We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for Bukit bintang with its shopping and nightlife” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capitol Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Capitol Hotel to your Saves list
Capitol Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Bulan | Off Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Surrey
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great location for Bukit bintang with its shopping and nightlife”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights on our arrival in Malayasia our room was 1803 ,as the first room we were offered was on a Smoking floor ( N/S requested). This side of the hotel gives you great views over the KL skyline with the KL Tower, & the Twin Towers,& Jalan Alor with its outdoor food market.

After a night away in Melacca we returned to Capitol hotel for 3 more nights, and were given 1111 which has less impressive views.

The rooms were identical Deluxe rooms , but bigger than any I've used in Hong Kong, decent sized tv ,with a quite a choice of channels, the bathroom came with a wet room style shower.

Room Tip: 1803 was great for views , & I would guess any room ending **01 to **05 above 6th floor would ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    341
    160
    42
    20
See reviews for
127
224
71
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
macksvillle
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Rooms are large and clean and although there were a lot of people coming and going the hotel did not seem crowded and there was no problem getting a lift. Staff are very helpful and will help you organise private tours if you want to visit attractions that are not easily accessible. Walking distance to the Big market and China town and little India. Fr homesick Aussies there is an Aussie steakhouse just down the road and for homesick Irish an Irish pub as well. Great smorgasbord breakfast but it is a bit pricy.

Room Tip: There are metro works happening just up the road so try and get a room on the other side of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

We had a good experience with Capitol Hotel. The front office staff Mr.Anuar is a friendly guy & helped us to check in to one of the rooms at 8:30 in the morning even though check-in time was 3:00pm.. The other room was ready by 1:00 pm.. Also, after checkout at 12:00 noon, they allowed us to keep our baggage in the front office till 3:00pm for us to go out shopping. They also gave us connecting rooms without prior request, which was convenient for us. Good rooms & housekeeping & the location. Only problem was the continous sound of the lifts.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Overall it was a good experience staying here. Staff were friendly and helpful, hotel location is basically in the heart of Bukit Bintang. Unfortunately my only negative was coming back to our room smelling like smoke as the next door hotel room had guest who smoked and the adjoining door let some of the smoke in. Bathroom was large and the hotel was clean. Would stay there again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed at the Capitol Hotel in Kuala Lumpur for three nights as a stop over on a trip to Bali. We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel, there was nothing to complain about at all. We were on the 15th floor and had a lovely view of the Petronas Towers both day and night. The room was large and the bathroom great. It had all the facilities we needed ,seperate bath and shower cubical, hair drier even an ironing board. We were also supplied with bottled water and tea and coffee making facilities. The Capitol is centrally situated in K.L.and is only a few minutes walk from the shops with all their sales and lots of restaurants. We walked around quite a bit and used the monorail to visit the street market in china town, lots of bargains but you must haggle over the prices. We also visited nearby the magnificent Hindu and Chinese Temples. It is worth taking a day trip to see the sights. "Hotbeds" took us around visiting The Old Railway Station, Independance square, National Mosque and a Chocolate Factory. This trip was booked at the hotel reception.
Happy Travelling.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My wife & I stayed at the Hotel recently and I must say that the hotel has good and friendly staff especially the level of service rendered by the AFOM. We were being upgraded to a Deluxe room as we wanted a king size bed instead of twins. Room was spacious, carpet was moldy and had some bad stains. We we were 'visited' by a cockroach in the middle of the night! Room was located near to the central guest lifts as such when it gets quiet at night, you can hear the lift 'motor' which was quite a disturbance. Hotel location was good as it was located at the middle to malls and eateries.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou, China
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights.
We were given a deluxe room with the window facing the Petronas.
Room was comfortable and very well kept. Good variety of TV channels.
Staff friendly and smiling.
We paid an extra for breakfast, but it was not really worth. Breakfast level is not matching the room level.
Location is certainly convenient, and not far from Imbi monorail station.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capitol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Hotel

Address: Jalan Bulan | Off Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 274 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Capitol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Capitol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Kuala Lumpur
Capitol Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capitol Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.