We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Federal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Federal Hotel to your Saves list
Federal Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 278 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Not a bad hotel to stay in
Average
Wouldn't say must go
But if u do end up here it isn't too bad either
Bed is OK, TV is quite small, Aircon is a bit musky

Location is so so
Service is so so

If u have the money, upgrade and stay somewhere better

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    175
    144
    61
    48
See reviews for
117
141
35
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Have stayed elsewhere in KL and often thought the location was good, which it is. Unfortunately that is all that the Federal has going for it. The hotel run down and even though the room was in the Merdeka Wing they sadly forgot to install noise proof glass so we had to put up with a band from restaurant next door playing extremely loud until the wee hours.Our room was on the 6th floor but they band may have well been in the next room it was that loud!! We had just flown from Sydney so were absolutely exhausted. Complained to the female manager on duty the next morning who really couldn't care less. We asked her if she would make things better for our return stay in 2 weeks and she just looked at us. All she did was say sorry once. Pathetic! We cancelled the return booking and stayed at the Parkroyal instead. A much better option with a lovely pool, good staff & amenities and much better breakfast. Avoid this dodgy hotel.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was disappointing as KL is trying to be seen as a very metropolitan city and this hotel has not kept up. The entrance speaks of days gone by and you could really see how magnificent this hotel once was. Also how glamourous it must have been to stay here. The rooms need updating. The sheets are all off colour. The pool towels are like drying yourself with sand paper. We had no hot water for the first day and our toilet didn't flush properly. On the positive side the staff were all excellent and extremely helpful.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed here earlier this year. Overall, the service, food and room was great. The only thing that I disliked was probably the receptionist took too long to process the check-in and check-out procedures.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

i am staying in this hotel for the last 15 years & this is one of the best hotel of kuala lumpur. everything is awesome here, food, ambiance, location, security etc pool area quite big. parking facility.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed at the Federal Hotel 2 years ago and liked so much especially the location, the staff and corner rooms with balcony ,that when I was coming to KL last week with 3 other couples I said we have to stay there again.
What a bad start, the check in staff let the hotel down badly with over 20 mins waiting to be checked in, then when it was my turn the man at reception just walk away stood there for another 5 mins and did not come back, my friends and I had just waited an hour in customs at the airport so we did not need this ,so when I got annoyed about the delay I was told to wait and this upset me as I had recommended this hotel to my friends and I was not happy.
We finally had our room key after a 35 mins wait ,I still like the balcony rooms and the staff in the restaurant were great but during the school holidays the reception staff seem to struggle in looking after all of the visitors who are trying to check in.
The key to getting people to return to a hotel is looking after them at the "front door" first impressions are the most important part from our point of view.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I stayed here for two nights in transit on my way to Sri Lanka. I chose the Federal Hotel for the location (Bukit Bintang) and for the pool area, so this hotel suited me perfectly as the location was perfect and the pool area was lovely with many sunbeds to relax in.

I was aware of the issues with noise, so I rang the hotel a few days before and asked for a room higher up, which they were happy to provide.

The hotel is centrally located. The rooms are quite large and clean. The pool area is lovely, although the pool does close strictly at 7pm.

If you can get a bargain then this hotel is definately worth it. I would happily stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Federal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federal Hotel

Address: 35 Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 278 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Federal Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right smack on Bukit Bintang, surrounded by shopping malls and restaurants (Chinese, Western, Japanese, Korean, Indian and Middle Eastern). The famous Alor Street (Jalan Alor Hawker Street - local foods) is opposite the hotel; and two monorail station are mere 5 minutes walk. The largest IT lifestyle in malaysia, LOW YAT PLAZA is besie hotel's rear entrance. For those who enjoy nightlife; there are pubs, clubs beside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Federal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Federal Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Federal Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Federal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.