from him.

The main reason giving this hotel a 4 star is because of the location.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalKL, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
19 February 2014

Dear dino1963
YOUR STAY AT HOTEL ROYAL KUALA LUMPUR
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur during your recent trip to the city!
As much as we value your patronage, we appreciate your observation and concern, be it on our facilities, location or service level. We have taken note of your views and we will seriously look into the matter and moving forward, take corrective steps to put things in order and better perspective.
We sincerely apologize for the disappointments you faced during your stay. We have spoken to the respective departments to look seriously into those matters and to ensure that they are not occurring again.
In the meantime we assure you that your comments will be an encouraging factor that will drive us further to continue working towards a higher and impeccable standard.
Should you have any future plans to travel back to Kuala Lumpur. We will be delighted to be of better service to you then.
Yours sincerely

THE MANAGEMENT
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

The best part about this hotel it's location. It's in Bukit Bintang and various coffee joints, food courts and middle eastern restaurants are at walking distance. There are also 3-4 hookah bars just outside.
Since Bukit Bintang is the retail hub in Malaysia, various shopping malls are close by (Sungei Wang, Pavilion, Times Square)
You can even get to KLCC, Petronas Towers on foot via the elevated walkway.
Also, not far from Merdeka or KL Tower by Teksi.

The service is not that great here. We were asked to wait for an hour before we got our room. The hotel itself is old - the rooms although renovated are just okay-ish and many don't offer any view.
We did not like the breakfast spread either.

Except for the location, I wouldn't mind giving this place a miss.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalKL, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
11 February 2014

Dear Tripakshi
YOUR STAY AT HOTEL ROYAL KUALA LUMPUR
Thank you for choosing at Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur during your recent trip to the city!
As much as we value your patronage, we appreciate your observation and concern, be it on our facilities, location or service level. We have taken note of your views and we will seriously look into the matter and moving forward, take corrective steps to put things in order and better perspective.
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur is currently undergoing renovation affecting all rooms and facilities. The work will be carried out in a few phase and it is schedule to be completed by mid 2014. At the moment we have renovated all of our Executive deluxe room which are located on 19th and 20th floor. Simultaneously we are also upgrading our function rooms on level 1 and all other areas including our swimming pool, coffeehouse, the main lobby with the lobby lounge will also follow suit.
We sincerely apologize for the disappointments you faced during your stay. We have spoken to the respective departments to look seriously into those matters and to ensure that they will not occur again.
Should you have any future plans to travel back to Kuala Lumpur, we will be delighted to be of service to you once again.
Yours sincerely

THE MANAGEMENT
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbottabad, Pakistan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Everything was nice and upto the mark. The connecting rooms were a big plus. The reception staff was very nice. Housekeeping was also very good.
The beverages in the breakfast were not good at all. Tea coffee were cold and strong. The juices were all jumbled up. The mango juice was mixed with orange on refill and tasted very bad. Second day the juices were all very diluted.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalKL, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
11 February 2014




Dear TahiraSajid

YOUR STAY AT HOTEL ROYAL KUALA LUMPUR

Thank you for your recent patronage of Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur!

We write to let you know that we greatly appreciate your positive comments on the hotel’s location/facilities/service level. In addition to our gratitude, your comments will be an encouraging factor that will drive us further to continue working towards a higher and impeccable standard.

We sincerely apologize for the disappointments you faced during your stay. We have spoken to the respective departments to look seriously into those matters and to ensure that they are not occurring again.
Should you have any future plans to travel back to Kuala Lumpur, we will be delighted to be of service to you once again.

Yours sincerely



THE MANAGEMENT
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I stayed here for one night and the location of the hotel is very good. You can walk to all major shopping malls. I stayed in a standard room which was ok. Nothing special about it but quite spacious, clean but without any view.
I did not served the breakfast so I can not say about the service of food in the hotel. For a good rate, can be a good alternative in the center if you are staying 1-2 nights in KL.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalKL, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
7 February 2014



Dear dragos_ro

YOUR STAY AT HOTEL ROYAL KUALA LUMPUR

Thank you for your recent patronage of Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur!

We write to let you know that we greatly appreciate your positive comments on the hotel’s location/facilities/service level. In addition to our gratitude, your comments will be an encouraging factor that will drive us further to continue working towards a higher and impeccable standard.

Should you have any future plans to travel back to Kuala Lumpur, we will be delighted to be of service to you once again.

Yours sincerely



THE MANAGEMENT
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Malaysia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I'm so disappointed for the hotel facilities. Water heater fails to heat and then receptionist said must open the shower more than 5 minutes only get heating. In fact, it's really don't work! Me and my friend was suffered during shower time. Then, the electrical plugs also given problem so I can't even charges my phone.

I will definitely not return to this hotel again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalKL, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
7 February 2014

Dear EatPlayTrave

YOUR STAY AT HOTEL ROYAL KUALA LUMPUR
Thank you for choosing To stay at Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur during your recent trip to the city!
As much as we value your patronage, we appreciate your observation and concern, both on our facilities as well as service level. We have taken note of your views and we seriously look into the matter and moving forward, take corrective steps to put things in order and better perspective.
We sincerely apologize for the disappointments you faced during your stay. We have spoken to the respective departments to look seriously into those matters and to ensure that they will not occur again.
In the meantime we assure you that your comments will be an encouraging factor that will drive us further to continue working towards a higher and impeccable standard.
Should you have any future plans to travel back to Kuala Lumpur, we will be delighted to be of better service to you then.
Yours sincerely

THE MANAGEMENT
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur

Address: Jalan Walter Grenier, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia (Formerly Coronade Hotel)
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 278 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business-oriented 20-story Hotel located at the heart of the business center, 100 meters from Bukit Bintang Monorail Station & 50 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronade Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.