We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out for interconnecting room doors” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Federal Hotel

Save Saved
You added Federal Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Federal Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 261 hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Watch out for interconnecting room doors”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed in July for 2 nights and had a comfortable room on the 6th floor overlooking the pool. The first night was great but the second night a noisy family moved into the room next door. They were up to 3am in the morning and so were we because there was an interconnecting door and no soundproofing!

Room Tip: Watch out for interconnecting room doors there is no soundproofing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    152
    119
    52
    44
See reviews for
96
125
27
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Due to our couple bed preference we got the darkest room. It caused us waking up late everyday. Breakfast was good.

It was in perfect location, you can walk around and enjoy bukit bintang night life.

We might try other hotel next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My family and I checked into Federal Hotel needing two rooms. We entered the first room to see bags and personal belongings still in the room - apparently the front desk had the room recorded as checked-out but it was not so. I was a little alarmed but went to wait in the other room instead while my dad went down to arrange for a new room.

This other room was very spacious as it was a corner room, but the condition left plenty to be desired. The curtain was torn and there was a sticky-looking stain on the wardrobe door. When I went to use the bathroom, I noticed many bodies of dead insects in the light above the bathroom sink. The toilet flush was also very weak and I had to flush it 12 times to get it clean.

The management at first said that the hotel was full but thankfully, we were moved to two other rooms after insisting. These two rooms were thankfully in much better condition, except that in my room, a light was dangling out of its socket above the bed, and there was a needle left in the carpet (possibly after darning). Also, the television set had terrible reception and once turned itself off while we were watching it.

Parking:
Do note that you have to park in the neighbouring Low Yat Plaza, which can be a headache during peak shopping hours.

Service:
Despite the unpleasantness with the rooms, I have to commend the front desk staff and handymen who came to repair the toilet and television for their unwavering politeness and attempts to rectify the problem.

Location:
Very close to the Bukit Bintang shopping area and Jalan Alor for street food. About 5 - 10min walk to the subway station.

Breakfast:
Decent spread of food. The kaya is fantastic! However, someone dropped some tomatoes at the buffet area and the staff took about 15 minutes to clean up the slippery mess.

Conclusion: Despite the location and staff, I would probably not return for fear of getting the bad rooms again.

Room Tip: Make sure you check the cleanliness of the room you are allocated to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I stayed in the Federal Hotel for 5 nights, and the hotel was wonderful! The rooms were constantly air-conditioned and kept at a stable temperature, so it was easy to relax after coming in from the hot Malaysian weather. The rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable. The location is great and it is a short walk to the local shopping plazas and the monorail stop. The staff were friendly and spoke decent English, and the breakfast was varied and tasted very nice. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel was recommended to me by a trusted friend. The service from replies to my email enquiries by the hotel manager, Gary, to my advising that I will be arriving very early in the morning, to the swift check in on arrival, to the large, clean room, to the concierge staff Manu and Terrence, to the reception staff, to the housekeeping, to the restaurant staff - I give you my sincere thanks and I will definitely return and I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to others. It is very central to shopping plazas (Sungwei, Times Square, H & M Lot 10, Pavillion), to many streets of hawker stalls( Jalan Alor) for delicious food, to the monorail.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have mixed feelings about the Federal Hotel. It is an excellent position, right in the middle of Bukit Bintang, close to shops, restaurants and bars. However we did have a problem with reception calling us at 1am to ask for credit card details. When we addressed this issue with the Manager the next morning we did receive an apology and and offer of free breakfast. We prefer to eat locally so did not take up the offer but at least they responded.

The air conditioning was too cold and we were not able to control it particularly well. Would probably stay here again but only if the price is right.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the floors where the renovations are taking place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Great location,friendly helpful staff but rooms need new carpet,paint and furnishings. Lucky that there is so much shopping in air conditioned Plaza's nearby because of you had to rely on cooling off by the pool you would be disappointed,very old and dreary and forget any thoughts of having cocktails by the pool. This is not the place to stay if you want to lay by the pool and relax,however with 10 shopping centers and 100's baba and restaurants within walking distance the location doesn't get much better. Would recommend for a footy trip(pretty sure the day Spa offers more than your average massage) but not so much for a girls week away. Don't think I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Federal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federal Hotel

Address: 35 Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 261 hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Federal Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Federal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Federal Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Federal Kuala Lumpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Federal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.